MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review

The MSI MEG X570 ACE is a gorgeous looking board that packs equally as good-looking features. Check out the rest of our thoughts on it here.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Sat, Jul 27 2019 9:30 PM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: MSI

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 66 IMAGES

Today we take a look at our first MSI X570 motherboard, the X570 ACE. The new MEG X570 ACE is designed not to be a mid to high-end motherboard with features that are in line with motherboards like the Crosshair VIII Hero and the X570 Aorus Master, so competition is quite fierce in that regard in this segment. The new motherboard has many of the same features as many of the other high-end motherboards, so let's see what it has to offer.

Specifications

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The MEG X570 ACE features three PCI-E 4.0 M.2 slots, 2.4Gbps WIFI controller, 2.5G LAN, an Intel Gbit NIC, tons of 10Gb/s USB, and high-end audio.

Pricing

The MEG X570 ACE costs around $370

Buy at Amazon

MSI MEG X570 ACE Motherboard

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$373.11$364.95$298.24
* Prices last scanned on 9/21/2020 at 5:58 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging and MEG X570 ACE Overview

Packaging and Overview

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 03 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The box and packaging are decent and offer plenty of protection for the motherboard.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The accessory package includes four SATA6Gb/s, WIFI antenna, RGB LED Y-splitter, addressable RGB LED extension cable, cable stickers, case badge, and M.2 screws.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 06 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 07 | TweakTown.com

MSI put seven fan headers on the motherboard; all of them are hybrid PWM/DC mode fans. By default, the two headers circled in red are in PWM mode while the five circled in blue are DC mode fans. However, you can change the mode of each header individually. The motherboard has a sleek black and gold aesthetic with an infinity display over the VRM heat sink. The back of the motherboard has a small number of features on it.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The rear IO panel features two USB 3.0 ports, four USB 3.1 (10Gbps) ports three type-A ports and one type-C, clear CMOS button, Flashback button, WIFI antenna, 1G LAN, 2.5G LAN, PS/2 keyboard and mouse, and 7.1 gold plated audio outputs with S/PDIF out.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 09 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Here we find the PCI-E slot arrangement, which is very similar to many other X570 motherboards. The first top two x16 slots operate at x16 PCI-E 4.0 or x8/x8 PCI-E 4.0. The bottom x16 slot is wired to the chipset at x4 PCI-E 4.0, and there are also two PCI-E 4.0 x1 slots. There are three x4 PCI-E 4.0 slots, the top one is wired to the CPU, and the other two are wired to the chipset.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 11 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 12 | TweakTown.com

There are four SATA6Gb/s ports routed to the chipset. There is also a USB 3.0 right-angled header on top of the SATA6Gb/s ports. There is also a USB 3.0 internal header as well as two USB 2.0 headers, and a type-Cc USB 3.1 10Gbps port at the bottom of the motherboard.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 13 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 14 | TweakTown.com

At the top right corner of the motherboard we find an RGB LED header, an addressable RGB header (custom to Corsair), and debug LEDs. At the bottom right corner of the motherboard, we find a POST code display, an OC knob, a power button, and a reset button near an addressable RGB LED header.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 15 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 16 | TweakTown.com

At the bottom left corner, we find another addressable RGB LED header. There is also a fan in the chipset heat sink, and it offers Zero Frozr technology.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 17 | TweakTown.com

The heat sinks are connected by a heat pipe, so the motherboard will balance cooling capacity between the VRM and the chipset.

MSI MEG X570 ACE Circuit Analysis

Circuit Analysis

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 18 | TweakTown.com

The MEG X570 ACE shows us the goods with the heat sinks removed!

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 19 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 20 | TweakTown.com

The VRM is in a 12+2 phase configuration, and it uses doublers to get the phase count up to 12 phases. The PWM controller is the new controller is the IR35201, which outputs 6 phases to six IR3599 doublers and two phases for the two SoC phases. The power stages are IR3555 PowIRstages, which are each rated 60A.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The memory VRM is controlled by a Richtek RT8125 PWM controller, which outputs to a large single phase VRM consisting of On Semiconductor PowerPAKs, which have double the number of required MOSFETs.

MSI MEG X570 ACE Circuit Analysis Continued

MEG X570 ACE Circuit Analysis Continued

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Audio hardware includes a Realtek ALC1220 along with an ESS Sabre DAC, the SABRE9018. There is also a physical PCB divide and gold series audio capacitors.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 23 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Normal Gbit LAN comes from an i211AT Intel NIC, and 2.5Gbit LAN comes from an RTL8125. There is also a WIFI6 AX200 controller on the board.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 25 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 26 | TweakTown.com

The rear and internal USB 3.1 gen 2 ports (10Gbps) ports use a PI3EQX re-driver, and an HD3220 from Texas Instruments acts as the type-C controller.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 27 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 28 | TweakTown.com

The GL850G acts as a USB 2.0 hub for the internal headers. The PI3DBS16 act as PCI-E 4.0 quick switches, the IDT6V4 acts as the PCI-E 4.0 clock generator, and the PI3EQX16 act as PCI-E 4.0 re-drivers.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 29 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 30 | TweakTown.com

The Nuvoton NCT6797D is used as the SIO, while a nuvoton NUC126NE is used for RGB LED control.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 31 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 32 | TweakTown.com

An MXIC HX25U256 is used as a 256Mbit BIOS ROM for future compatibility for more CPUs. The NCT5635 is used as a GPIO controller for expanded fan control and other features.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 33 | TweakTown.com

The single PCI-E 4.0 quick switch is used to switch x1 PCI-E 4.0 between the two x1 PCI-E slots.

BIOS and Software

BIOS

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 34 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 35 | TweakTown.com

The UEFI BIOS is pretty much identical to the previous ones from MSI for both Intel and AMD platforms. You have both an advanced mode and an easy mode, where you will do most of your overclocking. Otherwise, the UEFI is loaded with all the latest features and settings to tune your new 3rd generation Ryzen CPU, including the FCLK. The fan control is quite good, and it's in the form of a GUI, and you have control over the chipset fan.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 36 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 37 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 38 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 39 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 40 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 41 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 42 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 43 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 44 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 45 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 46 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 47 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Software

The software includes Dragon Center, Mystic Light LED, and Nahimic 3.

Test System Setup

Steven's Motherboard Test System Specifications

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 49 | TweakTown.com
MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 50 | TweakTown.comMSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 51 | TweakTown.com

The Infinity panel over the VRM and rear IO area is quite a nice touch, and in general, there aren't too many RGB LEDs built into the motherboard, which is great for people who don't want flashy RGBs.

Overclocking

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 66 | TweakTown.com

The new CPUs don't overclock like crazy on-air, in fact, PBOC might be just as effective for mixed-use cases. However, memory and FCLK clocks can be changed, and so we are using a 3600MHz kit and seeing how high we can take all cores. We aimed for 4.2GHz, and we were able to get there with 1.415v set, and we did this because the auto LLC levels were quite good but a bit strong for us to use our typical 4.2Ghz OC.

We didn't need to alter many other settings, but we did see in the change list that the UEFI would change some OC settings to enable in the background. We like these type of auto-rules, as they make overclocking less of a hassle. We also just set XMP and we were able to easily hit 3.6GHz.

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

CINEBENCH R15

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 52 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 53 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 FPU

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 54 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 55 | TweakTown.com

ScienceMark

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 56 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 57 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Fire Strike

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 58 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Cloud Gate

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 59 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 60 | TweakTown.com

Performance is very close on all the motherboards, and that might be because AMD has locked down most of the UEFI so that motherboard vendors can't really break anything. Overall, we like this, but we also look forward to other tweaks.

System IO Benchmarks

CrystalDiskMark SATA6G:

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 61 | TweakTown.com

CrystalDiskMark M.2:

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 62 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 63 | TweakTown.com

Storage and network performance are excellent.

Audio Rating:

Sound Judgment by Ear: Excellent, the ALC1220 and ESS Sabre DAC are great. There are five ratings for audio: 1. Problems, 2. Okay, 3. Acceptable, 4. Very good, 5. Excellent

Power Consumption:

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 64 | TweakTown.com

Power consumption is decent, not many issues or problems.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot

Very nice VRM: With twelve 60A IR3555 and a powerful IR35201, the VRM on this motherboard is well equipped to handle any overclock of the new 3rd generation Ryzen CPUs. The VRM is cooled by a large heat sink that uses a heat pipe to attach to the chipset heat sink.

Networking: We find not only an Intel Gbit NIC, but also a 2.5Gbit Realtek NIC for faster network connectivity when dealing with the new Wireless AX controllers. We also find the new AX200 WIFI6 controller onboard, so we know the motherboard is ready for the future.

Solid Audio: Audio on this motherboard is also quite good, and we find the ESS Sabre 9018 DAC on the motherboard, which should provide better audio.

What's Not

A bit low on SATA: There are only four SATA ports on the motherboard, which is a bit low compared to other motherboards, but was done to allow more USB and other chipset features.

Final Thoughts

The MEG X570 ACE costs around $370, putting it within range of the ASUS Hero and the GIGABYTE Master. They all have similar features such as a 2.5Gbit NIC, a Gbit NIC, and the new WIFI6 controllers. They also all have quite nice VRMs, so it's a very tied up competition, which should come down to part selection, PCB quality, and heat sink performance.

MSI MEG X570 ACE (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 65 | TweakTown.com

Each has its own benefits, but what is clear is that all of them can handle the new high-performance CPUs. Other than the VRM, the motherboard has a nice cooling system where the chipset fan can turn all the way off, something a lot of people complained about on other motherboards.

We were very impressed with the aesthetics of the motherboard as well; black and gold were popular before, and we are impressed with the way MSI brought it back. We think this is a solid motherboard with an excellent feature set at a reasonable price.

Performance

92%

Quality

94%

Features

95%

Value

90%

Overall

93%

The Bottom Line

Loaded with an excellent VRM, solid aesthetics, great features, and excellent audio and networking, the MSI MEG X570 ACE is a solid choice for the new Ryzen platform.

TweakTown award
93%

MSI MEG X570 ACE Motherboard

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$373.11$364.95$298.24
* Prices last scanned on 9/21/2020 at 5:58 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles