TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,637 News Posts

HP Envy TouchSmart 4 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review - System Performance

HP Envy TouchSmart 4 Touchscreen Ultrabook Laptop Review

HP's Envy TouchSmart 4 is put through its paces. Is it something worth our Envy? Let's find out. (NYSE:HPQ)

| Standard Laptops in Laptops | Posted: May 21, 2013 5:34 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: HP

PCMark 7

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.4.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.pcmark.com/benchmarks/

 

 

PCMark 7 is a great utility for testing a PC's all-around capabilities. It tests all aspects of the computer, from graphics performance to hard disk performance and attempts to put a score on it, which is not an easy task.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5486_73_hp_envy_touchsmart_4_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

You'll notice that our results have been cleared out due to us updating the test to the latest version. The Envy TouchSmart 4 redeems itself slightly when it comes to overall system ranking. It vastly outperforms the ASUS S500C, though it can't touch the more expensive Acer systems that use faster SSD's.

 

 

Mobile Mark 2012

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.118

Developer Homepage: http://www.bapco.com

Product Homepage: http://bapco.com/products/mobilemark2012/

 

 

MobileMark 2012 is a premier benchmarking tool produced by BAPCo. It has several different scenarios built-in and allows you to choose which to run. It runs the test on battery life so that it produces both a score for the performance aspect and a run time for battery life.

 

For our testing, we chose the Office Productivity line of testing. The "Performance Qualification Rating" and battery life (in minutes) is reported below in the charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5486_74_hp_envy_touchsmart_4_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

MobileMark shows the same as seen above. It's quite a bit more capable as an overall machine than the S500C, but can't compete with the SSD-wielding Acer systems we recently reviewed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5486_75_hp_envy_touchsmart_4_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Impressively, the HP also outperforms the ASUS in terms of battery life. In fact, the both HP systems in our chart perform the best, with the Envy TouchSmart 4 coming in just behind the older Folio 13. It manages to run for 304 minutes, or 5 hours and 4 minutes.

 

 

CrystalDiskMark

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 3.0 Technical Preview

Developer Homepage: http://www.crystalmark.info

Product Homepage: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskMark/index-e.html

Download here: http://crystaldew.info/category/software/crystaldiskmark

 

CrystalDiskMark is a disk benchmark software that allows us to benchmark 4K and 4K queue depths with accuracy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5486_76_hp_envy_touchsmart_4_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

Due to utilizing a spinning hard drive, the HP Envy TouchSmart 4 falls behind other systems that make use of an SSD. It does manage to beat out the S500C, one of its main competitors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5486_77_hp_envy_touchsmart_4_touchscreen_ultrabook_laptop_review.png

 

The same trend is seen with write speeds, though the S500C narrows the gap and actually pulls ahead in sequential write speed.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases