GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review

HyperX's Alloy FPS RGB is a feature rich mechanical keyboard that comes in quite reasonably priced, we believe many gamers will enjoy this keyboard!

@chad_sebring
Published Fri, May 31 2019 10:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 94%Manufacturer: HyperX

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

In as many configurations, this being the fifth now, as HyperX has offered in the Alloy mechanical keyboards series, we have seen many attempts to put forth the perfect device. There are some stipulations to that quest, as not all users prefer the same switch type, nor do all users need a 104-key layout.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 99 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 35 IMAGES

To help combat user preference, many of the keyboards have come with switch options on all but two models, where usually Cherry MX red, blue, and brown switches are the choices to sort through. However, every once in a while, HyperX also chooses to go with one switch only for the design, and what we have now happens to be one of them.

No matter the layout or the switches used, there are many common features that the Alloy lineup brings to the table. All of the Alloy models sport a frameless design, which exposed the switches so that the LED lighting shines better and further. All of the Alloy keyboards have LED lighting, but only some of them are RGB LED backlit, and the one we have for you now falls into the latter category.

All of them offer a steel top plate, all of them work with NGenuity software, all have detachable cables, and all but one model comes with a charging port on the back edge. Of course, while the software delivers even more features than what we have listed, on its own, at first glance, the Alloy Series from HyperX is something that can and will draw in the masses to look deeper into which of the lineup is best for their needs.

The Alloy FPS RGB is the latest to hit the desk for testing, with its 104-key layout and full range of RGB LEDs, the switches used in this model is the make or break deciding factor for many. Much of what the Alloy FPS RGB offers, we have seen in some form or fashion from HyperX in the past, however, this is the first from them to support Silver Speed switches from Kailh.

A select few other companies are also offering this sort of an option when it comes to switches, and in our opinion are the only keyboards to rightfully be called Gaming Keyboards. Due to the switch action, gaming with them is a breeze, and with all of the other accouterments such as dual layer key functionality and software customizations, the HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Gaming Mechanical Keyboard is a product worthy of the name and leaves nothing on the table as to give anyone reason to dislike it.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 01 | TweakTown.com

Following the chart we grabbed from the "buy" tab of the product page, we can see HyperX is quite thorough as to what they show the Alloy FPS RGB to contain. We start at the top, skipping the switches, for now, to move into the inclusion of three profiles, which do not need software for functionality.

HyperX goes on to cover the USB 2.0 connectivity for the keyboard, as well as for the mobile phone only charge port on the back edge of the Alloy FPS RGB. The polling rate is 1000Hz by default, Anti-ghosting is built in, as well as NKRO support, all right out of the box. There are multi-media controls offered, there is a Game Mode button, and the Alloy FPS RGB works with any Windows OS since and including Windows 7.

Back to the switches, we saw earlier that they are built by Kailh, they are mechanical, and exposed at the back of each switch is an RGB LED capable of displaying nearly 16.8 million colors. Moving down the chart a bit, we see that the Kailh switches come in only one flavor for this keyboard, and those are the Kailh Silver Speed switches.

The switches are linear, with no bump or click, and require 40g of pressure to start to collapse. The actuation point is at 1.1mm of travel, with a total travel of 3.5mm from resting, to pressed, to resting again. The last bit about the switches that will interest many, is that the lifespan is up to seventy million clicks per switch.

Near the bottom of the chart we see that the cable is detachable and braided, totaling 1.8 meters in length. We also find the dimensions at the bottom, where the Alloy FPS is shown to be 442.26mm wide, 129.81mm deep, and stands 35.59mm tall without the feet extended. All told, with the keyboard and cable combined, the Alloy FPS RGB weighs in at 1100 grams. While HyperX makes no mention of software, the Alloy FPS RGB works with NGenuity software, which delivers features like remapping, Macros, lighting control, and so much more.

As we searched for the Alloy FPS RGBG, we find that Newegg, Amazon, and even BestBuy are all offering it at the same price. At all three locations, we find a $109.99 price tag associated with this product, and compared to the market as a hole, the asking price is reasonable. With the wide availability and a price suited for the masses, so far we see not a single reason why you should pass up the opportunity to give the Alloy FPS RGB a try, as it is the best of what HyperX is currently offering in RGB backlit gaming mechanical keyboards.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB - Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$109.99$109.99$109.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 3:44 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging, Accessories, and Documentation

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 02 | TweakTown.com

Using marbled white as the backdrop, it makes the image of the Alloy FPS RGB stand out and easy to see. The names are at the left with the line "compact design with brilliant RGB effects" explain what this is all about. At the top-right, we see mentions of the software, RGB functionality, and the use of Silver Speed switches.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 03 | TweakTown.com

The leading edge, where the box opens, you will find the name of the keyboard to the left, and the HyperX name on the right. Between the two are the five eSports teams that HyperX sponsors with peripherals to game with.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The smallest side of the box is identical. The red from the front is carried around all of the sides, but at the ends, it is broken up by only the HyperX and Alloy FPS RGB names.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The hinge side of the box is where you can see the contents of the box as well as the system requirements. To the right of this is the legal information and a product sticker with the model and serial number on it.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The back of the box highlight four things in images, as well as text, explain the dynamic RGB backlit keys and the effects, solid steel frame, onboard memory to cover three profiles, and an informative diagram of what the Silver Speed switches are capable of. This is also where we are made aware of the two-year warranty.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Inside of the box, we find the keyboard wrapped in clear plastic to keep dust off the keyboard as well as help against abrasions. The cardboard around the keyboard is folded over for shock protection, and holds the keyboard snugly in place. Paperwork can be found under it, and the cable is found in the section of cardboard with the hole to lift it out. All told, the Alloy FPS RGB we have in our hands is in excellent condition.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 08 | TweakTown.com

In the literature sent with the keyboard, we find three parts to it. In the front is a message from HyperX where the flipside shows images of other products they offer. Next to it is the card for those that may run into an issue, where the support address is offered, and on the back, this message is repeated in sixteen languages. As for the white paper, it can be unfolded to see the keyboard layout, how to use the software, how to connect the keyboard to the PC, as well as what the function keys do. It also comes in handy for reference while getting used to a new keyboard.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The cable is pretty standard as far as cables go. There is 1.8 meters of black braided cable, with none of the three connectors getting any special gold plated treatment. The pair of USB 2.0 connections are clearly marked as to which makes the keyboard function, and which is for the charging port. As to the mini-USB connection, it plugs into the back of the keyboard.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Our first view is of the left side of the Alloy FPS RGB, where we see a few things worth a mention. First of all, we can see the plastic lower half and the steel top plate which makes the frame-less enclosure. The second thing is that the switches are exposed, and the bodies of said switches are clear. The last thing to note would be the angle of attack for the keys, as the first three rows angle away from the user, while the back three angle forward.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Glancing at the layout of the seventy-four keys of the main section of a keyboard, we see an easily readable font used, and other than the HyperX logo on the space bar, there is little to distract you. The F-keys, on the other hand, do offer dual functionality, as seen with the various icons on them.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 12 | TweakTown.com

F1, F2, and F3 are used to switch profiles. This can also be done in software, but when in the moment, a need may arise that you don't have the time to open the software. While holding the Function key, you can easily swap to whatever profile is required at that time.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 13 | TweakTown.com

We then skip ahead to the F6, F78, and F8 keys, where the multimedia functionality starts. F6 will play the previous track, F7 is the play/pause button, and F8 selects the next track. Again, you must also hold the Function key to use these.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Continuing down the line, we then see F9 used to mute the PC, while F10 and F11 lower and raise the volume respectively. The F12 is used for Game Mode, where keys are disabled so that exiting the game is very limited, unless done through the game menu or more complicated combinations of keys, not just a single press of a key, accidentally.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Moving back a bit, we can see the entirety of the right end of the keyboard layout now. Everything you need is there, from commands, to arrow keys that also address LED intensity. Far to the right are the lock LED indicators next to the HyperX name, as well as a full number pad, with optional arrow keys on it.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 16 | TweakTown.com

As we turn the corner to look at the right edge of the Alloy FPS RGB, we also flipped out the feet. Much of what we saw on the other side is found looking here, but now the first three rows of keys are flat, while the back three lean even more forward than before.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Making our way to the back edge of the keyboard, we quickly run into the charge port and the mini-USB port for the detachable cable. These are located just between the command keys and the number pad for reference.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 18 | TweakTown.com

The bottom of the keyboard is flat, but the plastic is textured. There are angles at the edges as well as around the feet, but the main reason to look under here is the product sticker. If you happen to bin the box, should an issue come up after some use, you will need the model and serial numbers found there for support.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The pair of feet at the back edge flip out and are well supported by the frame around it. We do like that the bottom of the feet have a rubber pad on them for added grip, but this can make the feet collapse if you find yourself shifting the keyboard around on the desk a lot.

Inside the Alloy FPS RGB

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Removing a few of the keycaps, we find clear bodies Kailh switches. Each switch has an LED at the back which is outside of the body, and is placed under the legends on the keycaps. These are made to take on the Cherry MX Speed switches we have seen in Corsair keyboards, but they are somewhat different in feel than the Cherry versions. More on that later though.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The keycaps are standard fare to what we see shipped with the majority of mechanical keyboards. A single shot keycap, done in white, allows light to pass through easily. Then, paint the outside black, leave the legend black, and you keep the lighting to a minimum and only brightest where it is needed most.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Upon opening the keyboard to have a look inside, there isn't much to see, honestly. We find that the black PCB is mounted securely to the steel plate, but looking at the lower plastic components, we do not see much support. That is not to say it is not solid or sturdy, but it does bring up something we will address later.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 23 | TweakTown.com

While many will never see the PCB or anything inside of the keyboard for that matter, since we had it open, why not see what is going on. The flat black PBC is not as easy to clean as the shiny ones, and we do see residue in minute spots, but on the whole, it is clean, and the soldering job is precise without any faults we could see.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Then it comes to control and onboard storage, this is the chip taking care of all of the finer details while you click away on the keyboard. The ARM Cortex-M0 processor is a 32-bit, LPC11U35F/410, which is more than capable of handling what the Alloy FPS RGB offers in features and software options.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 25 | TweakTown.com

With the Alloy FPS RGB back in one piece, it was time to plug it in and see what shakes. Once powered, a "wave" of colors sweeps across the keyboard, and in dimmer light, there is a bit of light that escapes under the keycaps as well as what you see on top of the keycaps. We did forget to turn on the locks, but we can say that all three LEDs are bright and white, so that they can be easily distinguished at a glance.

NGenuity Software

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 26 | TweakTown.com

With NGenuity now downloaded and installed, which has a folder 1.18GB in size, we opened it up to see what is there. Upon first glance, it appears the same as what we have seen with the previous Alloy models, but as you go on about trying to customize the keyboard, that is where things get a bit different.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 27 | TweakTown.com

After clicking to add a new profile to the box on the left side, we are greeted by a tutorial as we go. A huge help to many, the software highlights what can be done, such as in this instance, we can select an image rather than the HyperX logo, there is an option to like to a specific program, or, if you'd like, you can scroll through the list of predefined lighting effects for various games.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 28 | TweakTown.com

Tinkering with the default profile, we first clicked on lighting to the left, and at the top, we are in the effects menu. It is here that you can select and save your favorite colors, pick a color associated with each of the modes, and via a menu to the right, you can choose trigger, explosion, or HyperX Flame not Frame. There are also modes like solid, cycle, and breathing that can be selected from the dropdown left of the highlighted one.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 29 | TweakTown.com

Moving on to the zone approach of illumination, simply select the keys on the image of the keyboard and add whatever keys to that zone as you wish. You can then put a color to each zone, and even name them if you wish.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Freestyle is a way in which the user can define each and every LED to whatever color they see fit. Select the key, chose a color, move along to the next. This can be as simple as solid colors on WASD keys while other keys are another color or mode, or as complex as making keyboard art. The limit is up to you.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 31 | TweakTown.com

The Game Mode section is what it sounds like it is, a place that shows what keys are disabled when the Game Mode is active. There is an LED at the top-right of the keyboard which shows if enabled or not, and in the picture, we also see how to use Game Mode, and that the Windows key is the only thing locked. Below the image we see that Alt+Tab, Alt+F4, even Shift+Tab can also be locked making it nearly impossible to accidentally leave the game.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 32 | TweakTown.com

The Macro system is broken up into two sections. First is the key assignment, which is easy to do. Pick a key, a menu appears in the open area below, and is where you can pick from default functionality, another keyboard function, mouse function, multimedia, recorded Macro, Windows shortcuts, open something, or disable it.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 33 | TweakTown.com

The Macro Library is where you go to record a Macro, and you can name them use delays, and it even has a way to insert commands to fine tune it after attempts may fail to use it. Once completed, you can use the previous assignments tab to put the Macro to whatever key is accessible.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 34 | TweakTown.com

This last bit can be found by clicking on the gear icon at the top. It is where you can choose the language of the presented information, grab the manual, and can even check for updates to the software and firmware, as well as resetting the entire suite to its factory default settings.

Gaming and General Impressions

DOOM & PUBG

In the fast paced action of DOOM, it is hard not to give props to the Kailh Silver Speed switches. We are used to much stronger springs in the switches we use day to day, and with little force required to actuate the switches, and the travel distance cut shorter than most, we were able to dodge plasm balls and whatever else is flung our way. However, when playing PUBG, we also noticed the ugly side of having a keyboard with soft springs and short throw.

Moment and our clicks being recorded were fine, no functional issues with the way the Alloy FPS RGB worked at all. However, when hiding or waiting to ambush an enemy, we did find that just the weight of our fingers resting would sometimes trigger movement of the character, and even worse, when stretching a finger for the F key, while gaming, we found ourselves jumping across the doorway rather than opening the door. Other than that, the Alloy FPS RGB has been part of an upswing for our stats in PUBG.

Windows and Productivity

When it comes to searching the web, answering emails, or writing this review, we find that the Alloy FPS RGB is not going to replace any of our blue switch keyboards any time soon. There are two reasons for this actually. The first reason, we have explained many times, and it is that we have fat fingers.

When it comes with linear switches, and the fact that they are some of the lightest switches in the game, we are constantly adding letters here and there or an odd number or two as we type our way across the keys.

The second reason isn't a deal breaker, but the fact that the keyboard will vibrate and resonate when in use is something that will cause a numb feeling ion your fingertips. This is likely due to the limited support in the bottom half of the fame, and whether flat or on its extended feet, the noise and feeling was there.

Final Thoughts

The Alloy FPS RGB is a hot contender for your hard earned money. It is solid, so much so that torsional flex is not present. The exposed steel plate is cleaner looking than a framed keyboard, and it does allow for the RGB LED lighting to not only shine through the keycaps, but also does flood out over the top of the keyboard as well.

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Coming from a line of keyboards we have praised in the past, we can see the heritage and design elements that go into this product, and with the use of Kailh Silver Speed switches, it takes the Alloy FPS RGB into the gaming category like no other. With the included software, even the most demanding user will find it sufficient, and with three onboard profiles and onboard storage, you can game in comfort anywhere you choose to connect the Alloy FPS RGB.

Sadly, though, with the good does come some bad, at least in our humble opinion. The lack of switch choices may turn off some potential clients, and for us the switch choice makes the keyboard frustrating for daily use outside of gaming. Unless you have light fingertips and are an excellent typist, if the soft linear switches do not bug you, we feel the ringing of the keyboard as it vibrates from use likely will.

With many fewer presses in gaming, the vibration is nowhere near as noticeable and is also where the choice of switches shines the best. Even while HyperX has made an impressive gaming solution to mechanical keyboards, have the lost the point in what a keyboard is intended for on a fundamental level? It is interesting to ponder.... Can gaming gear for PC be too "gaming?"

We feel that in this instance, if you do little writing and only send off the occasional email, HyperX has one of the best keyboards for you to try. If you do quite a bit of productive things on the PC as well, there are things to consider before throwing money at HyperX. With all of our knowledge at hand, the experience we had with it, and what we ran into, in the end, it is your decision to make.

Even with the good, the bad, and the ugly out there in print, we do have to say that when it comes to price, HyperX is on point. At $109.99 no matter where you look right now, you get a ton of gaming fun for what we feel is an averagely priced product with all things considered in features and functionality.

We will be removing a few points in the build quality area for the issues we ran into, but with that said, we still really like the Alloy FPS RGB. While this keyboard may not be for everyone, it is geared for gaming, provides all things that makes that possible, yet does not dig too deeply into your pocket to get one on your desk.

Chad's Peripherals Test System Specifications

Performance

96%

Quality

85%

Features

99%

Value

97%

Overall

94%

The Bottom Line

Even with a few personal gripes about the Alloy FPS RGB, there are many out there who will enjoy this reasonably priced, feature rich, mechanical keyboard; the first we have seen with Kailh Silver Speed switches!

TweakTown award
94%

HyperX Alloy FPS RGB - Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$109.99$109.99$109.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 3:44 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles