GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review

The Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse is one of the best mice we have encountered, the price might be high but it's more than worth it.

@chad_sebring
Published Fri, Mar 22 2019 10:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 99%Manufacturer: Logitech

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

Logitech is a company that needs no introductions, as they have to be one of, possibly even the biggest player in the peripherals game. It does not matter if we are speaking of the gaming segment, or for those that just need a mouse and keyboard to get by on, Logitech is a company that spans all levels of products, features, and costs.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 99 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 31 IMAGES

What also helps a company dominate the game as well as Logitech has, is that no matter where you do your shopping, their products are widely available. It does not matter if you shop online, or even in the most budget friendly box stores, you are bound to find a full display of Logitech products. With such ease of access and reasonable pricing, it is likely you may well have started off like we did with more generic offerings, but have since evolved into their G Series of peripherals to get the most of your gaming experience.

Even though we had released our review of the Powerplay wireless charging mouse pad some time ago, we wanted to give this mouse a longer trial run due to a lot of comments we see on the internet about issues such as double-clicking buttons. While we will not deny the issue exists, as we did personally run across this on one of our Logitech mice well after the warranty was up, we figured we would abuse the snot out of their flagship device and see if we could induce any issues. We apologize for the delay of this review to our readers as well as to Logitech, but we felt it was worth the time and energy to do extensive testing on this mouse, as there is so much going on, many features to tinker with, and aspects we do not typically see in other wireless mice, it was best all-around if we took our time.

With slightly more than three months of using the Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse, we feel it is time to bring forth what we have found. In this review, you are about to see some of the best specifications for a wireless mouse, not only in components used, but in its duration of use free from the cable, but in what can be done with this ambidextrous top-tier offering. What follows is our opinion on what we feel may very well be the best overall gaming mouse that Logitech has ever produced. There have been some good ones in the past, don't get us wrong, but never have we seen a mouse, wired or wireless, with so much thought and ingenuity coming together to give the customer a user-friendly experience while being as hassle-free as possible.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 01 | TweakTown.com

In the chart above that we took from the G903 product page you can tell there is a lot to go over. In the physical specifications category, we see things like the 130.3mm height, which is typically referred to as the length, the 66.5mm width, and the 40.4mm depth, which is commonly called the height. The weight of the mouse is 110 grams, but that does not include things such as weights, charging puck, cable, or any goodies that can be put on the device. The optional weight can be installed into the bottom of the G903 and is a metal puck which can add 10 grams. This section is also where the cable is mentioned by its 1.8-meter length, but it is also covered in braided cloth, and with the mouse being wireless, it is of course, detachable too.

The next section is tracking, and refers to what the sensor can do. In this instance, Logitech is using the PixArt PMW3366 optical sensor. The resolution, or DPI range is shown to start at 200 DPI, and can reach as high as 12,000 DPI, and can be adjusted in 50 DPI increments. There is zero smoothing, acceleration, or filtering involved to deliver the most realistic response to movement. While not the highest we have seen, the 40 G's of acceleration and 400 IPS capabilities are still well beyond what many will invoke on the sensor under normal use.

We then move into responsiveness, where the 16-bit data format, 1000Hz report, and polling rates, Lightspeed wireless technology, and the 32-bit ARM MCU are mentioned.

The durability of the G903 comes down to two things in this chart. There is the fact that the main switches will last for at least fifty-million clicks, and that the feet will travel 250 kilometers before wear becomes an issue.

Battery life can vary, depending on how the mouse is used. With the default lighting profile active, Logitech shows you will get 24 hours of use. Without any of the lights active, you can extend that time another eight hours to a total of 32 hours, but on the flip side, you can also reduce the operational time by changing things in the software as well.

Other features of the Logitech G903 that get listed are the Powerplay compatibility, the five onboard profiles, that there are two Lightsync RGB LED zones to play with, and a mechanical button tensioning system.

The last three sections cover the requirements of OS types for functionality, a free USB port, and an internet connection to obtain software. It is also where we see the 910-005083 part number, as well as the mention of the two-year warranty.

If you happen to visit the product page for the G903, like us, you may have been a bit shocked at what the MSRP is set at. It is rare that we find many users would want to spend more than $100 on a device, but when initially launched, the price was set at $149.99. Since that time, prices have come down considerably, but that MSRP does put the bar quite high for Logitech, as absolutely nothing can be an issue or concern at that price. However, today, as we look around, we found the G903 at Amazon for $107.80 and Newegg for $108.99.

This is good for anyone looking to buy now, but keep in mind, in the grand scheme of things, that is still quite a bit of money to spend on any mouse. At the same time, we can say that the Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse is a fresh look at how to build the perfect mouse, and lots of time and energy went into development, all in order to give all users what could be the perfect solution, no matter the game genre, or hand position when using it.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

Logitech G903 LIGHTSPEED Gaming Mouse

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$106.18$112.49$112.98
* Prices last scanned on 10/19/2020 at 8:54 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging, Accessories, and Documentation

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The outer packaging is a cardboard sleeve which wraps around a much thicker packaging under it, but is used to give the customer a fair bit of information. With the bright blue G903 on the left and the larger than life image of the mouse to the right, it is not hard to tell what is inside the box. Near the top, we also see that this is a Lightspeed wireless mouse, and that it is Powerplay compatible.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 03 | TweakTown.com

Aside from the vertical image of the G903 and its full name underneath of it, there are three features found at the right. The first notation is about the Lightspeed 2.4GHz wireless technology used which is said to be better than some wired devices. Logitech moves on to the PWM3366 sensor inclusion and what it is capable of before mentioning the ambidextrous design, button availability, scrolling, and RGB lighting.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The bottom of the cover also offers some decent information to those who can see this product on a shelf. It tells us what comes in the box, what you need for connectivity and usage, as well as some of the specifications. While the sticker under the mouse offers the serial number, this is also a location to find it, should you have an issue with the mouse and need it for RMA purposes.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Under the thin cardboard is a highly textured hinged box that the G903 comes in. To keep with the theme that is everything Logitech, we find not only the name on the top is in bright blue, but there is also a band that wraps the sides, and overall is a great initial impression to the user.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 06 | TweakTown.com

There is an angled insert in the lid which holds the mouse in place, so that when you open the box, the mouse is presented as you see it here. Free of any damage, and we have to say that it looks terrific just sitting there, and excites us more to plug it in and see what the Logitech G903 Lightspeed wireless gaming mouse is all about.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Under the mouse, you will find this plastic container, which we have opened to see what ships inside of it. There is the ten-gram weight one can add into the bottom of the G903 captured in the top half. The lower part of the container houses the extra switches, and optional left side button cover, and the dongle, which is currently plugged into the range extender that connects to the mouse cable.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 08 | TweakTown.com

We have seen this cable previous to this with another Logitech mouse, where the end that connects to the mouse is supportive of the connection, and is also what you use to connect the range extender. The cable is six feet long, it comes with braided cloth on the exterior of it, there is a ferrite choke and Velcro strap, and the connection for the PC us a standard USB 2.0 connector without any fancy gold plating on it.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The last couple of things found inside of the box are the setup guide, which shows basic connectivity and use of the G903, and the second bit of paperwork which covers safety, compliance, and warranty information.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The left side of the G903 has a well-defined gap at the front, between the main button above, and the lower section of frame below it. In the middle are a pair of buttons labeled G4 and G5, which are typical for a right-handed mouse. Where the thumb grips the mouse there are slits in the smooth plastic, and we see plenty of angles along the bottom, delivering an original aesthetic that will be hard to confuse.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The slits continue around the heel of the G903, but are spaced wider here than on the side. Where the mouse begins to flatten off across this evenly sloped top profile, there is one of the Lightsync zones under the Logitech G logo.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Since the G903 is ambidextrous, it only makes sense that the right side looks and feel like the left, down to every detail. As you can see, the mouse is shipped for use by righties, but the panel in the middle can be removed, and the buttons we found in the plastic case can be used here.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 13 | TweakTown.com

The majority of the body is smooth, but matte in finish, which plays well against the shiny plastic that keeps the main pair of buttons separated. Under the buttons is a large void for a more aggressive appearance too. On the leading edge, we see the connecting point for the cable, and the surrounding area is molded to accept the oversized support for the provided cable.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The view from above shows off tons more when it comes to styling. Angles galore, contrasts in surfaces, support wings at the back of the buttons, and an assortment of goodies in the middle all dress up the G903. The center section supports the scroll wheel, the free-wheel button, a pair of DPI selector buttons, and a trio of LEDs which display the battery level when used wirelessly.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Under the G903 we see a lot to discuss. There are six PTFE feet that support this mouse, one at the front, two on either side, two on either side of the eye, and another under the heel. Back near the front of the mouse, there is a power switch with the pairing button below it. Near the heel of the mouse is a circular cover, which can be removed by pressing on the shiny indented circle below the Logitech G logo.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 16 | TweakTown.com

With the cover removed, we see that the space is open to accept the ten-gram metal weight we saw in the accessories. The reason for the pair of metal contact points is that if you decide to buy the Powerplay mouse pad as well, the charging puck goes in here, negating the use of the weight, but allowing you to never need to connect the cable for charging, ever.

Inside Logitech G903

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Once we removed the screws and separated the top from the bottom of the mouse, the first thing that came to our attention was the battery, because we had to disconnect the cable to get here. It is a Li-Po with 750mAH at 3.7V. Considering the lack of space and weight added from this cell, to get twenty-four to thirty-two hours out of it is doing great.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 18 | TweakTown.com

While the top portion was still in our hands, we see Logitech opted to have the switches for the main buttons as part of the top assembly rather than connecting them to the main PCB below. In this instance, we see an Omron D2FC-F-K(50M) which is good for up to fifty-million clicks. There is a matching switch under the other main button as well, but it is installed with the markings in an area we cannot photograph.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The lower section of the mouse is where all the rest of the business happens, across three PCBs. At the heel of the mouse is where the battery plugs in, and the ribbon cable connects at the same end of the much larger PCB. Resting on top of that is the scroll wheel mechanism, which connects via the thin ribbon cable which is still connected.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 20 | TweakTown.com

The optical sensor used is the one specified earlier in the review and on the box. It is indeed a PixArt PMW3366DM-VWQU which has been soldered directly over the eye of the mouse.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The 32-bit ARM processor in charge of talking to the PC, controlling features and functionality, and is also where the profiles and settings are stored is made by ST Micro. We see no reasons why this STM32L100 should not be up to the task.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 22 | TweakTown.com

While most mice offer a scroll wheel that has a downward click, Logitech uses this rocker system, where the scroll wheel can be tilted left or right, delivering another pair of buttons to the mix. We also like the option of highly segmented movement of the wheel, or with the press of a button, free-wheel capability.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 23 | TweakTown.com

Once the G903 was reassembled, we plugged it into the PC, and allowed it to flash the LEDs in the center, but once settled, the Logitech G logo is the only thing that stays lit when wired. In wireless mode, the trio of lights in the middle are more active, but even then they shut down to save power for use, to extend the life of the battery charge.

Logitech Gaming Software

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Once the software is downloaded and installed, this is the first window you will see. It shows at the top that the mouse is fully charged on the left, while the right is used to switch between use of onboard storage of profiles on the mouse, or in the other position, it will search the PC when a game is detected for profiles pertaining to it. Across the bottom are various icons indicating what the menu tabs are for.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 25 | TweakTown.com

The second menu starts at the left by picking the configuration of the mouse near the bottom, which then shows around the mouse as to which buttons are enabled. At the top-right, we can pick which of the five profiles we wish to customize. The rest of the menu is used for the pointer settings, or DPI and report rate options. You can set how many DPI levels there are, slide or insert numbers 50 DPI at a time if needed, so change each level. Across the bottom are four report rate options, as well as a one-click button to restore the defaults.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 26 | TweakTown.com

When it comes to dealing with the lighting options, it is also profile dependent. You can disable the log LED that is on by default, or enable the DPI LEDs which are off by default. The dropdown box offers the option of fixed colors where a dial with sliders for colors with saturation and brightness sliders, as well as RGB code entry and ten preset options, but there are also color cycle and breathing effect. To adjust the latter two effects, you can adjust the brightness as well as the speed of it. We also notice the Sync menu at the bottom, so that your Logitech keyboard, headset, mouse pad, or speakers can match.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 27 | TweakTown.com

The battery menu is cool too. In here, you can select what is going on with the lighting presets, by clicking to the left of them. Once selected, the power consumption window will change values to represent how the battery will react to what it is you want to do, obviously reducing its time from the twenty-five hours it shows currently.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 28 | TweakTown.com

If you want the best of what the G903 can do, no matter what surface you choose to use it on, we highly suggest going here to tune the sensor to the pad. Once you add a surface it shows up in the list like the factory default one does, and we called it desktop. The box that says retune will just say tune, and with another window popping up you are asked to hold the left mouse button, make figure eights on the surface at a sustained speed shown on a meter, until it says you are done.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 29 | TweakTown.com

The next menu offers a feature that some may find useful, input analysis. What this means is that you can pick the key press heat map, or there is also a key duration heat map. What these do is record clicks and show the highest used areas in red, and less used areas in blue, with a full spectrum in between.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 30 | TweakTown.com

The last section that does not either ask you to download Overwolf, or send you out to Logitech for support, you will find by clicking on the gear icon. Once clicked a sub-menu opens, with various tabs to tweak things a bit further for options we have already discussed, or for things like Arx Control, where you can use your phone or tablet with this software for real-time displays and on-the-fly control.

Gaming and General Impressions

DOOM & PUBG

In faster paced FPS titles like DOOM, the G903, whether wired or used wirelessly, we have not a single complaint. It tracks well, the DPI range allows us not to have to lift the mouse to spray all of the hellspawn, no matter which direction those evil bastards attack from. When game slows down, such as hiding in a house in PUBG, or in a gold match, or somewhere where the mouse could be allowed to rest, in wireless usage we did notice that this mouse can be too smart for its own good.

We feel like even though the sensor can be tracking movements when used without the cable, the buttons would need to wake before use. Easy to alleviate for those wanting to go wired, but in something like PUBG, you can pull the trigger, and have nothing happen until the button was pressed again. We liked the options to set various profiles, so that we can fine tune the looks and settings for visual queue to select the appropriate onboard file, and get the movement and button arrangement you want most for said title.

Movement is smooth an all pads we tested on, and once tuned to each profile, the movement and accuracy of the sensor got even better. Comfort wise, we have no qualms, and after three months of using this G903, we have no pains, ailments, discomfort, not even a new callous.

Windows and Productivity

A lot of what we mentioned in the gaming section applies to the productivity end as well. For us, using a 4K screen, a higher DPI range is welcomed. Clicking around on various folders and favorites in our browsers went as expected, no overshooting, not jittering, and best of all, not funny stuff going on with the sensor. What we mean by this is that Logitech left the sensor in its natural state, so any movement, no matter how big or how minute, it moves the cursor to your exacting specifications.

Wireless mode shows us that the sleep mode works well. Previously when you worked at desktop level with Logitech mice and walked away, our advice was to turn off the mouse. In the G903, it sleeps well, and the timer is short. So if in something like writing this, and then clicking or scrolling to move to the next section, you may have to jiggle the mouse a bit, and it is possible that the initial click only activates the mouse, but the action is not always read when doing so.

Final Thoughts

To be blunt, the Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse is a damn nice product. We loved the aggressive styling, and even though we are a right handed user, we loved the option to use side buttons on either side, both, or not at all. With eleven buttons over five profiles, with a bit of customization time in the software, you can make the G903 do just about anything short of backflips and asking for treats.

Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Marketing has driven the DPI range up and up, and with optical sensors, 12,000 DPI is plenty. Lighting us fully customizable, all Logitech products can sync together, and if you don't like the cable, so be it, use the mouse wirelessly. The mouse is very comfortable on a personal level, and fits into our hand well with a relaxed grip style. If you have small hands, reaching some of the buttons may be tough, but for any medium or large sized hands out there, left or right ones, you will never feel like the G903 is too small.

Even though it being ambidextrous and wireless are enough reasons for many to move to a mouse like this, there is one other thing to consider, and that is Powerplay. While we feel that the twenty-four or more hours of use is good enough to get you through the day of gaming before throwing it on the cable to charge overnight, there are those times when you forget. Using the Powerplay pad and the puck that comes along with it, it eliminates the need to monitor the battery.

The software does all the work, allowing about seven percent of discharge before attention to recharge, but the biggest benefit is yet to come. As long as the mouse sits still for more than a few seconds, the pad will attempt to charge the mouse. In slower paced games, you could charge and play at the same time, or while writing emails or writing like we do, if it stays in one place long enough, it will charge. In most instances, we could not get below 75% before we needed to visit the restroom or some other task like retrieving a beverage before the software decided it was time to charge again.

There is just so much that can be said for the G903. With as many hours as we have with this device, we can assure it is built like a tank, has shown no signs of wear with labeling, LEDs dimming, feet dragging, everything is well thought out and well placed to make life on its users as easy as it can be. Even with a lightened shell design to counteract the weight of the battery and still getting close to 100 grams, it is not flimsy, the surfaces have not worn off, and if we hadn't told you it was this way, you would never know by feel.

Even though we have to retire the G903 from our testing rig, it will find a place in our home to be used until it eventually dies, and we will enjoy every minute of it. Even with the random sleep issues, as long as you are aware of what can happen, it can be addressed, so you don't wait to the last moment to activate the device, and take bullets to the face like we did while adjusting to the learning curve.

The MSRP being what it does casts a heavy shadow over the Logitech G903 to most consumers. Many will not pay this regardless, no matter what technology and developments are in place. We are in the boat with Logitech, that there is a ton going on, and this is the smartest mouse we have ever seen, delivering wireless efficiency like no other mouse we have seen to date. Knowing that nothing is free, the time it took to develop the mouse along with the Powerplay charging option, we never expected this mouse to be cheap, and honestly, we would still consider this mouse at nearly $150.

However, you do not have to, as prices have dropped nearly a third. This means that for right around $100, you can have the most unique mouse on the planet. Yes, some come close, but Logitech kicked the doors wide open. If many of the other reviews had you on the fence, even quite sometime after the initial release, the Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse is what we will be comparing every other mouse to for quite some time to come.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Performance

99%

Quality

100%

Features

100%

Value

98%

Overall

99%

The Bottom Line

Logitech delivered the best mouse we have ever seen. It will require you to dig deep into your pocket, but the design, thoughts, time, styling, control, options, components used, and comfort of use all align in a wireless ambidextrous mouse that we know many will enjoy using!

TweakTown award
99%

Logitech G903 LIGHTSPEED Gaming Mouse

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$106.18$112.49$112.98
* Prices last scanned on 10/19/2020 at 8:54 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles