GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499

NVIDIA offers TITAN Xp levels of performance for just $499 with the new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER.

@anthony256
Published Mon, Jul 8 2019 10:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 90%Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Introduction & Pricing

I started with the slower of the two new SUPER cards in my coverage today, with my review on NVIDIA's new-and-very-exciting GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER graphics card which is just $399 and offers some kick ass performance over the original RTX 2060.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For 9 526 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 48 IMAGES

But there were two cards as I said, with the second being the GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER which is a souped up version of the RTX 2070 and offers TITAN Xp performance for just $499. It's an incredible card for the money, and something I'll be better directly comparing against AMD's upcoming Radeon RX 5700 and RX 5700 XT which are based on the new Navi GPU architecture. Those articles will come after 7/7 when the NDA drops for AMD's new cards, so NVIDIA has a week of SUPER hype to ride before AMD can launch its new cards.

NVIDIA's new GeForce RTX SUPER graphics cards are virtually Ti releases that are named SUPER, since the original GeForce RTX 2060 and RTX 2070 launched 9 months ago. The new SUPER cards represent the refinement of Turing over these 9 months, and are beefier versions of their predecessors in multiple ways -- especially the RTX 2060 SUPER.

The new GeForce RTX SUPER cards are positioned even better for the future of gaming, including the exciting and constantly expanding range of ray tracing capable games. At E3 2019 when NVIDIA unveiled the new SUPER cards to me, we were briefed ahead of time that Cyberpunk 2077 would feature real-time ray tracing technology on GeForce RTX graphics cards. What a huge way to unveil and present SUPER with one of the hottest games of 2020 and one of the most anticipated games of all time powered by real-time ray tracing on GeForce RTX.

Sadly I didn't have anywhere near enough time to test anything with ray tracing as I had just moved office space in the week of the GeForce RTX release and instead spent my time re-benchmarking everything (all cards, all resolutions) on the new drivers. Once I'm finished this I'll go into some ray tracing benchmarks with Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Metro Exodus, and Battlefield V.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 517 | TweakTown.com

After that, comes the new Navi cards with AMD's new Radeon RX 5700 series that'll I will be testing head-to-head against SUPER this week. In the meantime I'll build my new Zen 2-based AMD Ryzen 7 3700X + X570 chipset and PCIe 4.0-capable motherboard and SSD system. I'll test the new SUPER cards and Navi cards all in the Ryzen 7 3700X and verse it against the scores in my Core i7-8700K test bed used here for my graphics card reviews.

Pricing & Availability

NVIDIA is making its new GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER and RTX 2070 SUPER available starting July 9, as for pricing we're looking at $399 for the RTX 2060 SUPER and $499 for the 2070 SUPER.

Buy at Amazon

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super Founders Edition

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$739.91$699.00$569.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 8:40 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Specs: Turing GPU & No GDDR6 Upgrade

TU104 - The Same GPU as RTX 2080

Just like the GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER has the same TU106 as the RTX 2060 had, the new RTX 2070 SUPER uses the TU104 GPU which is the same as the RTX 2080 -- up from the TU106 used on the normal RTX 2070. And again, like its RTX 2060 SUPER sibling the new RTX 2070 SUPER has an upgraded GPU with more SMs and CUDA cores, as well as higher GPU clocks.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 601 | TweakTown.com

NVIDIA's new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER has 2560 CUDA cores over the 2304 CUDA cores in the RTX 2060 while there's now 40 SMs over the 36 SMs in the RTX 2060. The GPU clocks increase a fair amount as well with the new RTX 2070 SUPER with a base GPU clock of 1605MHz versus the 1410MHz on the RTX 2070 while the boost GPU clocks go up to 1770MHz versus the 1620MHz on the normal RTX 2070.

We have 9.1 TFLOPs of FP32 compute performance on the RTX 2070 SUPER against the 7.5 TFLOPs on the RTX 2070, with 72 TFLOPs of Tensor FLOPs on the RTX 2070 SUPER versus the 60 TFLOPs on the regular RTX 2070.

No GDDR6 Upgrades Here

Unlike the GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER, the new RTX 2070 SUPER has no upgrades to its 8GB of GDDR6. We have 448GB/sec of memory bandwidth on the RTX 2070 SUPER and even when writing this review, the 448GB/sec on the RTX 2060 SUPER feels so ridiculously high that I genuinely double checked it as I was writing this part of the review. Crazy stuff. But sorry, no upgrades in the RTX 2070 SUPER and its 8GB of GDDR6.

Revised Look, Same Cooler

NVIDIA upgraded both the hardware and the styling of their Founders Edition coolers with the launch of the GeForce RTX series graphics cards last year, which became on of my favorite-looking GeForce RTX cards of the entire library of cards out there now.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 517 | TweakTown.com

With the introduction of the new GeForce RTX SUPER graphics cards NVIDIA has tweaked the styling just a little, but enough for it to be appreciated. I really dig the SUPER branding on the front of the card with its stylish green box, but it's the mirror finish on the front that really stands out. Having my gaming PC reflect off the card really looks cool in a system, especially when you've got RGBs blinging out all over the place -- they're now going to reflect on your new RTX 2060 SUPER or RTX 2070 SUPER graphics card.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 509 | TweakTown.com

Detailed Look

NVIDIA changed the look and style of both the retail packaging of its RTX Founders Edition cards, and then made some small but great visual tweaks to the RTX 2060/2070/2080 SUPER graphics cards. The retail packaging is identical to the RTX 2060/2070/2080/2080 Ti:

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 521 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 509 | TweakTown.com

NVIDIA has slightly updated the style of the GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER just like it did with the RTX 2060 SUPER, with a shiny reflective/mirror front, I really like the new style.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 510 | TweakTown.com

The back of the RTX 2070 SUPER is identical to the RTX 2060 with its green SUPER branding and silver backplate.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 512 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 513 | TweakTown.com

This is where things get different for the RTX 2070 SUPER as it has 8+6-pin PCIe power connectors.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 515 | TweakTown.com

We have the same 2 x DP 1.4, 1 x HDMI 2.0, 1 x DVI, and 1 x VirtualLink connector as the RTX 2060 SUPER and other RTX 20 FE cards.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 514 | TweakTown.com

Another thing is different here versus the RTX 2060 SUPER, is that the new RTX 2070 SUPER is NVLink (SLI) capable.

Test System Specs

Our New GPU Test Rig

Welcome to the latest revision of our GPU test bed, with our system being upgraded from the Intel Core i7-7700K to the Core i7-8700K. The CPU is cooled by the Corsair H115i PRO cooler, with the 8700K overclocked to 5GHz. We've stayed with GIGABYTE for our motherboard with their awesome Z370 AORUS Gaming 7.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1060 | TweakTown.com

We approached our friends at HyperX for a kit of their kick ass HyperX Predator DDR4-2933MHz RAM (HX429C15PB3AK4/32), with 2 x 8GB sticks for a total of 16GB DDR4-2933. The RAM stands out through every minute of our testing as it has beautiful RGB lights giving the system a slick look while benchmarking our lives away, while the Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 motherboard joins in with its own array of RGB lighting.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1061 | TweakTown.com

Detailed Tech Specs

  • CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
  • Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H115i PRO
  • MB: Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
  • RAM: 16GB (2x8GB) HyperX Predator DDR4-2933
  • SSD: 1TB OCZ RD400 NVMe M.2
  • SSD: 512GB OCZ RD400 NVMe M.2
  • PSU: InWin 1065W PSU
  • Chassis: In Win X-Frame
  • OS: Windows 10 Pro x64

Additional Images

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1063 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1064 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1065 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 1066 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - Synthetic

3DMark Fire Strike - 1080p

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4000 | TweakTown.com

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 01 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 1440p

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 116 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 4K

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 03 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4001 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 04 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy Extreme

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 05 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1080p

Heaven is an intensive GPU benchmark that really pushes your silicon to its limits. It's another favorite of ours as it has some great scaling for multi-GPU testing, and it's great for getting your GPU to 100% for power and noise testing.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 07 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1440p

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 08 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 4K

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 09 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 1080p

1080p Benchmarks

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 21 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4004 | TweakTown.com

Rainbow Six: Siege has been a strong entry into the franchise, popular for its realistic feel and great graphics. Stable as a rock for benchmarking, right up to 3440x1440 and 4K.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 22 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 23 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 244 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 25 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 1440p

1440p Benchmarks

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 51 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4004 | TweakTown.com

Rainbow Six: Siege has been a strong entry into the franchise, popular for its realistic feel and great graphics. Stable as a rock for benchmarking, right up to 3440x1440 and 4K.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 522 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 53 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 54 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 55 | TweakTown.com

Benchmarks - 4K

4K Benchmarks

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 111 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4004 | TweakTown.com

Rainbow Six: Siege has been a strong entry into the franchise, popular for its realistic feel and great graphics. Stable as a rock for benchmarking, right up to 3440x1440 and 4K.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 112 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 113 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 114 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 115 | TweakTown.com

Thermals, Power, Noise

Thermals

I spent just as much time on the higher-end GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER Founders Edition as I did its cut down RTX 2060 SUPER sibling, with the card staying c lose to the maximum temperature of the RTX 2060 SUPER at around 70-71C or so max. Again, making some tweaks to the fan profile will help this -- as will manual fan adjustment.

Power Consumption

NVIDIA's new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER Founders Edition consumes 40W more total system power than the RTX 2060 SUPER with 290W total, compared to 250W on the RTX 2060 SUPER. Again, I'll go into more detail on power consumption comparisons in the upcoming Radeon RX 5700 series reviews, comparing them against the new SUPER graphics cards in a 12nm vs 7nm GPU battle.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 200 | TweakTown.com

Overclocking

This is something I didn't have much time for since I re-benchmarked every single run of my suite, and will be providing some OC results after this review has gone live. I do know that I could easily hit over 2000MHz on the GPU with a 100-150MHz overclock while the GDDR6 could easily have another 1Gbps pumped into it for a total of 15Gbps. I will do more testing of this versus some of the third-party cards that will be turning up soon.

Performance Thoughts

1080p Performance Thoughts

The new SUPER graphics cards from NVIDIA offer some great improvements over their non-SUPER predecessors, with the RTX 2070 SUPER rolling through with its own improvements on the RTX 2070 at 1080p. We are looking at Shadow of War on the RTX 2070 SUPER pushing out 147FPS average compared to the stock RTX 2070 with 135FPS, an increase of 8.8% and 17FPS (or 13%) over the RTX 2060 SUPER.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 509 | TweakTown.com

The new RTX 2070 SUPER also beats out the TITAN Xp and its 138FPS, a card that used to sell for $1199. Our new graphics card crushing test in Metro Exodus sees the souped-up RTX 2070 SUPER scoring 76FPS at 1080p compared to the 68FPS on the RTX 2070 and 65FPS on the RTX 2060.

1440p Performance Thoughts

Ramping up to 2560x1440 we see the RTX 2070 SUPER pulling away from the RTX 2070 and RTX 2060, but the new RTX 2060 SUPER stays closer to the two higher-end cards than it does the RTX 2060. The new RTX 2070 SUPER scores 108FPS at 1080p in Shadow of War comapred to 99FPS on the regular RTX 2060 and 93FPS on the RTX 2060 SUPER, while the lower-end RTX 2060 begins losing with just 72FPS. The new RTX 2070 SUPER beats the TITAN Xp with 100FPS versus 108FPS in Shadow of War at 1440p.

Metro Exodus sees the RTX 2070 SUPER scoring 58FPS versus the 51FPS on the regular RTX 2070, while the RTX 2070 pushes out 50FPS and stays close to the RTX 2070 SUPER, the regular RTX 2060 drops right off the map with 44FPS average at 1440p.

4K Performance Thoughts

I didn't talk about 4K performance in my review of the GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER Founders Edition, but I will with the RTX 2070 SUPER. Starting with Shadow of War at 4K we have the RTX 2070 SUPER performing well with 73FPS average, up from the 66FPS on the RTX 2070 and the 60FPS on the RTX 2060 SUPER. The TITAN Xp drops behind to 66FPS, matching the performance of the RTX 2060 SUPER - with the RTX 2070 SUPER pulling away by 7FPS.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 521 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus destroys all graphics cards at 1080p and 1440p but 4K is a totally different beast, destroying the RTX 2070 SUPER down to 36FPS. The RTX 2070 has 33FPS, while the RTX 2060 SUPER spits out 31FPS. Shadow of the Tomb Raider hits the magic 60FPS mark at 4K Ultra, more playable than the 52FPS on the RTX 2070 and near equal to the 61FPS on the TITAN Xp.

What's Hot, What's Not

SUPER Performance:

The new SUPER graphics cards from NVIDIA really are a great kicker in the Turing GPU range, with the new RTX 2060 SUPER being an even more impressive upgrade over its predecessor, while the RTX 2070 SUPER is a good, but not OMG wow upgrade oiver the RTX 2070. Still, to see this additional performance in all areas in all games at all resolutions, you can't complain about that. NVIDIA is also doing this all on the 12nm node versus AMD hitting the 7nm node on the new Navi-based Radeon RX 5700 series cards.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 517 | TweakTown.com

$1199 TITAN Xp Performance For $499:

Yeah, it's pretty insane... NVIDIA debuted the Pascal-based TITAN Xp for $1199 and used it as a super-crazy high-end version of the GTX 1080 Ti. The new RTX 2080 Ti is kinda like the 'new TITAN Xp' in terms of the huge performance gap between the RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Ti, so to get what people paid $1199 not too long ago for $499 in the new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER? That's a kick ass deal.

Ray Tracing:

I'm only warming up to ray tracing and will have a larger article that dives into ray tracing performance of Metro Exodus, Battlefield V, and Shadow of the Tomb Raider. I still think having the ability to play ray tracing-capable games is a good one, and with the additional muscle that the RTX 20 SUPER cards brings, ray tracing now matters. Expect more on this in the next week or two.

Game Bundle:

NVIDIA is giving away copies of two massive games in Wolfenstein: Youngblood and Control with all RTX SUPER series graphics cards, with Control launching on August 27 and featuring some of the best real-time ray tracing effects yet. I personally tried out Control running on a GeForce RTX SUPER series graphics card at the SUPER unveiling event during E3 2019 a couple of weeks ago and spent time turning RTX off and on. The results were nothing short of amazing in Control, so that's a nice bonus game with SUPER cards to get.

Custom Cards Are Doing Well:

As I was writing the end of this review my testing on MSI's new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING X TRIO was complete, and I can't wait to share the results with you guys. This is something I was looking forward to, and I'm not disappointed. Spoiler alert: the RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING X TRIO runs at just 66C with fans on default speeds when heavily overclocked, and delivers near RTX 2080 performance.

via GIPHY

via GIPHY

Yep.

What's Not

RTX 2060/2070 Will Be Phased Out: It looks like there won't be a price drop of the current GeForce RTX 2060 and RTX 2070 as whatever is left of them will be it, as they'll slowly be replaced with the newer, and much better SUPER versions. This doesn't mean the RTX 2060 and RTX 2070 are discontinued immediately, but it would've been nice to have cards at $50-$100+ increments from the RTX 2060 through to the RTX 2080 Ti.

RTX 2060 SUPER Is A Bigger Upgrade: NVIDIA put a lot of work into the RTX 2060 SUPER and it breaks away from the current RTX 2060 in a big way, but the same can't be said for the RTX 2070 SUPER. It has great performance, but the RTX 2060 SUPER upgrade on its memory bandwidth over the RTX 2060 is a huge change.

Final Thoughts

When it comes to explaining the new SUPER cards in an easy way, the performance numbers tell the story themselves. We have improved performance on the RTX 2070 SUPER over the RTX 2070 across the board, in literally everything we tested it beat the RTX 2070 and edged closer to the RTX 2080.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER: TITAN Xp Performance For $499 526 | TweakTown.com

NVIDIA is only selling the new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER going forward, with the new $499 priced card set at $100 higher than its RTX 2060 SUPER sibling. There will be a new RTX 2080 SUPER introduced later this month for $699. I think this card will be similar to the RTX 2060 SUPER in the way it made a big leap over its non-SUPER model -- the RTX 2080 SUPER will hopefully sit much closer to the RTX 2080 Ti.

All-in-all, the new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER is a great release and a formidable foe even for the new Radeon RX 5700 XT that AMD has introduced, its first graphics card to market on the Navi GPU architecture and its second journey into the 7nm world with GPUs (Vega 20 on the Radeon VII was on 7nm).

I did some exclusive RTX 2070 SUPER in NVLink benchmarks as well if you want to check those out, with a huge 86% increase in performance at 4K in Shadow of the Tomb Raider being a stand out there.

Performance (overclocking, power)

90%

Quality (build, design, cooling)

90%

General Features (display outputs, etc)

90%

Bundle, Packaging & Software

90%

Overall

90%

The Bottom Line

NVIDIA's new GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER is here and provides $1199 performance from the TITAN Xp for $499, while custom cards are around the corner and kick even more ass.

TweakTown award
90%

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super Founders Edition

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$739.91$699.00$569.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 8:40 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Anthony is a long time PC enthusiast with a passion of hate for games built around consoles. FPS gaming since the pre-Quake days, where you were insulted if you used a mouse to aim, he has been addicted to gaming and hardware ever since. Working in IT retail for 10 years gave him great experience with custom-built PCs. His addiction to GPU tech is unwavering.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles