TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,228 News Posts

SilverStone Fortress FT04 Full-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the SST-FT04B-W

SilverStone Fortress FT04 Full-Tower Chassis Review
SilverStone delivers the latest in the Fortress case series. Let's have a look at the SST-FT04B-W and see what Chad thinks about it.
| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 28, 2014 2:49 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside the SST-FT04B-W

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_15_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the top left corner, with the panels out of the way, we see the pair of 5.25" bays that will require screws for mounting devices. Just to the right, there is an oblong bump that has a screw hole, and this is where the GPU support system mounts to take the weight of the cards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_16_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Moving just a little bit down the front of the chassis, we see the first of two 180mm fans, but this one has a ducting system that breaks up the airflow a bit, and directs it to the rear of the video cards, and even has a duct to help blow along their sides too.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_17_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the bottom, we now see the five-bay rack for 3.5" drives mounted to the top of a hot swap bay for 3.5" drives. The upper cage can easily be removed from here; however, the lower section requires access to the bottom of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_18_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Moving right across the floor, we now see the second hot swap bay option, although you have wiring for only one of the two. On top of this bay we have SilverStone's CPU support bracket that can adjust right and left, as well as the padded surface rising to take the weight off the socket.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_19_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking up from that bay, we now see the motherboard tray that offers wire management in stages for various sized motherboards, and offers a few places to tame the wiring. The tray is clearly marked for the standoffs, and has a ruler pressed into two sides of it for reference.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_20_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis offers eight removable expansion slot covers, but they are all held in with tiny screws. However, they do put holes in the frame for direct access to them. The exhaust is left empty, as when two AP180 fans are let loose, there is no real need for more case fans.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_21_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The power supply is hidden behind the same rail that offered us the 5.25" bays at the front. After loading the PSU through the top, only with the door off, will you see the impressed SilverStone name dressing up this otherwise plain area.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_22_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is at least 25mm of room, and in some places even more behind the tray. Consider the motherboard tray will come out, so tend to that bit before managing any wiring and locking the tray to the chassis. There is also an area to the right to stack wiring, and a hole at the top for PSU wiring to get back here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_23_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

One thing that is a lot to deal with is the amount of wiring that is involved with this chassis. We have all the main connections like the front panel wiring, USB 3.0 connector, and the audio connection, but we also have long loops of fan wiring from the controllers, and it is white and sticks out obviously.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6109_24_silverstone_fortress_ft04_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Along with the back of the top panel, the front panel, and the floor of the chassis, inside of both the door panels SilverStone has also applied sound deadening material to as much area as physically possible.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases