ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review

The ASUS Maximus XI Formula is everything you want in a motherboard and more, it could be your next purchase if you are in market for a new Z390.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Wed, Mar 6 2019 10:09 PM CST   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

Today we look at the Maximus XI Formula, one of ASUS's top of the line Z390 motherboard revamped with some beautiful finishing material, a new VRM, and the same good EKWB waterblock that cools down the VRMs to offer maximum performance.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 80 IMAGES

The Formula series has traditionally been very high-end, but on the more affordable side, but this round it's one of the most pricey Z390 motherboards. Let's see what this motherboard has to offer!

Specifications

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The Maximus XI Formula features two M.2 slots, WIFI, Intel LAN 5G LAN, USB 3.1, and SATA6Gb/s.

Pricing

The Maximus XI Formula costs $424.00

Buy at Amazon

ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1189.00$599.00$1189.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:38 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging and Maximus XI Formula Overview

Packaging and Overview

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 03 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 04 | TweakTown.com

A strong design on the box and the packaging is top notch.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The accessory package includes four SATA6Gb/s cables; two weaved SATA6Gbps cables, WIFI antenna, SLI HB bridge, ROG stickers, ROG coaster, ROG thank you card, USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 adapter, Q-Connector, M.2 screws, ROG badge, Driver DVD, and manual.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 06 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 07 | TweakTown.com

ASUS has a total of eight Fan headers on this motherboard, all of them are hybrid DC/PWM mode fans. The two headers circled in green have shared control and offer 1A output. The headers circled in blue are all 1A headers as is the header circled in orange, but the one in orange runs at full speed by default. The headers circled in yellow and red offer 3A, with the one in red operating at full speed by default.

The two headers circled in purple are for the fan extension card and the new ASUS Node. There is one external temperature sensor input header and it is circled in pink. Overall the board has a large OLED display centered, and the mirror finish is delicate but looks beautiful when the RGB LEDs are illuminated below it. The back of the motherboard has a large rear shield that will reinforce the motherboard and cool the back of the VRM.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The rear IO panel features WIFI antenna, three USB 3.1 type-A ports, USB 3.1 type-C port, six USB 3.0 ports, BIOS FlashBack button, Clear CMOS, HDMI, 5G LAN, two 1G LAN, and gold plated 7.1 audio outputs with S/PDIF.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 09 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The PCI-E layout is as follows, x16/x0/x4, x8/x8, or x8/x4/x4. The bottom x16 slot is connected to the PCH and will operate at x2 by default as it shares two PCI-E lanes with two SATA6Gb/s port (5 and 6). We have six of our SATA ports angled at 90 degrees as well as one of our USB 3.0 internal headers.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 11 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 12 | TweakTown.com

We find two M.2 slots under a heat sink, both of them support PCI-E x4 M.2 drives, but one also has SATA support and will disable port 2 when used. We also have a USB 3.1 (10Gb/s) type-C internal header on the motherboard.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 13 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 14 | TweakTown.com

At the top of the motherboard, we find an addressable RGB LED header, a normal RGB LED header, our POST code display, power button, and restart button. The motherboard also features one 8-pin power plug and one 4-pin power plug.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 15 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 16 | TweakTown.com

At the bottom of the motherboard, we find two USB 2.0 internal headers near a MemOK! Switch. We find a Retry button to reapply current BIOS setting to try and book okay at the bottom of the motherboard along with an addressable RGB LED header and an RGB LED header.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 17 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 18 | TweakTown.com

We also find another USB 3.0 internal header, front panel headers, water flow sensor header, and water temperature input and output headers. The heat sinks are all of the highest quality, with the water block on the VRM coming from EKWB. The copper block is also capable of cooling the VRM without water in it.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula Circuit Analysis

Circuit Analysis

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The Maximus XI Formula shows us the goods with the heat sinks removed!

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 20 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The VRM is in an 8+2 phase configuration here, the eight phases for the CPU each share a PWM channel, so it's four PWM channels being doubled to eight through double components. The DrMOS integrated power stages as the Vishay Siliconix 50A power stages, and we find the Micro-Fine alloy chokes to go with them.

ASUS is Using the ASP1400, which can also be found on the Maximus IX Formula and STRIX Z370-G Gaming. We think it's a Richtek PWM controller, as used on the Maximus IX Formula (Z270) as the pin-out is identical for most of the component layout (resistors and capacitors).

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 22 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 23 | TweakTown.com

The VCCSA and VCCIO are controlled and provided by A single phase VRM and a POL. The memory VRM is similar to other high-end ASUS motherboards in a two phase configuration using a Digi+ ASP1103 as the PWM controller with integrated drivers.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula Circuit Analysis Continued

Maximus XI Formula Circuit Analysis Continued

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 24 | TweakTown.com

The audio solution consists of a Realtek ALC1220 an ESS9023P DAC, a Texas Instruments RC4580 amplifier, and Gold series Nichicon audio capacitors.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 25 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 26 | TweakTown.com

We find Intel's i219v used for Gbit LAN and Intel's Wireless AC 9560 used for the 1.733Gbps WIFI/BT5. The Aquantia AQC111C is used on this motherboard and takes a single PCI-E 3.0 lane, it's the first time this 5Gbit LAN controller has popped up for us.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 27 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 28 | TweakTown.com

At the rear of the motherboard, we find two Pericom PI3EQX dual channel USB 3.1 re-drivers that output to the four ports on the rear IO. An ASMedia ASM1543 is used as the type-C switch chip. The internal type-C USB 3.1 header gets a single channel PI3EQX and another ASMedia ASM1543.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 29 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 30 | TweakTown.com

On the Rear IO panel, we find four ASMedia ASM1464 USB 3.0 re-drivers to help repeat the USB 3.0 signals from the PCH to the rear IO. The other two USB 3.0 ports come from an ASMedia ASm1042 USB 3.0 controller.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 31 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 32 | TweakTown.com

An ASMedia ASM1074 USB 3.0 hub is used for the two internal USB 3.0 headers. We also find a Genesys USB 2.0 hub for the internal headers labeled GL852.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 33 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 34 | TweakTown.com

The Aura chip controls the RGB LED headers while the STM32 microcontroller seems to help with the OLED display. The motherboard also features an IDT6V41638B clock generator.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 35 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 36 | TweakTown.com

A Nuvoton NCT6798D is used as the SuperIO controller. The motherboard features BIOS FlashBack and the BIOS chip is responsible for that.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 37 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 38 | TweakTown.com

The TPU chip is used to improve fan control and other system attributes that are custom to the motherboard. The motherboard uses ASMedia ASM1480 for quick switches.

BIOS and Software

BIOS

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 39 | TweakTown.com

Here we have ASUS's UEFI, which most consider one of the best UEFIs in regards to layout, looks, and ease of use. It's easy to use and offers both an EZ Mode and an Advanced mode. There are overclocking profiles for those who have zero idea what they are doing as well. We found both Q-Fan GUI for controlling all fan headers, including the extension fans, and manual input for all fans (including extension fans). We also found memory overclocking presets, something ASUS is well known for on their high-end ROG motherboards.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 40 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 41 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 42 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 43 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 44 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 45 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 46 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 47 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 48 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 49 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 50 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 51 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 52 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 53 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 54 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 55 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 56 | TweakTown.com

Software

Software includes Dual Intelligent Processors 5, AURA lighting, Ai Suite 3, Ai Charger, TPU, EPU, Mem Tweakit, RAM Cahce III, RAM Disk, Game First V, Sonic Studio III + Sonic Studio Link, and Sonic Radar.

Test System Setup

Steven's Motherboard Test System Specifications

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 57 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 58 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 59 | TweakTown.com

The Maximus XI Formula has the same special coating as the Ramapage VI Extreme, and it looks just as amazing as it does on that motherboard. The OLED is also really cool, and it's the largest we have seen on an ASUS motherboard thus far.

Overclocking

Overclocking Results

CPU Overclocking

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 60 | TweakTown.com

The Maximus XI Formula overclocked our CPU to 5.2GHz with ease. We used manual override mode for VCore at 1.325v set and LLC level 7, 140% increase current capability, we also increase CPU current to 255A in the CPU advanced configuration menu. We also set XMP at 3200MHz, and we have no issues, and the performance in Handbrake was exactly where it should have been.

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

CINEBENCH 15

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 63 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 64 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 FLOPS and IOPS

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 65 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 66 | TweakTown.com

ScienceMark

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 67 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 68 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Fire Strike

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 69 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Cloud Gate

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 70 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 71 | TweakTown.com

Overall, performance is solid; there are no performance issues with this motherboard.

System IO Benchmarks

CrystalDiskMark SATA6G:

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 72 | TweakTown.com

CrystalDiskMark M.2:

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 73 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 74 | TweakTown.com

The storage and networking performance is excellent.

Audio RMAA 5.5:

Sound Judgment by Ear: Excellent, the audio was quite good on this motherboard due to the extra DAC. There are five ratings for audio: 1. Problems, 2. Okay, 3. Acceptable, 4. Very good, 5. Excellent

Thermal Imaging and Power Consumption

System power is measured at the wall with an AC power meter.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 76 | TweakTown.com

Note on Thermal Images: In the temperature section, we use our Seek thermal imaging camera to capture the surface temperatures of major components on the board. I look at the VRM and then all other things that light up the screen. If there is something to worry about, then I will state it. Otherwise, I will just show the hotter running parts of the board for fun. Unless some component is over 80-90C, then there isn't anything to worry about.

All systems will act differently, so I will look for commonalities, such as how far from the VRM the heat spreads through the PCB and the difference in temperature between the front side and back side of the PCB. Keep in mind, the majority of the heat from the VRM goes into the PCB as it is a giant soldered on copper heat sink. A larger difference in temperature between the back and front of the PCB points towards a more effective heat sink.

Thermal Testing at Stock Speeds:

The image on the left is always at idle, and the image on the right is at load. During ALL TESTS, fans to the right of the motherboard from the (Corsair H110i) radiator are left on automatic mode (ramps with internal block temperature). Additionally, a 120mm fan is situated right above the VRM, and it blows down at a medium rate (very quiet). Thermal Images are taken at loop 15 of Intel Burn Test

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 77 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 78 | TweakTown.com

Full frontal.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 79 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 80 | TweakTown.com

Up-close of the front of the VRM.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 81 | TweakTown.comASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 82 | TweakTown.com

Up-close of the back of the VRM.

The Maximus XI Formula has excellent VRM thermal performance. While it's not the best we have seen, that is mostly due to the fact that it's using a waterblock as a VRM heat sink, but regardless, the thermals were acceptable, and temperature rises weren't bad. Anything under 60C is great, 60-80C is acceptable, and anything above 80C is a bit worrisome (if at stock).

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot

VRM Block: The custom waterblock that sits on the Maximus XI Formula has been specifically designed for this motherboard by EKWB, a leading maker of high-performance computer watercooling parts. Even though we didn't watercool the VRM block, it still performed quite well as a normal heat sink since it's mostly a copper block.

5G Networking: The Aquantia 5Gbit NBase-T LAN controller they used helps future proof the motherboard for the future. With faster ISP offerings, faster Wireless AC, and even faster Wireless AX, multi-Gbit LAN is the future.

Solid VRM: ASUS's VRM uses 50A DrMOS with an IR digital PWM controller, but they aren't using doublers to improve transient response times. We see this in digital scope shots when comparing their previous design to their current design, and you can see the output is much tamer. They have also used this new VRM design on their high-end X299 and X399 motherboards, just with slightly better VRM components and in a higher phase count because the CPUs for those platforms can pull power in the kilowatt range.

What's Not

Pricey: If you aren't going to be using the waterblock as a waterblock, we highly recommend you look at the Maximus XI Hero WIFI if you don't need 5Gbit LAN. The motherboards have very similar VRMs, but the Hero has slightly fewer features and no waterblock, but costs more than $100 less.

Final Thoughts

Solid motherboard all around can easily be said of the ASUS Maximus XI Formula. The waterblock is very well engineered, and of high quality, the WIFI is the latest, the 5Gbit LAN is awesome, and the VRM is solid.

ASUS Maximus XI Formula (Intel Z390) Motherboard Review 83 | TweakTown.com

The motherboard is very well rounded, but you will pay a premium for the block and 5Gbit LAN, and if you need and want those features, then this motherboard might be perfect for you. We also want to mention this motherboard is a stunner; its large OLED display and it's special coating over the shield are amazing to look at if you like stylized RGB.

Performance

92%

Quality

95%

Features

96%

Value

88%

Overall

93%

The Bottom Line

If you are looking for a premium Z390 motherboard you can watercool and also have do pretty much everything else, give the Z390 Maximus XI Formula a look.

TweakTown award
93%

ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1189.00$599.00$1189.00
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:38 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles