TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,068 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Thermaltake Element V Full Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Thermaltake has us looking at the Element V today. Let's see if that "V" stands for Victory!

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 4, 2010 2:42 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_24.jpg

 

Assembling things has been easy, and even the optical drive and HDD cages go in and out pretty easily. Actually, a little too easily! The tool-less mechanisms are nice but don't securely hold things in place. I strongly suggest if you move your case at all, to back up the tool-less clips with the provided screws. Once the screws are in, everything is solid as a rock and ready for use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_25.jpg

 

The only change to the front is that you will be looking at whatever drives you have in place. No way are you going to hide a beige drive in this rig!

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_26.jpg

 

Wiring took a bit of time to get things done in sections. Rerouting some wires and sectioning off the front I/O wires helped a bunch. Getting the 8-pin power wire up the back was enough to make the panel bulge, but there is plenty of room up front to hide the bulk of your wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_27.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis fills out nicely; I just wish the included I/O plate was a bit less specific. I lost my I/O shield for my Foxconn some time ago and it would have been nice if it had worked. With the keys gone, the metal tab will hold your keyboard and mouse wires securely to the chassis, as it is screwed in place from the inside.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_28.jpg

 

With the time and effort I put into wiring, I feel I was rewarded with a really clean overall build. There is plenty of room left over with this full ATX motherboard and a large graphics card. I see no issues getting any current card on the market into this chassis. The PSU support worked like a charm and there is still a ton of room for water cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_29.jpg

 

Closing up shop and locking the door behind you is simple. The thumbscrews in the back aren't needed to hold the door in place, but do make for a more secure closure. The little window doesn't allow a view of much but the RAM, and of course the glow of the LED's from the fans. The vented area does allow for a view of the components and clears up once the fan is in motion.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_30.jpg

 

I chose to use the blue LEDs to get the lit pictures, but you have access to red, blue, green, and all of them or "twinkle" as most manufacturers label it. As I mentioned earlier, the front LED fan can ride in this spot or the one below, the choice is yours.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_31.jpg

 

The side fan produces quite a glow; the bit of red is the glow from the Foxconn's LED post code reader. As I said, you can definitely see the blue glow through the window and I can see if my CPU fan is spinning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_32.jpg

 

Taking a step back to take it all in!

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases