Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review

Terramaster offers up a two-bay entry-level platform, is it good enough to compete?

@TylerBernath
Published Mon, Apr 29 2019 10:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Fri, Nov 15 2019 1:16 PM CST
Rating: 79%Manufacturer: Terramaster

Introduction

We get a Terramaster appliance about two times per year, and while they aren't the most recognizable brand, they do tend to use similar hardware to the Synology and Qnap.

The F2-221 is the latest in the two-bay Terramaster lineup. This new solution ditches the aging J1800 SoC for a new Intel J3355. While this new CPU is still a dual-core platform it's built on the new 14nm process and while the clock speed is lower, it does offer higher single core performance than the previous solution. Terramaster has paired this with 2GB of DDR3 that is soldered directly on the motherboard for upgrades they have allowed a single memory slot that accepts up to 8GB sticks.

Moving on we have two bays as stated above with support for both 2.5" and 3.5" drives. Maximum internal storage capacity is reached at 28TB using 14TB disks. Connectivity is offered via two-gigabit ethernet ports with additional storage expansion via USB 3.0.

MSRP of the Terramaster F2-221 comes in at $249.99 with a one-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

TerraMaster F2-221 NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$249.99$249.99$249.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/23/2020 at 6:25 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

F2-221 NAS Appliance

Packaging and a Closer Look

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 02 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 14 IMAGES

The packaging is quite simple for the 221 with subtle branding cues. We have a sticker to the left with model information and performance estimates.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 03 | TweakTown.com

Scope of delivery includes the power adapter, ethernet cable, and hardware for installing drives.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The front of the unit houses two drive trays, non-lockable while the left houses the power button, and activity LEDs

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The backside gives access to dual gigabit ethernet ports, and two USB 3.0 followed up by HDMI, system reset and power input.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 06 | TweakTown.com

Removing the drive trays, they are not toolless like we normally would see but are set up for both 2.5 and 3.5" drives.

Test System Setup and Web Management

Tyler's Test System Specifications

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 07 | TweakTown.com

The 221 takes advantage of Terramaster new TOS 4 firmware or operating system. Setup is pretty straight forward following the WebGUI.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 08 | TweakTown.com

After setup and login, we land on the dashboard and as you can see it much more modern than past systems. To the left, we have icons for file manager, applications and control panel along with a few others.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 09 | TweakTown.com

Within the applications menu, there is a set of recommended apps, these include multimedia and iTunes server along with plex and Dropbox.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Control panel includes menu options for users, group and shared folder at the top. Through the middle, we have network options and storage setup. At the bottom, we have system information and general settings.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Services supported on the 221 include, Windows File Service or SMB, iSCSI and FTP. To the right we have NFS and AFS along with Web Server and SQL.

Benchmarks - Performance and Final Thoughts

Single Client Throughput

HD Video Play - 720p HD stream from Windows Media Player, 256kB reads

HD Video Record - 720p HD stream, 256kB writes

File Copy from NAS - 4GB file copy, 64kB reads

File Copy to NAS - 64kB writes

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 15 | TweakTown.com

In testing the Terramaster, we have a few units along for comparison. Starting with single client testing, we see 104 MB/s in playback and 100 MB/s in file copy.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 16 | TweakTown.com

RAID 1 offered similar performance with 103 MB/s on playback and 98 MB/s on file copy.

Benchmarks - Sequential

Our Sequential read/write workload is centered on 128K transfer sizes at QD32.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Sequential performance peaked at 108 MB/s read, and 102 MB/s write-in RAID 0.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Moving over to RAID 1, we see the performance at a similar level; 109 MB/s for read and 106 MB/s for write.

Final Thoughts

I've not reviewed many Terramaster products over the years, so it's nice to get my hands-on them when I can. Quality is quite good although it's certainly a different standard than what we see with larger known brands like Synology, Qnap or Asustor. The F2-221, for instance, is an all-metal chassis inside and out with an aluminized finish that almost makes it look like spray painted plastic. The plastic drive trays and front fascia now work just fine but could be better.

Terramaster F2-221 NAS Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Performance of this solution was top notch and given the hardware used id expect nothing less. Pairing this with IronWolf drives offers near identical performance in both RAID 0 or 1, and it really shows what a bottleneck gigabit ethernet has become in the current market. As far as features go, the Terramaster doesn't have the biggest app store, but they have managed to land support from Plex which is one of the largest media library platforms in use. Outside of that, they have download station and basic file services along with a full features NAS OS that really add ease of use to the entire platform.

As far as pricing goes, this unit carries a $279.99 MSRP which is at the high-end for two-bay platforms. For comparison, Synology has DS218, Qnap has the 251B and Asustor the AS3102T v2 all which come in cheaper and with more feature rich ecosystem.

Performance

82%

Quality

78%

Features

79%

Value

75%

Overall

79%

The Bottom Line

The F2-221 offers a reliable set of hardware with an NAS OS that needs to grow up quickly to compete in the current market.

79%

TerraMaster F2-221 NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$249.99$249.99$249.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/23/2020 at 6:25 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles