GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review

It's here, it's finally here -- Zen 2! Check out our review on the AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X here!

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Sun, Jul 7 2019 8:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 95%Manufacturer: AMD

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

AMD's Ryzen 3000 series processors might just be the most anticipated CPU and biggest potential market disruptor we have seen since AMD's original Ryzen launch.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 38 IMAGES

Without a doubt, AMD made a pretty decent sized dent in their competitors' market share when they launched Ryzen, and now with many needed improvements to the Zen microarchitecture (now Zen2) and a node shrink from 12nm to 7nm, AMD is positioned quite well. However, marketing slides and talk is one thing, actually seeing the results is another, and today you get to see the fruition of AMD's promises.

Specifications

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The 3900X is a 12 core 24 thread CPU with a huge L3 cache of 64MB and a 105W TDP. The 3700X is an 8-core 16 thread CPU with a pretty large L3 cache of 32MB with a TDP of 65W. Both CPUs come with the very nice Wraith Prism RGB cooler, and both CPUs offer the same IO, the focus of which is the new PCI-E 4.0 lanes.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 03 | TweakTown.com

Major architectural changes are seen all over the place. For starters, we now have an I/O die (IOD) and up to two Core Chipset Dies (CCD) per each Ryzen 3000 series CPU, although only one might be in use. Each CPU also has double the cache of their predecessors, which not only improves performance all around, but also is targeted for improving gaming performance.

The front end and backend of the CPU have been greatly improved, and AMD is claiming around a 15% IPC improvement, which we find to be a fair estimate. AMD also focused on improving on something they do well; simultaneous multithreading.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The platform has also been greatly improved, with all PCI-E lanes from the CPU and the chipset being PCI-E 4.0 lanes. There are also up to eight USB 3.1 Gen 2 (10Gbps) ports.

Pricing

The Ryzen 3900X and 3700X are priced at $499 and $329.

Buy at Amazon

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$429.99$429.99$429.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/21/2020 at 11:45 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

The CPUs and Cooler

The CPU and Cooler

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 05 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The box for the Ryzen 9 is nicer than the box for the Ryzen 7, but both contain pretty much the same things.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 07 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Both boxes contain the Wraith Prism Cooler, the CPU, a case badge, and a warranty guide.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 09 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The CPUs are pretty basic, they look very similar to their predecessors and they are soldered, although AMD did make some optimizations to the solder between the core chiplets and the heat spreader by adding in some copper.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 11 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Bottoms of both CPUs are identical.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 13 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 14 | TweakTown.com

We have seen this CPU heat sink before, and we were impressed by not only its cooling capacity but also it's very fancy RGB LEDs. The heat sink comes with the same USB and RGB cables, but the default RGB LED lighting is nice enough for us.

Test Setup

Steven's CPU Test System Specifications

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 15 | TweakTown.com

We revamped out test bed a bit with a GPU upgrade as well, and we used new RAM from G.Skill. We opted not to use the PCI-E 4.0 SSD AMD provided for the CPU performance tests, since we can't control that on the Intel test beds or with previous AMD CPUs, and we like everything standardized.

Out of the Box Performance: CINEBENCH, wPrime, and AIDA64

CINEBENCH R15

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 160 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 170 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 FP and IOPS

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 180 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory Bandiwdth

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 190 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory Latency

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 200 | TweakTown.com

In CINEBENCH, we see that AMD's initial claims are mostly true, they have closed the gap on single core performance while significantly increasing multi-core performance. In wPrime, we see that Intel and AMD go head to head at eight cores, but we also see how powerful the 3900X is in multithreaded workloads. FPU tests show that floating point, and integer performance at the same core count still is with Intel.

In memory bandwidth, we see something odd, the write speed of AMD's 3700X, and that's because of the CDD to IOD connection, where the writes are 16B/cycle on the 3700X, but it's double that on the 3900X. AMD said this let them conserve power, which accounts for part of the lower TDP AMD aimed for. AMD says applications rarely do pure writes, but it did hurt the 3700X's performance in one of our benchmarks on the next page. Memory latency is a bit high at stock, but you can overclock the memory quite easily.

Performance: Blender, Handbrake, ScienceMark, and SuperPI

Out of the Box Performance: Blender, Handbrake, SuperPI, and ScienceMark

Blender Beta

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 210 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake UHD Video Transcoder (x264)

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 220 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake HD Video Transcoder (x264)

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 230 | TweakTown.com

ScienceMark

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 240 | TweakTown.com

SuperPI Mod 1.5

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 250 | TweakTown.com

In the Blender Benchmark, we see that Intel still has the lead at the same core count, but they definitely don't at the same price point. We see in our handbrake tests that Intel is still doing quite good, but AMD is definitely closing that gap.

We see some shockingly good memory bandwidth scores in ScienceMark, but the program also failed to recognize the new memory structure, so it went to its default test. However, AMD has made great improvements in this legacy test and is beating Intel at the same core count. SuperPI is where we see that low memory write bandwidth hurt AMD with the 3700X, and it shows how Intel's high frequency and architecture is still doing well.

Synthetic Gaming Performance: UNIGINE and 3DMark

Out of the Box Synthetic Gaming Performance: UNIGINE and 3DMark

3DMark Fire Strike

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 260 | TweakTown.com

3DMark CloudGate

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 270 | TweakTown.com

UNIGINE 4.0 720P

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 280 | TweakTown.com

UNIGINE 4.0 1080P

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 290 | TweakTown.com

AMD has a strong lead in FireStrike and Cloud Gate, and they are doing well in UNIGINE. These synthetic results are telling of the actual gaming benchmarks, as they are designed to be. AMD and Intel are going head to head.

Gaming Performance: Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, GTA:V & More

Out of the Box Gaming Performance: Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, GTA:V, Ashes of Singularity

Resident Evil 6 Benchmark

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 300 | TweakTown.com

GTA: V

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 310 | TweakTown.com

Rise of the Tomb Raider

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 320 | TweakTown.com

Ashes of the Singularity

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 330 | TweakTown.com

In Resident Evil 6, we see that AMD is doing really well, and they made huge improvements upon their previous generation. In GTA: V we see Intel still has the lead, and they do in Rise of the Tomb Raider as well. In Ashes of the Singularity, we see that all the vendors are doing okay. Intel still has a lead in many games, but AMD is catching up.

Overclocking and Power Consumption

Power Consumption

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 340 | TweakTown.com

Power consumption is really good on the 3700X, whatever AMD said they would do has been done, and even the 12 core 3900X is looking great.

Overclocking

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 35 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Both CPUs were able to do 4.3GHz all cores with 1.43v, and that is where they hit the thermal limit. We used the stock cooler as well. We set memory to XMP, but we are told by many vendors that over 4GHz on memory is possible on air. These are HUGE improvements upon the previous generation.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 37 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 38 | TweakTown.com

AMD's Ryzen Master has been slightly revamped and you can overclock the chiplets independently, and this is where most people will find a better solution.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

Here is where you can fast forward to the final section of the review, and get a quick recap and points on the Ryzen 3900X and 3700X.

What's Hot

Greatly improved performance: AMD did really well when it comes to beating their own products and helping close the gap when it comes to Intel's products. The gaming improvements are major, and the SMT improvements are impressive, to say the least.

Platform: Not only did AMD implement PCI-E 4.0 into their new chipset and CPU, they also got it working at speeds much faster than PCI-E 3.0, something we didn't think we would see for a while. We also like the inclusion of up to 8 10Gbps USB ports.

Power Efficiency : Compared to their 12nm process, the new 7nm process has greatly improved power efficiency compared to performance.

Price and Cooler : We feel that the prices AMD is charging for the new CPUs are more than fair, especially compared to AMD's previous offerings and Intel's current offerings. We also like the inclusion of a solid stock cooler, it even allows for some overclocking headroom.

What's Not

All-Core OC: We found that all core overclock levels kind of maxed out with decent stability to 4.3GHz, which is much lower than their single core boost of 4.6GHz on the 3900X. Depending on your use case it might be better to just enable PBOC. Memory overclocking is great now though.

Final Thoughts

AMD really did a lot of good things to their Ryzen series of processors, and a lot of the hype that was generated is warranted. While they don't necessarily sweep away Intel's lead when it comes to single threaded performance, they did a good job of tossing things up when it comes to gaming.

AMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 05 | TweakTown.comAMD Ryzen 3900X and 3700X (Zen2) Review 06 | TweakTown.com

They delivered on the promise of increasing their multithreaded performance; it's an interesting day when at the same core and thread count AMD's 3900X is trading blows with Intel's 9900K that operates at much higher frequencies, albeit in more real-world applications the 9900K typically wins.

We like the high-frequency single-core boosts, although we are a bit disappointed in all core overclocking potential, the new options in Ryzen Master can let you tune your CPU though. Memory overclocking has been significantly improved, and we really like the new options for the fabric clock.

We were a bit sad to see the 3700X's write performance, but AMD did mention they did it to help reduce power consumption and that most real-world workloads don't utilize memory write that much. Overall, yes AMD did excellently, they deserve applauds not only for bringing very high performance and high-value product to the market but because they have really reinvigorated competition.

Performance

95%

Quality

96%

Features

95%

Value

93%

Overall

95%

The Bottom Line

AMD really hit the bar when it comes to their new Ryzen 9 3900X and Ryzen 7 3700X, they hit it out of the park with power efficiency, performance improvements, and a total platform solution.

TweakTown award
95%

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$429.99$429.99$429.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/21/2020 at 11:45 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles