TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,097 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

Asustor AS-604T 4-Bay NAS Review - Asustor AS-604T NAS

Asustor AS-604T 4-Bay NAS Review
Asustor hit the market in late 2012 with several models that fit into each of the key NAS categories - today Chris looks at the 4-bay AS-604T unit, and fully puts it through its paces.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Apr 23, 2013 3:16 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Asustor

Asustor AS-604T NAS

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_10_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Asustor AS-604T. The four front bays are on the front of the NAS. The drive sleds speak volumes about the intended use, their lack of a locking mechanism means this NAS is meant to be used in a secured environment like a home or locked cabinet.

 

The front display has four action buttons next to it. The buttons scroll through the onscreen menu system to configure or monitor your AS-604T.

 

On the top left we found the power button that has a blue light strip running through it. Just under the power button is a green light strip that shows HDD activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_11_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

At the bottom left is a USB 3.0 port in the middle of a special backup button. You can place your thumb drive or external USB HDD into the slot, press the button and your files move to the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_12_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_13_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_14_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The AS-604T accepts SATA drives and the drive sleds support 2.5" and 3.5" form factor drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_15_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_16_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

System cooling comes from a single 120mm fan. A replaceable power supply fits at the top of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_17_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

We've seen several NAS products with the power supply buried deep in the unit. Power supplies are the weak link in NAS products and we think Asustor choose to make the AS-604T power supply replaceable for that reason.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_18_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

I/O connectors are located on the back in streamlined cluster.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_19_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_20_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The power supply rating is 80 Plus Bronze.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_21_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With the top off we found the extra SODIMM slot easily to reach. If you want to increase the memory capacity, the AS-604T accepts an additional 2GB DDR3 SODIMM stick for 3GB total.

 

TweakTown image content/5/4/5405_22_asustor_as_604t_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The drive sleds are sturdy with a mix of metal and plastic pieces.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases