Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review

The Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse comes with iCUE software support and great feature set, most importantly its only $40.

@chad_sebring
Published Thu, Jun 13 2019 8:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Corsair

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

When it comes to mice, it seems like there are four main options. First is a pair, where you either opt for a right-handed device, or there are those with ambidextrous designs, as specifically left-handed products are as rare as hens teeth.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 99 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 22 IMAGES

The other way we see many mice is in one of two other categories. First is the feature-rich, full of bling, OMG that is expensive group, or the budget minded options, which typically do not offer much in the form of features or longevity. With what we have in hand today, Corsair has opted to try a device that is both ambidextrous, and affordable, but trying not to kill many of the things that gamers want in a mouse.

Corsair took the angle of offering a well thought out design with easily reachable buttons, and via iCUE, still, deliver as many features as they could. This is a tough battle to achieve, as many products that are budget-friendly tend not to deliver what the masses desire, and tend to be cheap, not-so-great offerings from (insert many Chinese offerings) various retail locations.

Typically if you want something that can be remapped, hold an onboard profile or two, come with top-tier components, and has such a well thought out software suite, companies tend to break the back in the pursuit of satisfying everyone.

What you are about to see is the new M55 RGB PRO from Corsair, which breaks the mold of what we typically see in the market today. While this compact, ambidextrous design might not be everyone's cup of tea upon first glance, once you see what it is and what is possible, you may well change your tune.

In what we show in this review, if nothing else, it should change your perspective on what can be had for minimal investment, while still catering to the masses, including the left-hand users out there with a select few options to choose from. Even if your preconceptions of an ambidextrous mouse are to immediately pass on such devices, we strongly urge you to come in with an open mind to see what is possible in today's market of affordable gaming mice.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 01 | TweakTown.com

The chart we have was borrowed from the reviewers guide sent along with the mouse, but there is quite a bit of information to be gleaned from it. Starting at the top, we see that the M55 RGB PRO is a wired mouse that uses a USB 2.0 connection for communication with the PC.

The sensor on board is the PixArt PAW3327, which is an optical sensor, capable of a range of 200 to 12,400 DPI, and can be adjusted in 100 DPI increments. The sensor is also shown to be able to track movement as fast as 220 inches per second, and with a force of 30 Gs.

The listed features are as follows. There is one onboard profile that can be used at a time, but many profiles can be created, you just need to open iCUE to swap which is used. There are "two" RGB zones, but the heel of the mouse is the one which displays modes and full options, as the second zone is the DPI indicator, and while it can be changed to any color, they are static. Around the M55 RGB PRO there are eight buttons in total due to the ambidextrous layout and design, and the report rate is set to 1000Hz.

On a technical level of dimensions and such, we see that the color is listed as black, which ours is, but we also saw in the guide that there is also a white and gray version as well. The M55 RGB Pro glides on three PTFE feet, one of which is indeed much larger than we typically see. The cable is 1.8 meters in length and gets the braided cover treatment, and even has a Velcro strap for convenience when packing it up for travel.

The M55 RGB PRO is 124,4mm long, it is 57.25mm wide, stands 40mm tall, and all told, minus the cable, the M55 RGB PRO weighs in at only 86 grams. The last bit of information to be had concerns the warranty of the mouse, where we can see that it is covered for two years from the date of purchase.

If what we have discussed has not got you interested, the price certainly will turn heads and make more potential customers stop and take a closer look. Typically Corsair is not that well known for budget-minded peripherals, but in the case of the M55 Pro RGB, that fact has changed. Upon release, we are told in the reviewer's guide, with no indication of change for the optional white version, that the M55 RGB PRO can be had for just $39.99, which in our mind is an amazing price for what you get.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

Corsair M55 RGB Pro Ambidextrous Multi-Grip Gaming Mouse

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$41.99$39.99$41.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:29 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging, Accessories, and Documentation

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The packaging is typical to what we see on many of the Corsair peripherals, where the use of bright yellow grabs your attention, while the rest of the box is black. On the front of the box, we find the Corsair name and logo at the top of the panel, with a near life-sized image of the M55 RGB PRO right in the center. The bottom of the panel offers the full name of the mouse, and also offers an icon showing that it is iCUE compatible.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 03 | TweakTown.com

The right side of the box is black, and without too much to discuss aside from what we saw on the front, we do see the "Control Freak" here, which we have seen previously on other Corsair mice.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Around the back of the box, we get the complete name of the mouse at the top, but this time followed by features. Corsair mentions the ambidextrous design, the high-performance sensor, its lightweight, the durable construction and braided cable, and also the plug-and-play ease of this device. Next to the features are a pair of images of the M55 RGB PRO, while below is a short list of system requirements.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The last external panel on the packaging offers up what we saw on the opposing panel, but this time the Control Freak has been removed, and in its place is yet another view of the M55 RGB PRO.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 06 | TweakTown.com

While not particularly attractive, or designed in any way to show off the mouse, the inner packaging is made of black cardboard, which encompasses the entire mouse. The mouse is also wrapped in plastic to protect shiny finishes and the matte texture of the M55, leaving the cable exposed. No matter how this looks, it has done the job it is intended for, and has protected our M55 RGB PRO in transit, leaving us with a flawless product.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Also in the box with the mouse is the literature. The guide on the left shows all of the parts of the mouse, pointed out with letters, which are then explained in text below. It them moves into connectivity and software downloading before explaining that the M55 RGB PRO is set for right-hand use by default, and offers instructions on how to convert it to left-hand usage. This information is then repeated in three other languages. As for the insert to the right, this covers all of the terms of the warranty and also offers up subsections of how they handle the various aspects of possible issues.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Gaming Mouse

Corsair RGB PRO Gaming Mouse

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The left side of the Corsair M55 RGB PRO is designed like many we have seen. An egg shape to comfort the hand while resting on it, with a pair of side buttons near the top of the mouse. Where many use coatings of various types on the sides, Corsair has opted for the highly textured rubber insert for assured grip even in the hottest conditions.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The back edge is rounded, it is higher in the middle, and by glancing at the shape of the top, it is clearly designed for ambidextrous use, with no defined lean for ergonomics we typically see. The Corsair logo on the heel of the mouse is the one "true" RGB LED zone, which can be set to any color or one of the various modes available in iCUE software.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Since the M55 RGB PRO is ambidextrous, it only makes sense that the right side view is a mirror image of what we saw on the left side. Everything you see is identical, down to button placement as well as the rubber insert with triangles used for grip.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The front of the mouse is blunt, but angles from the sides to the center shiny plastic found in the middle of the M55 RGB PRO. The main buttons have a defined gap under them, and between the main buttons is where the cable leaves the mouse.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Between the main buttons, where the shiny bit of plastic continues on to the top of the mouse, we find the lightly segmented scroll wheel with its honeycomb patterned rubber exterior, along with the DPI selector button. Between them is the second RGB LED zone, but it will stay a static color to indicate which level of DPI is currently in use.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Under the M55 RGB PRO is a trio of PTFE feet used to make moving the mouse as effortless as possible. Two average sized feet are found on the leading edge, while the back has an oversized single foot. The product sticker shows information that may be needed once the box is tossed in the trash, but it also has a notch at the bottom of it to allow the centralized eye to track any movements.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The cable that comes out of the mouse is a standard rubberized cable, which has been covered with a braided cloth to dress things up a bit. We like the inclusion of a Velcro strap to help keep the wire tidy when traveling or if it is too long for a tidy desktop appearance. At to the connection, the cover has a Corsair logo on it so it is easier to pick out in the rear I/O, and the connection itself is a USB 2.0 connection left in its natural state.

Inside the M55 RGB PRO

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 15 | TweakTown.com

All three of the feet need to be removed to open the M55 RGB PRO, as they expose the four screws holding it together. The top portion of the mouse holds a PCB with switches for five of the secondary buttons, which connects to the main PCB with a cable. The lower section is where most of the magic happens, and while many will never see it, we do like the look of the black PCBs used as well.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 16 | TweakTown.com

The PCB has been removed from the top section of the M55 RGB PRO to show what used switch wise is. For the DPI selector as well as the four side buttons, they are all backed with white CF switches. These require a fair bit of force to actuate, but are crisp, and the report is easily heard once depressed.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Under the left main button of the mouse, we find a blue Omron switch with the D2FC-F-K(50M) model number painted on it. These are lighter to actuate than the secondary switches, and the report from use is quieter. As for the scroll wheel switch, Corsair uses another CF switch to record rotation of the wheel.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 18 | TweakTown.com

In control of the tracking of movement, Corsair opted for a PixArt sensor, an optical one. We can see that the sensor chosen is the PAW3327DB, and from what we gathered from the specification earlier, it has quite a large DPI range to keep anyone happy using the M55 RGB PRO.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 19 | TweakTown.com

While Corsair covered the MCU with a sticker showing a QR-code, we peeled it to see what is under the hood, we find the NXP Semiconductors LPC11U68J. This ARM Cortex-MO based processor is 32-bit, runs at 50MHz, which is plenty of grunt to control what the M55 RGB PRO has to offer.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 20 | TweakTown.com

As we finish our way around the interior, we find a match to the previous Omron under the left button, used for the right button as well. Fifty million clicks is a lot, and should enable the M55 RGB PRO to have along lifespan for those who decide to buy one.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Once we reinstalled the screws and put the feet pack onto the mouse, we plugged it in to see how she looks. The default mode for the Corsair logo has colors shifting through the rainbow, but as to the white LED in front of the DPI indicator button, it does not change unless the DPI is adjusted. Even then it will stay a static color so that one can easily tell what the current DPI is.

iCUE Software

[img]22[/img]

Once the software is installed, after choosing the device to address from the main menu, we arrived at the profiles tab. With a list of profiles that do not go to this product, we are able to click on the plus icon near the top, and add as many profiles as needed. Of course, only one can be stored on the M55 RGB PRO at a time, but they can be stored on the PC to easily swap them out dependent on usage and need. Once created and named, you can link it to a program, create a custom icon, add a background image, even blur it or change its transparency.

[img]23[/img]

The actions menu covers a lot of options for customization. You can click on the buttons around the image of the mouse to start this process, and once the button is picked, you then go to the bottom menu. We have the Macro menu open, which has all the options one could ever need, but there is still more.

By clicking on the dropdown menu, there are thirteen additional ways to look at changing what each button can do, everything from remapping, to multimedia, even keyboard presses can all be swapped into the default functions of seven of the eight buttons, as the left click button is not addressable.

[img]24[/img]

Moving on to the lighting effects, this is where you can change the way in which the RGB zones illuminate. Notice that iCUE shows just one zone for this section, the logo. Using the dropdown, you will find seventeen options, but with the AIO in use, we matched the pattern of it to Rainbow so that all of the Corsair devices in use match. You may also change the modes or color based on what program is used, and you can even stop the lighting based on a key press or a key being released.

[img]25[/img]

The DPI section is where the DPI levels can be changed. What is shown at the bottom are the default settings, and any or all of them can be adjusted in 200 DPI increments. You also can see that each DPI level has a color associated with it, and while any static color is an option, the modes from the previous menu are not.

[img]26[/img]

The performance tab offers very little as far as changeable options. While we can view one of two images of the M55 RGB PRO displayed in the larger section above, all you can do here is tick or untick enhanced pointer precision, which is active by default, but you also get a slider for pointer speed.

[img]27[/img]

The last thing in iCUE that pertains to the M55 RGB PRO is found by selecting the settings tab found across the top of the window. Once ticked, it is where you can enable left-handed mode, enable all of the side buttons, change the polling rate, the LED brightness, change the mouse color in the software images, or update the firmware, of which we are on the latest. The lower section allows options as to what iCUE can do, but is not specific to the mouse.

Gaming and General Impressions

DOOM & PUBG

With as little time as we have had with the M55 RGB PRO, we only got a few rounds of each game in for testing. That being said, there were no glaring issues that we experienced in either title. We were able to raise the DPI to 3000 DPI and have fluid motion without any issue, and for us seemed to be the sweet spot for not only slinging lots of bullets in DOOM, but also was still accurate enough to be able to pull off an AWM shot to the face in PUBG.

The range of DPI is enough to satisfy anyone, but past 4500 DPI the mouse is way too fast for us to enjoy, let along get anywhere near that 12,400 DPI maximum. The glide is smooth, and with the weight so light, movement is near effortless as this smaller ambidextrous design fits comfortably in our hand.

Windows and Productivity

Again, DPI is the huge make or break moment when it comes to the daily grind. We edit a ton of images, and this is where accuracy is a big feature we must have. Zooming around a 4K monitor with any of the DPI options is easy enough, but again, once over 6000 DPI, we were running into issues overshooting things and running into not being able to double-click an icon, as pressing the left button would have enough force for the sensor to read movement.

We moved back down to 3000 DPI and all of the aforementioned issues were gone. As for the comfort levels, it is a nice fit in the hand, but is a tad small for us to use for the long term. With the feature set offered, and limitations like a single onboard profile and the ambidextrous shape not being our jam, we would relegate the M55 RGB PRO to laptop duty, where it can get the job done well, and with less use, be perfect due to its compact size, lightweight, and easy of wire tending for uncluttered travel with it.

Final Thoughts

For those of you out there looking for a mouse to fit under your left hand, Corsair is offering a solid option in the ever increasing ambidextrous market. We appreciate the murdered out look of the M55 RGB PRO as we got it, but comparing both options, we do like the aesthetics of the white and gray version more.

Corsair M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse Review 12 | TweakTown.com

The M55 RGB PRO is solidly built, it comes with some top-tier components on the inside, and once paired with iCUE software, it won't take long to get things perfect for your use scenarios. The RGB lighting is beautiful to have, and we do like that our AIO and mouse can share the same lighting, to unify the theme beyond what can be seen through a case window, and for what it is, the M55 RGB PRO is something we can easily recommend you try out.

There are some limitations though. Compared to other Corsair mice, we like that one could remap the mouse via software, and by enabling all of the buttons, you have eight at your command to do whatever you want. However, the limited number of onboard profiles is a bit of a disappointment, as going back to iCUE every time you want to load another profile is a pain in the butt.

We do understand it is a limitation of the available storage on the device, and that we are not paying a small fortune, but along with the compact nature of the M55 RGB PRO. Unless you have tiny hands and are into always being in the software between games or when moving from gaming to productivity, it is hard not to admit there are frustrations to be had over the long haul. Yet, at the same time, with the amount required to own the M55 RGB PRO, I guess we should not expect that much from it, and might be a tad on the over critical side, but that is what we do.

What it all comes down to, in the end, is the cost for most potential buyers of any peripheral, and we know many complain about the near $100 offerings being way too much money. This is where the M55 RGB PRO shines. At $39.99 we honestly shouldn't expect to get what we have in both the software and basic functionality of the device. You do get quite a bit of bang for the buck in this purchase. Are there mice with better feature sets are there mice with more RGB implemented? Sure, but nearly all of them are $80 or more.

Even if just relegated to secondary duty on something like a laptop, or a device to travel with leaving a mare expensive option tied to your gaming rig, it is hard to say you will be disappointed. With all of the potential as well as the pitfalls listed, one can certainly shake it all down and make the call before buying it, yet at the same time, we are having no issues recommending you try the M55 RGB PRO Ambidextrous Multi-Grip Gaming Mouse, as not many at this price range even come close to what Corsair is able to deliver.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Performance

95%

Quality

98%

Features

90%

Value

100%

Overall

96%

The Bottom Line

While a bit small for us personally, the M55 RGB PRO breaks convention. The mouse is deisgned for anyone, with iCUE software involved the feature set is quite good, but is the near $40 price point that will sell this gaming mouse to the masses!

TweakTown award
96%

Corsair M55 RGB Pro Ambidextrous Multi-Grip Gaming Mouse

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$41.99$39.99$41.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2020 at 12:29 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles