TRENDING NOW: AMD Radeon RX 6900 XT specs: Navi 21 GPU with 16GB could cost $499

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review

An actual OC button. An LCD display. Kick ass performance. COLORFUL surprises with its custom RTX 2080 SUPER.

@anthony256
Published Thu, Aug 15 2019 12:05 PM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 96%Manufacturer: COLORFUL

Introduction & Pricing

I've been a fan of COLORFUL for many years now and have been nurturing that relationship with the company for many years, having a few exclusives here and there with their iGame graphics cards.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 516 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 58 IMAGES

I have been working tirelessly with them for months to get samples into my hands here at TweakTown for the RTX 20 series cards so here we are -- the world exclusive review on the COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 Vulcan X OC-V, one of the best custom RTX SUPER graphics cards on the market.

COLORFUL is a Chinese company that makes all sorts of products, but their iGame line of custom GeForce GTX and RTX series graphics cards are in a league of their own. The design of the cards is striking but not over-the-top, while the best parts of the card include one of the best-looking custom coolers and even an LCD display.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 510 | TweakTown.com

This puts COLORFUL's new iGame iGame GeForce RTX 2080 Vulcan X OC-V into the same league as MSI's best custom card in the GeForce RTX 2080 Ti LIGHTNING Z which also has an LCD display.

COLORFUL goes old-school with its new school take on the custom RTX 2080 SUPER graphics cards with a freaking OC button on the I/O of the card. This reminds me of my 486 days when I would have a Turbo button on the PC, but now we have one on the back of a custom graphics card... it makes COLORFUL stand out from the crowd of custom graphics cards.

Buy at Amazon

Crysis Maximum Edition

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$17.99$17.99$17.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/22/2020 at 7:52 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Specs: Turing GPU & Fastest GDDR6 Ever

Full TU104 GPU

NVIDIA is using the "full implentation" of the TU104 GPU with its new GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER, with the full 3072 CUDA cores and 48 RT cores versus the 2944 CUDA cores and 46 RT cores in the RTX 2080.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 519 | TweakTown.com

The TU104 GPU is clocked at up to 1650Mhz base and 1815MHz boost on the GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER, while the TU104 in full on the RTX 2080 SUPER offers up 11.2TFLOPs of compute performance versus the 10.1TFLOPs on the original RTX 2080. This results in Tensor FLOPs at 89 TFLOPs fersus 81 TFLOPs.

But it's the faster GDDR6 memory on the RTX 2080 SUPER that is exciting.

Fastest GDDR6 Ever

NVIDIA injected some faster GDDR6 memory into the RTX 2080 SUPER with its 8GB of GDDR6 clocked at 15.5Gbps, up from the 14Gbps on the regular RTX 2080. It has the same 256-bit memory bus which results in 496GB/sec of memory bandwidth compared to the 448GB/sec on the RTX 2080.

I overclocked my sample of the MSI RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO and its 8GB of GDDR6 right up to 18Gbps... with some very interesting results.

SWORIZER 2.0 Cooling

SWORIZOR 2.0 Cooling

COLORFUL has a great looking card with a mean cooler underneath, with its in-house SWORIZER 2.0 cooler keeping things chilly with the COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 800 | TweakTown.com

The Vulcan family of graphics cards from COLORFUL has been upgraded, with multi-zone RGB areas lighting up the card that can be synced up or individually lit. You can customize this in software, as well as the iGame LCD Monitor 2.0 on the card.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 807 | TweakTown.com

Here the cooler is broken down into its separate components.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 808 | TweakTown.com

The SWORIZER 2.0 cooler itself, with iGame Vacuum Copper Plate Technics' that has a huge contact area for the GPU, with 7 heat pipes making sure temperatures are low.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 809 | TweakTown.com

Speaking of temperature, underneath the central part of the armor is a smart temperature induction system that monitors cooling status on the card. It works in real-time to give you temperatures as they change.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 810 | TweakTown.com

Once the temperature of the card changes, the fans will spool up and keep the card cool -- but on low loads, like when you're not gaming and just watching a video or browsing the web, the fans will sit idle.

Detailed Look

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 515 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 514 | TweakTown.com

COLORFUL provides a great-looking box for its iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V, but the card itself is where the magic happens.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 502 | TweakTown.com

In all its glory -- COLORFUL's iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V from the front, and its triple-fan SWORIZER 2.0 cooler.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 504 | TweakTown.com

The back of the card looks just as awesome, if not better - I seriously love the styling on the back of the card. COLORFUL's use of the RGB light strip on the back with the option of showing the power usage on the card through the light strip brightness... it looks awesome in person, with some shots of this below and throughout the review.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 523 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 503 | TweakTown.com

The iGame LCD Display 2.0 is a great addition to the card, something that again brings it to the lofty heights of the MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti LIGHTNING Z.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 500 | TweakTown.com

I/O connectivity is the same as other RTX 2080 SUPER graphics cards, but the big thing here is the OC button.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 511 | TweakTown.com

Yep -- there's the OC button, something we'll be playing with more in a follow-up article to this review.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 518 | TweakTown.com

Chunky heat sink, and the iGame LCD once again.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 509 | TweakTown.com

You'll need dual 8-pin PCIe power connectors to power the card.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 508 | TweakTown.com

COLORFUL is using some thick thermal pads here, too.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 506 | TweakTown.com

I love the red styling against the black on the end of the card, a nice touch at the end here.

Test System Specs

Our New GPU Test Rig

Welcome to the latest revision of our GPU test bed, with our system being upgraded from the Intel Core i7-7700K to the Core i7-8700K. The CPU is cooled by the Corsair H115i PRO cooler, with the 8700K overclocked to 5GHz. We've stayed with GIGABYTE for our motherboard with their awesome Z370 AORUS Gaming 7.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1060 | TweakTown.com

We approached our friends at HyperX for a kit of their kick ass HyperX Predator DDR4-2933MHz RAM (HX429C15PB3AK4/32), with 2 x 8GB sticks for a total of 16GB DDR4-2933. The RAM stands out through every minute of our testing as it has beautiful RGB lights giving the system a slick look while benchmarking our lives away, while the Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 motherboard joins in with its own array of RGB lighting.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1061 | TweakTown.com

Detailed Tech Specs

  • CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
  • Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H115i PRO
  • MB: Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
  • RAM: 16GB (2x8GB) HyperX Predator DDR4-2933
  • SSD: 1TB OCZ RD400 NVMe M.2
  • SSD: 512GB OCZ RD400 NVMe M.2
  • PSU: InWin 1065W PSU
  • Chassis: In Win X-Frame
  • OS: Windows 10 Pro x64

Additional Images

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1063 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1064 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1065 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 1066 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - Synthetic

3DMark Fire Strike - 1080p

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4000 | TweakTown.com

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 03 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 1440p

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 02 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 4K

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 01 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4001 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 04 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy Extreme

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1080p

Heaven is an intensive GPU benchmark that really pushes your silicon to its limits. It's another favorite of ours as it has some great scaling for multi-GPU testing, and it's great for getting your GPU to 100% for power and noise testing.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1440p

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 4K

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 09 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 1080p

1080p Benchmarks

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 21 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 23 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 24 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 25 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 1440p

1440p Benchmarks

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 51 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 53 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 54 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 55 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 4K

4K Benchmarks

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 111 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 113 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 114 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 115 | TweakTown.com

Thermals & Power

Thermals

COLORFUL's new iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V is one of the coolest-running graphics cards you can buy, showing that the Chinese company isn't just playing around -- it means business with its cards and rightfully so. This is a kick ass result of just 63C under load.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 12 | TweakTown.com
COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 512 | TweakTown.com

Power Consumption

Power consumption isn't going to vary too much, with COLORFUL sipping a little less than the RTX 2080 SUPER Founders Edition, and a little less than some of the higher-end cards. We'll have some overclocking results on this card soon.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Final Thoughts

COLORFUL has blown me away with its iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V, which has now become my favorite RTX 2080 SUPER graphics card.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 523 | TweakTown.com

It looks great, brings back nostalgia with its physical OC button, has the best-looking backplate ever, and runs super-cool at just 63C under load.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 517 | TweakTown.com

Oh, and then there's the iGame LCD Display 2.0 on top of the card and the 'outer space' texture that COLORFUL uses on the card. It looks great in a gaming rig. The LCD can be customized with other data, with software available to download to tweak it -- with the RGB light strip having different modes like flowing and breathing, which once again looks awesome in a PC with RGB lighting at night.

COLORFUL needs more overseas recognition and needs to push its products into Western markets more, which is something I'd love to see going forward. This is why I've been so passionate in getting their cards into my hands as I think they deserve much more attention than they get right now.

COLORFUL iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V Review 507 | TweakTown.com

I've got a bunch of different brands of custom RTX SUPER graphics cards here from MSI, ZOTAC, GIGABYTE, and ASUS and the COLORFUL is by far the most unique. COLORFUL deserves big praise for its iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V, and it gets it from me. I need now want to build a new gaming PC with two of them in NVLink... that would look so mean.

COLORFUL -- keep kicking ass, I'm looking forward to seeing where you guys go next!

Performance (overclocking, power)

95%

Quality (build, design, cooling)

100%

General Features (display outputs, etc)

95%

Bundle, Packaging & Software

95%

Overall

96%

The Bottom Line

COLORFUL's new iGame GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER Vulcan X OC-V is one of the best custom cards available. OC button, kick-ass thermals, AWESOME styling and a freakin' LCD display. Wow. Color me impressed.

TweakTown award
96%

Crysis Maximum Edition

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$17.99$17.99$17.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/22/2020 at 7:52 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Anthony is a long time PC enthusiast with a passion of hate for games built around consoles. FPS gaming since the pre-Quake days, where you were insulted if you used a mouse to aim, he has been addicted to gaming and hardware ever since. Working in IT retail for 10 years gave him great experience with custom-built PCs. His addiction to GPU tech is unwavering.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles