TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,918 Reviews & Articles | 38,130 News Posts

Thecus N4200 4-Bay NAS Server - The Thecus N4200

Two exclusive features are just the starting point for this innovative new NAS appliance.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: May 4, 2010 1:58 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Thecus

The Thecus N4200

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_09.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Thecus N4200. With the power off you can't really see the displays all that well, but you can see the front door, power button, USB ports and buttons for controlling the NAS without a client machine.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_10.jpg

 

With the front door open we can see the drive sleds that lock individually. Each drive sled can now accept either a 3.5 or 2.5 inch form factor drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_11.png

 

During startup the dual screens come to life and show the systems status. With the new OLED screen you can read what is going on from across the room since the image quality has so much detail.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_12.jpg

 

Looking at the side of the N4200 we see that it uses a steel exterior; no plastic here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_13.jpg

 

Nearly all of the connections are made in the back of the unit. The N4200 has an external power supply which keeps the drive temperatures down without the need to run the fan at high speeds. Quad USB ports are also located in the back for printers and additional battery back up units. In the upper middle is the area where the BBM gets installed and at the top Thecus included a PCIe slot for future add-on components.

 

Dual gigabit Ethernet is also standard and if you run a Link Aggregated switch in your office you can take advantage of running a 2 gigabit link to your network backbone. Rounding out the view from the back is dual eSATA ports.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_14.jpg

 

Thecus includes several paper notices and a quick start guide as well as a full manual on a disk and another disc with backup software that is free. Also provided is a couple of sets of keys for locking the drives and screws for mounting drives in the N4200.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3264_15.jpg

 

The N4200 does use an external power supply and we see that here with the power cord and battery that will keep you out of trouble.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases