ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review

We think that the ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 is a solid LGA1151 motherboard with a great set of features at quite a reasonable price.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Tue, Mar 12 2019 10:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASRock

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 71 IMAGES

We look a look at our first B365 chipset motherboard earlier, and today we are taking a look at its little brother, the B365 Phantom Gaming 4. The motherboard has the same high-end look and many of the same features, so let's see what it has going on!

Specifications

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The B365M Phantom Gaming 4 features two M.2 slots, USB 3.0, SATA6Gb/s, and RGB LED support.

Pricing

The price of the B365M Phantom Gaming 4 is right around the $90 mark.

Buy at Amazon

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$101.98$101.98$93.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:38 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging and B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Overview

Packaging and Overview

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 03 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The box is stylized like the motherboard, and the packaging is high quality.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The accessory package includes IO shield, M.2 screws, two SATA6Gb/s cables, postcard, driver DVD, and manual.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 06 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 07 | TweakTown.com

ASRock has five fan headers on this motherboard, the CPU fan header circled in red, it offers up to 1A of power and is PWM mode. The other four headers are rated for 2A each, and will auto-detect if a DC or PWM fan is installed, but you can change the mode manually in the UEFI if you want. The motherboard has a sleek silver/black/red color theme and merges the PCB with the heat sinks. The back of the motherboard is clean except for some RGB LEDs.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The rear IO panel features four USB 2.0 ports, USB 3.0 type-C, four USB 3.0 ports, PS/2 keyboard/mouse port, DisplayPort, HDMI, 1Gbit LAN, and gold plated 7.1 audio outputs.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 09 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The PCI-E layout is simple to understand. The topmost PCI-E x16 slot is wired directly to the CPU and is always x16. The second PCI-E x16 physical is x4 electrical and doesn't share lanes with anything. Four SATA6Gbps ports are right-angled. There is also a right-angled RGB LED header in this area.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 11 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 12 | TweakTown.com

There are two x4 PCI-E 3.0 M.2 slots with heat sinks. The bottom one also supports SATA based M.2 drives, but if you use a SATA M.2 drive, it will disable SATA port 0.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 13 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The motherboard also features two SATA6Gbps ports that are angled straight up, and they are located at the bottom right corner of the motherboard where we find boot LEDs and front panel connectors. A USB 3.0 internal header is located mid-board, and you can see the RGB LED header there.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 15 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 16 | TweakTown.com

There is also an M.2 WIFI card slot, so you can add in WIFI later one, and there are three holes in the IO panel to facilitate antenna. At the top right of the motherboard, we find an addressable RGB LED header.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 17 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 18 | TweakTown.com

At the bottom of the motherboard, we find another RGB header, two USB 2.0 internal headers, a TPM header, and a COM header. The heat sinks are all screwed to the motherboard.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Circuit Analysis

B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Circuit Analysis

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The B365M Phantom Gaming 4 reveals its secrets with the heat sinks removed.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 20 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The VRM is in a 6+2 phase configuration, with a single phase VRM for the VCCSA. The six VRM phases for the VCore are doubled using three uP1961 doubler/dual driver chips, and the two iGPU phases use two uP1962 drivers. The UPI Semiconductor uP9521P is a 4+3 phase PWM controller in 3+2 phase mode. The MOSFETs are the Sinopower SM4337 (H) and SM4336 (L).

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 22 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 23 | TweakTown.com

We get a single 8-pin power port, but that's enough for any CPU since the motherboard cannot overclock the CPU. The memory VRM is a single for the main DDR voltage controlled by the Anpec APW8720 single phase PWM with driver, and the phases use SM4337 MOSFETs in a 2L1H configuration.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Circuit Analysis Continued

B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Circuit Analysis Continued

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 24 | TweakTown.com

The Realtek ALC1200 is used, which is different than the ALC1220. There are also gold series audio capacitors, and look at that trace routing inside the PCB divides. We will see how it performs later down.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 25 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 26 | TweakTown.com

Intel's i219v is the PHY that provides the GBit Intel NIC. An ASMedia ASM1543 is used as the type-C switch chip.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 27 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 28 | TweakTown.com

The Nuvoton NCT6791D is used as the SuperIO controller, and the motherboard has a single 128Mbit BIOS ROM.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 29 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 30 | TweakTown.com

An ST75185C microcontroller is used to provide addressable RGB LED support, and we fine all the headers have eFuses. A Nuvoton N76E885AT provides RGB LED support.

BIOS and Software

BIOS

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 31 | TweakTown.com

The UEFI BIOS here has everything you might need to configure your PC. It also has an EZ Mode and an advanced mode, but we typically just use the advanced mode. Since the chipset doesn't support overclocking, we can't comment on that, but you do get control over voltages and DRAM timings and the like. Fan control is present in GUI form and manual input form.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 32 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 33 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 34 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 35 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 36 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 37 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 38 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 39 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 40 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 41 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 42 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 43 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 44 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 45 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 46 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 47 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Software

Software includes Phantom Gaming Tuning, Polychrome RGB, Key Master, XFast LAN.

Test System Setup

Steven's Motherboard Test System Specifications

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 49 | TweakTown.com
ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 50 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 51 | TweakTown.com

The RGB LEDs are situated in the IO shield in behind the right side of the motherboard, creating a pretty nice glow.

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

CINEBENCH R15

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 52 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 53 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 FPU

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 54 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 55 | TweakTown.com

ScienceMark

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 56 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 57 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Fire Strike

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 58 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Cloud Gate

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 59 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 60 | TweakTown.com

Performance is very similar to that of the H370 and B360 motherboards in our charts. We found no performance issues.

System IO Benchmarks

CrystalDiskMark SATA6G:

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 61 | TweakTown.com

CrystalDiskMark M.2:

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 62 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 63 | TweakTown.com

Networking and storage performance are good, no issues there.

Audio:

Sound Judgment by Ear: We would rate the audio as pretty decent for an onboard Realtek solution. There are five ratings for audio: 1. Problems, 2. Okay, 3. Acceptable, 4. Very good, 5. Excellent

Thermal Imaging and Power Consumption

System power is measured at the wall with an AC power meter.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 65 | TweakTown.com

Note on Thermal Images: In the temperature section, we use our Seek thermal imaging camera to capture the surface temperatures of major components on the board. I look at the VRM and then all other things that light up the screen. If there is something to worry about, then I will state it. Otherwise, I will just show the hotter running parts of the board for fun. Unless some component is over 80-90C, then there isn't anything to worry about.

All systems will act differently, so I will look for commonalities, such as how far from the VRM the heat spreads through the PCB and the difference in temperature between the front side and backside of the PCB. Keep in mind, the majority of the heat from the VRM goes into the PCB as it is a giant soldered on copper heat sink. A lower temperature on the front of the PCB points towards a more effective heat sink.

Thermal Testing at Stock Speeds:

The image on the left is always at idle, and the image on the right is at load. During ALL TESTS, fans above the VRM that cool the CPU cooler's (Corsair H110i) radiator are turned on to high (12v).

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 66 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 67 | TweakTown.com

Full frontal.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 68 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 69 | TweakTown.com

Up-close of the front of the VRM.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 70 | TweakTown.comASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 71 | TweakTown.com

Up-close of the back of the VRM.

Just like it's big ATX counterpart, this motherboard's VRM performance is good enough for Intel's 65W parts, and we see the heat spread more than rise. We did find the same hotspot on the motherboard, presumably because of the phase temperature balancing current into phases that have heat sinks on them. Anything under 60C is great, 60-80C is acceptable, and anything above 80C is a bit worrisome (if at stock).

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot

Looks High-end: The B365M Phantom Gaming 4 looks high-end and even has RGB LEDs integrated not only into its IO cover, but also behind the motherboard on the right side. We also get two RGB LED headers and one addressable RGB LED header.

Component Choice: Utilizing Intel's latest i219 PHY to produce an Intel NIC and Realtek's ALC1200 for audio, both of which are expensive parts that could have been replaced by lower-end pars. We are happy to see these higher-end parts on the motherboard.

Fan headers: On smaller motherboards we typically find fewer fan headers, but in this case we get a full five fan headers, four of which are flexible hybrid PWM/DC headers that support pretty much all PC fans.

What's Not

33%: A third of the VCore VRMs are not covered and cooled by heat sinks.

Final Thoughts

The B365M Phantom Gaming 4 is a pretty decent mATX motherboard for LGA1151 CPUs. Micro-ATX motherboards are sometimes hard to find, and when we ask vendors why they prefer mini-ITX and ATX over mATX, they respond it has to do with demand. While enthusiasts tend to upgrade more often, PCs in places like offices need to last for many years, and in that case, longevity is important.

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 Motherboard Review 72 | TweakTown.com

Many of those PCs are mid-sized towers, and while their cases support full ATX motherboards, many utilize mATX motherboards. That is done for a few reasons; for starters, it can reduce costs while offering more room inside the case and the ability to upgrade down the road. In this case, the same is true for a gaming PC where someone might want a smaller case that doesn't have spacing issues that they might encounter with a full-sized ATX motherboard.

If you are in the market for an mATX motherboard for your gaming rig that uses an 8th or 9th generation Core series CPU, give this motherboard a look.

Performance

88%

Quality

89%

Features

94%

Value

95%

Overall

92%

The Bottom Line

The ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4 is a solid LGA1151 motherboard with a great set of features at quite a reasonable price.

TweakTown award
92%

ASRock B365M Phantom Gaming 4

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$101.98$101.98$93.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:38 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles