Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,591 Reviews & Articles | 67,046 News Posts

Rainbow Six Siege's new update weighs 54GB on the PC

Rainbow Six Siege Burnt Horizon update requires 54GB on the PC

By Anthony Garreffa on Mar 5, 2019 09:27 pm CST - 1 min, 21 secs reading time

Rainbow Six Siege's big new update is nearly here, with the Rainbow Six Twitter account tweeting out the install sizes for all three platforms, with the PC version of the game requiring a rather hefty 54GB download.

The new Burnt Horizon update for the game will offer up Rainbow Six Siege players with new multiplayer content based in an Australian setting, with two new playable Australian Operators, a new Outback map, and a bunch of tweaks and changes to the overall game. Ubisoft has been working overtime on the game installation sizes as they were getting out of control, so you'll need to do this one-time massive update.

Rainbow Six Siege's new update is 54GB on the PC, but 'just' 38GB on the Xbox One and 'only' 33GB on the PS4. These updates are getting out of control, especially considering the irony of the new Burnt Horizon update being based in Australia where internet connections are reknown for being crappy. These big updates don't help, and only those like myself with NBN (National Broadband Network, where some suburbs have fiber access) or cable connections will be alright.

Still, Ubisoft explains: "To help optimize player experience for future updates, we are also in the process of restructuring how our game data is stored - this will help consolidate and reduce the overall game size. This means that the Burnt Horizon Patch will be larger than normal".

Here are the times for the new Rainbow Six Siege Burnt Horizon update:

  • PC: 9 AM EST / 14:00 UTC
  • PS4: 10 AM EST / 15:00 UTC
  • XBOX: 11 AM EST / 16:00 UTC
Anthony Garreffa

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Anthony Garreffa

Anthony is a long time PC enthusiast with a passion of hate for games to be built around consoles. With FPS gaming since the pre-Quake days, where you were insulted if you used a mouse to aim, he has been addicted to gaming and hardware ever since. Working in IT retail for 10 years gave him great experience with high-end, custom-built PCs. His addiction to GPU technology is unwavering, and with next-gen NVIDIA GPUs about to launch alongside 4K 144Hz HDR G-Sync gaming monitors and BFGDs (65-inch 4K 120Hz HDR G-Sync TVs) there has never been a time to be more excited about technology.

Related Tags