ZeniMax and Xbox have trademarked IDKFA, the iconic cheat code from the original Doom

An iconic cheat code from the original Doom has been trademarked in 2024 for 'computer game software' by ZeniMax. New game announcement coming soon?

Published
Updated
2 minutes & 11 seconds read time

id Software's Doom (1994) and Doom II (1994) helped establish and define the first-person shooter genre as two of the most iconic PC games of all time. Those who grew up playing the original Doom might recall its cheat codes. IDKFA gave you all weapons, ammo, and keys while IDDQD unlocked 'God Mode.'

ZeniMax and Xbox have trademarked IDKFA, the iconic cheat code from the original Doom 02

As spotted by Clawsomegamer, ZeniMax Media has trademarked IDKFA for 'computer game software' and 'downloadable computer game software.' It's an obscure reference for a company to trademark, but it could point to IDKFA being the title for some sort of DLC or add-on for an upcoming Doom game from id Software, Bethesda, and Xbox.

With the success of the recent DOOM and DOOM Eternal reboots, there are several rumors (and leaks) suggesting that id Software not only has another Doom game in the works, but we could be getting our first look at it during next month's Xbox Games Showcase event.

With Microsoft and Xbox currently facing backlash due to studio closures and downsizing, The Verge's Tom Warren recently posted on X that "Microsoft will be banking on some new game announcements lifting the DOOM around Xbox" - hinting that the reveal is right around the corner.

Leaks have suggested that it will be a prequel of sorts, with internal leaks from Microsoft referring to it as Doom Year One. The IDKFA trademark was filed back in January of this year, so it has something to do with the next game or the Doom Year Zero DLC that popped up in leaked internal Xbox documentation.

The Xbox Games Showcase will commence on June 9 at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT / 6 pm BST / 7 pm CEST. Oh, and for those wondering, IDKFA stands for id, keys, firearms, and ammo.

Buy at Amazon

GIGABYTE Radeon RX 7800 XT GAMING OC 16G Graphics Card

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$484.00$499.00$499.00
Buy at Newegg
$484.00$499.00$499.00
* Prices last scanned on 6/14/2024 at 11:16 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Kosta is a veteran gaming journalist that cut his teeth on well-respected Aussie publications like PC PowerPlay and HYPER back when articles were printed on paper. A lifelong gamer since the 8-bit Nintendo era, it was the CD-ROM-powered 90s that cemented his love for all things games and technology. From point-and-click adventure games to RTS games with full-motion video cut-scenes and FPS titles referred to as Doom clones. Genres he still loves to this day. Kosta is also a musician, releasing dreamy electronic jams under the name Kbit.

Newsletter Subscription

Related Tags