Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review

For pure storage performance, QSAN has you covered with the XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS. Check out our overall thoughts on it here.

@TylerBernath
Published Wed, Jul 31 2019 10:00 PM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 86%Manufacturer: Qsan

Introduction

Nearly a year ago, I was able to get my hands-on my first Qsan appliance. Since then they have been hard at work becoming a household name filling out their XCubeNAS portfolio with the 7 and 8000 series of appliances.

Like the XN3002T reviewed last September, the new XN3004T is part of the same XCubeNAS lineup. This solution features a similar N+1 design offering Four 3.5" bays for storage capacity and a 2.5" tray tucked away for SSD cache. Hardware for the XN3004T is nearly identical to last years 3002T with an Intel Celeron Quad-Core at its base operating at 2.2GHz paired with 4GB of DDR3L, upgradable to 8GB via SO-DIMM.

Peak internal capacity is rated at 58TB using 14TB drives in the 3.5" bays and 2TB drive in the 2.5" bay. With the recent addition of 16TB drives to Seagate's IronWolf portfolio, capacity has now increased to 64TB across the 4 3.5" bays.

Qsan Storage Management 3.0 or QSM 3.0 is the operating system for the XCube platform and our XN3004T. This firmware platform is based on the Linux Kernel with fine-tuning and ZFS file system support. This offers powerful storage capabilities along with reliability and protection against data corruption.

MSRP of the four-bay XN3004T comes in at $799.99 with a two-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

Sans Digital XN3004T XCubeNAS, Tower 4 +1 Bay, 4GB DDR3L RAM

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$799.00$799.00$799.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/20/2020 at 8:14 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Qsan XN3002T NAS Appliance

Packaging and a Closer Look

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 02 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 43 IMAGES

The packaging is quite simple for the Qsan with subtle branding ques. We have a sticker to the right with model information.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 03 | TweakTown.com

A closer look at the label offers hardware specifications, and the model number bottom right.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Scope of delivery includes two Ethernet cables, the power brick and drive bay keys.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The design of the XN3004T follows the rest of the XCubeNAS portfolio. We have distinct lines separating the drive bays from each other and the side of the unit. The power button is tucked away at the top with a one-touch copy button next to the USB 3.0 port. Down from the power button, we have a series of LEDs that are hidden behind the smoked exterior of the NAS and to the right four 3.5" drive bays each lockable with the included green key.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The top of the NAS offers a drive layout diagram.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 07 | TweakTown.com

The backside of the NAS offers dual gigabit ports at the top followed by USB 3.0 and USB 2.0. We then have HDMI, reset, and power input. To the left, we have a large cooling fan.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Using the included green key, we push a retaining clip into the chassis on the side of the unit allowing the removal of a door. This door tucks away the 2.5" SFF storage bay and SO-DIMM slot used for memory upgrades.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 09 | TweakTown.com

Removing the drive trays, they are tool-less for 3.5" inch drives but have screws included for use with 2.5" SSDs.

Test System Setup and Web Management

Tyler's Test System Specifications

Before we get into the NAS operating system, I would like to thank Seagate for supporting this article with IronWolf Pro 16TB and Ironwolf 110 SSD for testing.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 10 | TweakTown.com

After connecting power and Ethernet, firing up the unit and going to the WebGUI setup address, we are greeted with the image above. This allows you to choose between quick or customized setup

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Moving through setup, we are greeted with the storage menu, allowing setup of our storage pool and RAID mode.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Seen above, the desktop offers icons for File Management, Backup, Monitoring, and Cloud Sync. Down below, we have the dock where you can move shortcut or access the control panel.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Diving in we start with File Manager which offers navigation to the right for both local and network systems.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Moving into backup, we have access to local snapshots along with remote backup, cloud backup, and Xmirror if you have a second Qsan system.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Mentioning Xmirror, this diagram shows how you can create a sync zone to allow multiple Qsan platforms to sync data.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 16 | TweakTown.com

The onboard monitor offers a look at resource usage along with hardware temps, seen above.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Network services include CIFS, AFP, and NFS along with FTP and Rsync.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The apps menu is quite sparse but does offer AV, SQL Server, and Web Server along with VPN and Media Library.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Control panel is populated with system, storage, and file-sharing settings you can edit network setting at the very bottom.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The disk menu shows each slot populated and to the right drive model, temps, and health status.

Benchmarks - Sequential Performance & Workloads

Single Client Throughput

  • HD Video Play - 720p HD stream from Windows Media Player, 256kB reads
  • HD Video Record - 720p HD stream, 256kB writes
  • File Copy from NAS - 4GB file copy, 64kB reads
  • File Copy to NAS - 64kB writes

In testing the Qsan, I decided to test with SSD cache as well. I ran each test three times to give the NAS a chance to cache data and recorded the results. I started with NASPT or single client testing, this gave us a blue bar for standard testing and green for SSD.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Starting off with RAID 0 testing, we show our baseline numbers at 112 MB/s for playback and 116 MB/s for record. File copy to and from reach 104MB/s and 90 MB/s respectively. Adding the SSD cache, we see a 3MB/s improvement on playback, 6MB/s on File Copy to and 25MB/s with File Copy from.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 31 | TweakTown.com

RAID 5 was rather interesting showing much higher performance without the cache, though it should be noted OSM was showing a low hit rate for this data set.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 32 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 showed a much better result with cache; 16MB/s in Video Record, 15 MB/s in File Copy to and 12 MB/s with Directory Copy.

Benchmarks - Sequential Read and Write

Our Sequential read/write workload is centered on 128K transfer sizes at QD32.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 33 | TweakTown.com

RAID 0 sequential read showed no real benefit from the SSD cache; both reaching 115 - 120 MB/s across the board.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 34 | TweakTown.com

Once again, sequential performance goes down with cache and RAID 5; a 20 MB/s difference between the two.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 35 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 showed similar results to RAID 5; likely, three passes isn't enough to warm the cache.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Moving into write performance, our 16TB Ironwolf Pro and SSD cache was held back by the Gigabit network connection.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 37 | TweakTown.com

Back over to RAID 5, we see more consistency out of write operations both the standard and SSD cache testing peaking at 118 MB/s

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 38 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 shows a slight performance advantage for the standard drive setup, no-cache.

Benchmarks - Workloads

Workloads

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 39 | TweakTown.com

Workload testing is where SSD cache really shines. As seen above RAID 0 Database operations, we get a 500 IOP increase at QD16 with QD32 and QD64 showing a larger 1200 IOPs increase.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 40 | TweakTown.com

File Server is even larger with SSD cache having the ability to triple your IOPs from QD16 to 128.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 41 | TweakTown.com

Email Server peaks around 900 IOPs standard at QD16. With cache, we see a peak just over 1800 IOPs at QD32.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 42 | TweakTown.com

Continuing our testing, we have Web Server peaking at 1200 IOPs standard and with cache; 3750 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 43 | TweakTown.com

Workstation reaches top performance at QD64 just below 1000 IOPs. Adding in our SSD cache, we see top marks at QD32; 2700 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 44 | TweakTown.com

Moving into RAID 5, performance for the HDD setup reaches its peak at QD8 just under 800 IOPs. Further down the line we see the peak for the SSD cache at QD128 and 1000 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 45 | TweakTown.com

Moving out of Database and into File Server, we see a much larger performance gap between cache and HDD. Peak results hover around 500 IOPs all the way down the line and with cache almost four time higher at 2000 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 46 | TweakTown.com

Email Server tops at 400 IOPs standard, Cached all the way up to 1200 IOPs at QD8.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 47 | TweakTown.com

Web Server acts very much like File Server with 500 IOPs peak on the hard drives alone and with cache nearly 7 times the throughput at 3700 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 48 | TweakTown.com

RAID 5 Workstation we see peak performance around QD16 for the cached setup and QD32 for the HDDs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 49 | TweakTown.com

Into our final set of testing, we reconfigure the array for RAID 6. Database keeps things tight with 600 IOPs for the hard drive setup and 900 IOPs adding in cache.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 50 | TweakTown.com

File Server with RAID 6 seemed to stay quite tight as well with the cache only getting away around QD8.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 51 | TweakTown.com

Email Server once again shows cache and standard both hovering around 450 IOPs.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 52 | TweakTown.com

Into Web Server, we have seen cache gain the most here. With RAID 6 that stays true with a 5-6x increase using SSD cache.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 53 | TweakTown.com

Workstation is a bit erratic with cache peaking at QD16 at 1600 IOPs for the SSD cache setup.

Final Thoughts

With testing complete on the QSAN XN3004T, I am once again thrilled with the overall storage performance, and I'd guess anyone that prioritizes storage and features over the traditional "app" based system would truly enjoy what XCubeNAS is all about too. The N+1 design means you don't lose a drive of capacity to take advantage of storage tiering or SSD cache and the easy access panel gives access to memory upgrades through a SO-DIMM slot. The overall design of the NAS shadows the XN3002T we reviewed a year ago and the XN8008T from last December, offering a metal frame under a layered plastic exterior, drive trays full-on tool-less design and plastic to reduce vibration.

Qsan XN3004T 4+1 Bay NAS Review 05 | TweakTown.com

QSM 3.0 doesn't appear to have changed much since our initial review of the XN3002T, but as it was then, we have a very stable platform with virtually no bugs in navigation or setup. One big integration coming to the XCubeNAS platform is IronWolf Health Management, and as it does on many other platforms will offer a more refined look at the NAS environment, including temperatures, shock, and vibration.

Performance above all metrics was consistently able to reach the limits of Gigabit ethernet; there is a possibility of even higher performance than seen in my results by taking advantage of link aggregation and multiple client systems. With my result based on slinging data across a single cable, I will say that the XN3004T is perfectly capable of setting in a small office and delivering consistent performance for hours or days without a stumble. In my testing, we peaked at 118 MB/s sequential across all RAID modes without cache being needed. For workloads such as Servers whether its Web, File or Email, we see a large increase using SSD cache over standard HDDs and in some cases up to 7x the performance.

As far as pricing is concerned, the QSAN XN3004T comes in at $799.99 with a two-year warranty. Somewhat comparable solutions by hardware would be the Synology DS918+, Qnap TVS-471, and Asustor AS6404T.

Performance

88%

Quality

90%

Features

81%

Value

84%

Overall

86%

The Bottom Line

QSAN has it together for users that want storage features and performance.

TweakTown award
86%

Sans Digital XN3004T XCubeNAS, Tower 4 +1 Bay, 4GB DDR3L RAM

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$799.00$799.00$799.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/20/2020 at 8:14 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles