TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,063 Reviews & Articles | 38,964 News Posts

Akitio MyCloud Duo NAS Review - Benchmarks - Test System and Setup

NAS technology has taken to the web. Now you can let your portable devices be portable beyond the home network.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: May 9, 2012 1:48 pm
TweakTown Rating: 52%Manufacturer: Akitio

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_15_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

We would like to thank the following companies for supplying and supporting us with our test system hardware and equipment: AVADirect, GIGABYTE, LSI, Corsair and Noctua.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_16_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

There are a couple of ways to use your Akitio MyCloud Duo. The first is on your personal intranet, inside of your router with your home devices. These are your typical NAS functions.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_17_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

NAS servers have been around for ages and they have always been 'web enabled'. Their cloud functions were always tedious to setup since you needed to setup ports in your router, DNS forwarding and a number of other settings. You still need to set your router, but advances in router technology make the process easier. The NAS is even easier to setup with the configuration wizard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_18_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

Getting into the system is supposed to be fairly straight forward if you know the IP address. Here you can see that right from the start the MyCloud Duo didn't like playing nice with us. This was an intermittent issue. We'll discuss it in more detail later in the review.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_19_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

Once inside the NAS you have a decent user interface, but it is fairly slow and you have to poke around to find what you want. This is a lot like the interface you also get when connected via the cloud.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_20_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

Setting up your array is straight forward and easy. We chose to just use the AUTO function since we wanted redundant data. The NAS did take a very long time to perform the array build, something we didn't expect from a two drive, RAID 1 array.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_21_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

Once everything was configured, programmed, arrays built we were able to spend time with the user interface. One thing we didn't like though was not having the ability to drag and drop to the interface window. Most NAS appliances don't allow you to do that either, but most are not built so heavily around a web interface either.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4713_22_akitio_mycloud_duo_nas_review.png

 

My Network Places wasn't much of a help either as the MyCloud Duo rarely appeared here. From time to time it did show up. We ended up just mapping a few folders in My Computer so we could access data and start our testing.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases