Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,453 Reviews & Articles | 64,942 News Posts

A-DATA S599 128GB Solid State Drive (Page 2)

By Chris Ramseyer from Sep 9, 2010 @ 3:35 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: A-DATA

The Packaging

content/3/5/3505_03.jpg

For the most part the S599 packaging hasn't changed from the first time we took a look at a drive from this series.

content/3/5/3505_04.jpg

On the back of the package A-DATA has listed some general information about the series and some of the features.

content/3/5/3505_05.jpg

Here we see one of the major changes to the S599, the new desktop adapter bracket. Desktop users will take comfort in being able to install their new SSD with little hassle now that A-DATA has included this special add on.

The A-DATA S599 128GB SSD

content/3/5/3505_06.jpg

The external looks of the S599 are the same as the previous generation we tested back in March. The outside casing is still the same two piece aluminum as well.

content/3/5/3505_07.jpg

The back of the case has the four mounting locations needed for most new style adapter brackets.

content/3/5/3505_08.jpg

On the side of the drive we also see the traditional mounting locations as well as the serial number of the drive.

content/3/5/3505_09.jpg

The data and power SATA connections are located where they should be and the desktop adapter also keeps the drive in line with native 3.5" drives. This is important if you use a drive sled in your computer or device.

content/3/5/3505_10.jpg

When it comes to the internals we found the standard SandForce setup with the SF-1222 controller and sixteen Intel flash modules.

content/3/5/3505_11.jpg

The back of the drive holds the other eight flash modules.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags