Epic Thanksgiving Giveaway: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO!

Ubiquiti UniFi Review

If you are serious about networking then you should definitely check out the Ubiquiti UniFi, it has earned our Editors Choice award.

@TylerBernath
Published Mon, Aug 26 2019 10:17 PM CDT   |   Updated Tue, Nov 3 2020 6:57 PM CST
Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Gateway (SWX-UAPHDNANO)

Introduction

For some, consumer routers just don't cut it. I've seen it myself when testing routers before writing an article; a brand new router arrives I go through unboxing and setup only to have it fall flat on its face when I start up multiple streaming services or even better a router that just gets too hot from all the traffic and locks up or shuts down.

Ubiquiti has long been a staple in the Enterprise networking market, and more recently their product has become even more user-friendly, allowing people like me the ability to understand, setup and manage a legit home network. That being said, it's not for the faint of heart; it will take a slight bit of knowledge, plenty of patience and ethernet cable to get you up and running. For this article, we will be looking at three key parts of a home network; The Gateway, Switch and Access Point.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 99 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 30 IMAGES

The gateway for this article is the Ubiquiti UniFi USG; this solution provides both network routing and security in a single cost-effective solution. Ports include 3 gigabit RJ45 one WAN, one LAN and one multi-purpose WAN/LAN port. MSRP comes in at $139.99.

The switch in use for this article is the Ubiquiti UniFi Switch 8 150W; this solution offers independent switching across all 10 ports, eight of which offer RJ45 connectivity with two SFP Optical. This switch includes 802.3af/at PoE+ or Passive 24V PoE capabilities. MSRP comes in at $199.99.

The access point we are using is the UniFi nanoHD; a wave 2 4x4 802.11ac solution. This AP supports 300Mbps on the 2.4GHz band and 1733Mbps on the 5GHz band. It's powered by 802.3af PoE and offers a reduced footprint over past solutions. MSRP comes in at $179.99.

All three of these solutions are managed by the UniFi Network Controller. UNC is compatible with macOS, Windows and Debian/Ubuntu Linux along with iOS and Android.

Buy at Amazon

Ubiquiti Unifi Security Gateway (USG)

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$128.00$128.00$125.74
* Prices last scanned on 11/29/2020 at 5:08 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Ubiquiti UniFi

Packaging and a Closer Look

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 02 | TweakTown.com

Starting with the USG; Packaging offers an image of the gateway on the front, branding at the top right.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 03 | TweakTown.com

Backside lists features of the USG with package contents to the right.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Scope of delivery includes, the USG, power adapter, and manual.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 05 | TweakTown.com

As mentioned above, the USG offers three RJ45 ports on the front with a console port to the left.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 06 | TweakTown.com

On the bottom, we have regulatory information and wall mount options built into the chassis.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Slipping into the access point, the nanoHD is the smallest 4x4 AP to date. This solution comes boxed as all UniFi AP do, with an image of the top of the unit centered.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Included with we have an 802.3af injector, mounting plate, and the nanoHD.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The injector offers an RJ45 input with PoE RJ45 output; the power Input resides on the opposite end with an indicator on the body of the unit.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The AP accept PoE input on the bottom with its reset to the left. This unit supports wall and ceiling mounts included in the box.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The UniFi Switch 8 packaging offers an image of the switch centered with model and features to the left.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Included in the package, we have mounting ears and screws along with the power cable and manual.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The Switch 8 offers eight ports across the front all supporting 802.3af/at PoE gigabit ethernet. Two PoE ports offer optical connectivity for expanding your network.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 15 | TweakTown.com

The backside of the switch offers an open design to allow air to pass through more freely.

Test System Setup and UniFi Controller

Tyler's Test System Specifications

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Setup begins by downloading and installing UniFi Controller. You will also need Java for this software.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Once complete, we initialize the software and launch the browser to begin setup.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Once we are in setup, the integrated wizard will guide you through, first by setting your time zone and country.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 23 | TweakTown.com

We then move into devices; everything on your network should show up here and be waiting for adoption.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Continuing on with the setup, we add controller access by setting up a username and password.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 25 | TweakTown.com

After running through those first few steps you will land here, likely with a white background. You can switch to dark mode on the right-hand side. From the top, the UniFi Network dashboard offers insight into your entire network from this browser window. To the left, we have Internet capacity followed by utilization numbers for each device in the chain. Further down, you will see the number of access points and clients connected. Down below each client that connects to a UniFi access point is monitored for anomalies and associating issues, including timeouts and authentication failures.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 26 | TweakTown.com

The statistics menu offers another level of analytics with clients connected and traffic moving through each. To the right, we have an overall throughput number for each access point and down below historical traffic for each client.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 27 | TweakTown.com

The map tab allows you to import and place access point on the map to better utilize coverage.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 28 | TweakTown.com

The device menu lists each UniFi solution. Clicking on any single solution offers a popup window to the right with further information and configuration if needed.

UniFi Controller Continued

UniFi Controller

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 29 | TweakTown.com

Within the Device menu, each client with have its own experience score. This is based on connection rate and signal quality. To the right, we also have traffic stats showing the activity of each client and uptime.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Insights show you neighboring access points and any interference they may be causing. Using this data, you can manage your network quality by changing your chosen channels.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 31 | TweakTown.com

Intrusion Prevention is the Firewall of the USG Gateway. From here, you can monitor and block threats to your network.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 32 | TweakTown.com

The settings menu offers the ability to change setup data for the controller. This includes time zone and advanced features. Advanced features include airtime fairness, bandsteering, minimum RSSI, and load balancing. The settings menu also allows the controller to automatically upgrade AP firmware or schedule speed tests.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Intrusion Prevention if enabled, will monitor and block threats to your network at the expense of throughput. That said, this menu allows you to configure categories and firewall restrictions.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 38 | TweakTown.com

Last, we have the maintenance menu system. This allows you to backup and restore configurations along with data retention.

Performance & Final Thoughts

Performance & Final Thoughts

After going through the process of setting up the UniFi system, I am certainly ready to check the performance. I'm expecting the Switch 8-150 to be on par with gigabit standards and as you can see below, it certainly delivered.

The Wi-Fi was on point as well with the nanoHD offering 167Mbps using the 2.4GHz band and 852Mbps for 5GHz. This was of course testing with my ASUS PCE-AC88 4x4 adapter, mobile users such as smartphones and notebook can reasonably expect 4-500Mbps out of the nanoHD with a 2x2 adapter.

Ubiquiti UniFi Review 40 | TweakTown.com

Build quality of each component is top-notch, the Switch and USG both use full metal enclosures offering EMI protection and that durable enterprise look. The nanoHD, on the other hand, takes advantage of high-quality plastics and a small form factor design to integrate into your home high-performance Wi-Fi.

UniFi Controller is what really completes the package and takes this enterprise hardware and enables the typical consumer the ability to setup and manage their network. From start to finish, the integrated wizard will pull you through time zone setup, setting up your login, devices, and even wireless SSID.

From there you can launch the dashboard through UniFi controller and have the ability to see and manage each device independently while UniFi can grade a client's performance along taking into account connection trends to maximize a client's throughput and latency.

I know this type of network isn't going to be for everyone cost alone can dictate if you are committed. For those that are, the UniFi system is one of the most flexible deployments one can have with its ability to expand as needed and upgrade as new technologies are offered.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

91%

Quality

90%

Features

98%

Value

90%

Overall

92%

The Bottom Line

While UniFi may not be turn-key, its easily one of the most flexible networking platforms on the market and one anyone serious about networking should check out.

TweakTown award
92%

Ubiquiti Unifi Security Gateway (USG)

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$128.00$128.00$125.74
* Prices last scanned on 11/29/2020 at 5:08 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

Newsletter Subscription
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles