TRENDING NOW: AMD's next-gen Ryzen 9 5900X CPU: 12-core, 24-thread Intel destroyer?!

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review

ASUSTOR looks to change everything with the Lockerstor 8 NAS. Here's our full review.

@TylerBernath
Published Fri, Jan 10 2020 12:16 PM CST   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: ASUSTOR (AS6508T)

Introduction

ASUSTOR finished out 2019 rather strong, releasing several new models carrying the new "Lockerstor" naming. I was fortunate enough to get my hands-on the eight-bay solution, so let's get right to it.

ASUSTOR, as of late, has gone away from the typical numbered model scheme nearly all NAS vendors have become accustomed to using, in favor of named platforms. This started with Nimbustor 2 and 4 last year and continues with Lockerstor 8 and 10 moving into 2020.

The two Lockerstor platforms use similar hardware based on Intel Denverton silicon. The eight-bay model in house takes advantage of the four-core Atom C3538 operating at 2.1GHz paired with a single 8GB stick of DDR4. Memory is upgradable via SO-DIMM to 32GB via 16GB sticks. Eight 3.5" bays are available and take advantage of SATA 6Gb/s connections and support both HDD and SSDs.

In addition, the Lockerstor offers two m.2 slots supporting both NVMe and SATA protocols for use as SSD cache. Maximum raw internal capacity of this unit is 128TB but can be doubled by using the AS6004U expansion unit to a peak of 256TB using 16TB drives.

External I/O includes dual 2.5Gbe as standard with 2x 10Gbe for those that need the additional throughput. We also have access to two USB 3.2 Gen 1 ports Expansion and backup.

MSRP of the Eight-Bay Lockerstor 8 comes in at $999.99 with a three-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$999.00$999.00$999.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/19/2020 at 1:17 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

ASUSTOR AS6508T NAS Appliance

Packaging and a Closer Look

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 02 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 26 IMAGES

Packaging has changed slightly with a new cleaner look and large sticker to the right. This includes model identification along with platform specifications.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 03 | TweakTown.com

A look at the hardware gives us the power cable, 2x ethernet cables, and drive screws.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The Lockerstor 8 offers an LCD panel at the top with controls to the right. Down below, we have the eight bays, all with locking trays. To the left, we have power at the top and quick backup at the bottom.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The tray design starts with a metal core that is wrapped in plastics, including the latch mechanism.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The back of the NAS offers twin cooling fans, power supply up top. To the right, we have USB, 10Gbe, and 2.5Gbe in red.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Internally, the backplane is for SATA drives only.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Removing the shell, we have easy access to the SO-DIMM slots for upgrading memory.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 09 | TweakTown.com

While you have the cover off for upgrading memory, up top, you will find the two m.2 slots.

Test System Setup and Web Management

Tyler's Test System Specifications

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 10 | TweakTown.com

As you could have guessed, the Lockerstor uses ACC to set up and initialize the unit.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Moving through setup, we first start by confirming drives are installed and heeding the warning above, letting us know all data on the drive will be wiped.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 13 | TweakTown.com

We then set up the admin account and move to creating our array. For this review, I am using four Seagate 600 Pro SSDs. EXT4 and BTRFS filesystems are available.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 15 | TweakTown.com

The ADM dashboard offers several shortcuts for activity, apps, and managing the NAS.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Access Control includes local users and groups along with domain setup and shared folders.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 17 | TweakTown.com

App Central opens you up to a plethora of options for enhancing the Lockerstor.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Backup and Restore offers options for Remote Sync, FTP, and Internal Backups. You can also schedule External Backups and Cloud platforms.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 19 | TweakTown.com

External devices support includes Hard Drive, Printers, Wi-Fi Dongles, Optical Drives, and Uninterruptible Power Supplies.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Services include SMB for Windows platform, macOS AFP, and NFS for Linux. We also have the standard FTP, Web Server, and Rsync options.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Storage Manager offers an overview of the volumes on the NAS along with capacity and array type to the right. Down below, you can see drives installed.

Benchmarks - Single Client Throughput

Single Client Throughput

HD Video Play - 720p HD stream from Windows Media Player, 256kB reads

HD Video Record - 720p HD stream, 256kB writes

File Copy from NAS - 4GB file copy, 64kB reads

File Copy to NAS - 64kB writes

The Lockerstor 8 supports both 2.5Gbe and 10Gbe. All testing was completed under a 2.5Gbe network environment.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Starting with RAID 0 testing, we show solid performance numbers at 296 MB/s for playback and 239 MB/s for record. File copy to and from reach 250MB/s and 290 MB/s, respectively.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 31 | TweakTown.com

RAID 5 was able to show the increased power of the Lockerstor platform over the Nimbustor. Video Playback reached 295 MB/s while file copy operations were easily doubled and tripled in some cases.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 32 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 showed similar results with 296 MB/s in playback and file copy still hitting 237 Mb/s and 288 MB/s, respectively.

Sequential Read and Write

Our Sequential read/write workload is centered on 128K transfer sizes at QD32.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 33 | TweakTown.com

In our sequential read testing, the performance was not affected at all between RAID setups, all three bringing in 295 MB/s.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 34 | TweakTown.com

The same thing can almost be said for write performance, but we do see RAID 6 touch down to 222 MB/s, while RAID 5 hits 228 and RAID 0 lands at 234 MB/s.

Workloads

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Workload testing really shows a large performance difference between the two ASUSTOR platforms. The Lockerstor with SSDs is an absolute beast hitting near 20K IOPS in database and 16K IOPS in workstation.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 36 | TweakTown.com

RAID 5 almost flips performance, with Workstation having the highest at 14K IOPS while the other four hover near 12K IOPS.

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS Review 37 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 once again favors Database with 16K IOPS.

Final Thoughts

Coming away from the Lockerstor 8, I'm certainly pleased to see a platform that offers 2.5Gbe as its base network configuration and adding to this a pair of 10Gbe ports for those that have a suitable environment for the increased throughput. Build quality is on point with a fantastic chassis design that enables a clean exterior aesthetic and easy access to ports for upgrading memory and adding SSD cache.

I was easily able to reach the limits of the 2.5G interface with four SSDs, but for those that use this as a capacity-driven platform with HDDs, it should comfortably support your needs in the near-term, while 10Gbe is waiting should you ever need it.

In testing, I was able to reach upwards of 300 MB/s in sequential read while write workloads were reaching peaks of 230-240 MB/s. In Workload testing, we saw upwards of 20K IOPS for database and 16K IOPS for workstation across all RAID modes.

As far as pricing goes, ASUSTOR has come away with an amazing product that should surely affect what other vendors are doing moving forward. The Lockerstor 8 is the first platform I know of to offer a base 2.5G configuration with secondary 10Gbe built-in under $1000. When doing my research, the closest Synology platform is the DS1819, which requires you to purchase an add-on card, and the same can be said of QNAP as well.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

95%

Quality

90%

Features

95%

Value

90%

Overall

93%

The Bottom Line

ASUSTOR pushes the market forward with the introduction of the Lockerstor lineup, featuring top level networking and storage in one platform.

TweakTown award
93%

ASUSTOR Lockerstor 8 Eight-Bay NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$999.00$999.00$999.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/19/2020 at 1:17 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles