Apple MacBook Pro 13" (2022 with M2 Chip) Review

Is the 2022 M2-powered Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch laptop really a worthy upgrade over the previous M1 model? Join us as we take a close look and find out.

Apple MacBook Pro 13
Published Aug 16, 2022 6:25 PM CDT   |   Updated Sun, Aug 21 2022 6:28 PM CDT
Manufacturer: Apple (MNEH3LL/A)
4 minute read time
TweakTown's Rating: 91%
TweakTown award

The Bottom Line

For consumers new to the MacBook Pro, M2 is a solid entry platform, but it doesn't offer a large enough performance boost for current M1 users to upgrade.

Pros

  • + Increased performance over 2021 model
  • + Battery life
  • + Fantastic Keyboard
  • + No 2022 price rise over 2021 model

Cons

  • - Touch bar
  • - Lack of ports
  • - No upgradability
  • - Not enough performance to warrant upgrade from 2021 model

Should you buy it?

AvoidConsiderShortlistBuy

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

A touch over a year ago, we updated our aging 2013 MacBook Pro to the M1, and we were more than impressed with the uptick in performance. Since then, it has served as a daily driver for email, web browsing, and image editing.

With that, Apple recently launched the M2 in the MacBook Air, which was quickly followed by upgrades to the 13" MacBook Pro lineup, so we had to run out and grab one to see how it compares to our M1.

Specifications

Both of our MacBook Pro models are the base configuration, but Apple has updated the 2022 model slightly compared to the 2020 M1 model we now use daily. For starters, we have the Apple M2 Silicon at the heart, offering an eight-core design split 4+4 between performance and efficient cores. The GPU has been bumped up to 10 cores from 8 in the M1, while both the M1 and M2 use the same 16-core neural engine.

The M2 has been updated to support DDR5 - the model in house is equipped with 8GB of RAM. Storage is the base 256GB SSD that we had in the M1 last year. The display has gone unchanged alongside the chassis - retina display with 1600p resolution, P3 wide color at 500 nits, and supporting true tone.

Connectivity includes two Thunderbolt 4 ports that also support USB 4. WiFi6 is available as well, along with Bluetooth 5.

Pricing

The pricing of the Apple MacBook Pro 13" A2338 carries an MSRP of $1299.99 with a one-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

2022 Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M2 chip

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1249.00$1249.00$1239.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2022 at 7:04 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging, Accessories, and Overview

Packaging and Accessories

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Packaging is quite colorful, as it was with the M1 MacBook Pro.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 06 | TweakTown.com

On the backside, we have model identification to the right and regulatory info on the left.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Included with the MacBook Pro, we have the 67w USB-C charger and USB-C cable.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Our MacBook Pro was ordered in the silver finish - an all-aluminum chassis with a chrome Apple logo serving as the only branding.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The bottom too is all aluminum, removable with six screws. Four feet keep the aluminum surface off your desk, while the fine print will offer you the model number.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The left side of the MacBook Pro offers two Thunderbolt 4 ports.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 11 | TweakTown.com

On the right side, we have the 3.5mm audio jack.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Opening the MacBook, not much has changed. The trackpad is still large and centered in the chassis, while the keyboard offers the touch bar across the top.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 13 | TweakTown.com

With the lighting turned off, we can see the backlit keyboard in white.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Removing the panel, the internal layout is identical to the M1. The battery is a split design, cooling again on the left side and the M2 motherboard on the right.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Thermal images do show a bit more heat on the right side of the MacBook, with a peak temperature of 41c.

System/CPU Benchmarks

Cinebench

Cinebench is a long-standing render benchmark that has been heavily relied upon by both Intel and AMD to showcase their newest platforms during unveils. The benchmark has two tests, a single-core workload that will utilize one thread or 1T. There is also a multi-threaded test that uses all threads or nT of a tested CPU

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Single thread performance for M2 came in at 1609 while multi-thread touched 8667.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Comparing our M2 MacBook Pro to M1 alongside the latest options from Intel and AMD, the M2 is surprisingly good in 1T, taking the top spot in our chart by a good margin.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Multi-thread comparison has the M2 behind the new 6850U from AMD, and it does beat out 11th Gen Intel quite easily and slides by the 12th Gen 1260p.

BAPCo CrossMark

CrossMark™ is an easy-to-run native cross-platform benchmark that measures the overall system performance and system responsiveness using models of real-world applications. CrossMark™ supports devices running Windows, iOS, and macOS platforms.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 23 | TweakTown.com

CrossMark gives an overall score of 1523 with a breakdown of 1395 in productivity, 1865 in creativity, and 1080 for responsiveness.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 23 | TweakTown.com

The comparison puts the M2 in the pack, with both 11th and 12th Gen Intel beating it out.

Memory Performance

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 28 | TweakTown.com

Memory bandwidth reaches 58 GB/s read and 96 GB/s write.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 29 | TweakTown.com

The M2 offers a touch more write performance while the read performance has stayed the same.

Storage Performance

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 25 | TweakTown.com

I used amorphousDiskMark for storage testing. It is the CrystalDiskMark for MacOS. In this scenario, we see 1534 MB/s read and 1794 MB/s write in sequentials, with 79 MB/s read and 36 MB/s write in 4KQ1.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 26 | TweakTown.com

Storage comparison includes just the M1 and M2 MacBook Pro. In sequential, the M2 storage performance vastly tanked compared to M1, going from 3425 MB/s to 1534 MB/s.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 (2022 with M2 Chip) Review 27 | TweakTown.com

4KQ1 performance has stayed roughly the same, which is where you actually feel it in your daily activity.

Final Thoughts

When we reviewed the M1 MacBook Pro last year, the jump in performance coming from my aging 2013" Retina was huge. Diving into this year's M2 MacBook Pro, the leap in performance just isn't there. It does lead the charts in more than half of the benchmarks we ran, but at the same time, Intel and AMD are catching up, and with 13th Gen right around the corner alongside AMD Zen4, it won't be long before the gap shrinks further.

In our testing, the M2 ruled R23 with a single core score of 1609 while multi-thread had it neck and neck with 12th Gen Intel at 8667. CrossMark showed it in the middle of the pack alongside 12th Gen Intel. Memory performance overall was nearly the same as M1, even with the upgrade to DDR5 RAM.

Storage performance was rather disappointing, especially sequential, where we peaked at 1525 MB/s read. Some redemption was noted with the fantastic 4K performance, touching 80MB/s read in some cases, rivaling some of the highest-end NVMe SSD solutions on the market.

As for pricing, in a surprising move, with all the talk of inflation, Apple has not increased the price of the 13" MacBook Pro, the M2 currently carrying an MSRP of $1299.99, identical to the 2020 M1 model.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

95%

Quality

90%

Features

90%

Value

90%

Overall

91%

The Bottom Line

For consumers new to the MacBook Pro, M2 is a solid entry platform, but it doesn't offer a large enough performance boost for current M1 users to upgrade.

TweakTown award
91%

2022 Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M2 chip

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1249.00$1249.00$1239.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/30/2022 at 7:04 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Tyler joined the TweakTown team in 2013 and has since reviewed 100s of new techy items. Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

Newsletter Subscription
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.
Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles
Partner Content
Advertise With Us