GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review

NVIDIA released its second model in the GTX 700 series in the form of the GeForce GTX 770 video card today. Follow us as we check out the performance under our gaming tests.

@ShawnBakerTW
Published Thu, May 30 2013 8:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Tue, Apr 7 2020 12:31 PM CDT
Rating: 94%Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Introduction

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 02 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 30 IMAGES

Last week we saw NVIDIA launch a new high-end single GPU video card in the form of the GeForce GTX 780 3GB. While not designed to replace its highest end offering, the GTX TITAN 6GB, the $350 cheaper model does an excellent job of offering performance that's quite similar to what is the fastest single GPU video card on the market at the moment.

If the out of the box performance, though, wasn't enough, we then overclocked the model and found that with a core clock of over 1000MHz, the GTX 780 3GB did an excellent job closing the gap with the GTX TITAN, offering performance at times that was very similar to the $999 model.

Today sees the first phase of the new GTX 700 series completed with the release of the second model, the GTX 770 2GB. As the name would suggest, this model comes in below the GTX 780 3GB, much in the same way we saw a GTX 680 and GTX 670 in the last generation. General habit would tell that we'd see a GTX 760 and GTX 750 in time, but mid-range GTX 700 replacements aren't something we've heard of to date.

Let's dig in now and check out the new GTX 770 over the next pages!

The Card and Specifications

The Card

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 03 | TweakTown.com

You can see familiarities between the GTX 780 3GB and the GTX TITAN 6GB, offering the same cooler design. We've really got to say that this is one of the more stylish looking reference coolers and we love the see through panel that allows us check out the massive heatsink that is offered.

You can see it uses that typical reference cooler design that places the fan of the right side, verses straight over the GPU. The design here is of course to suck in cool air and blow it straight across the hot GPU, while then pushing the hot air straight out the back of the case. The only really major change from the GTX 780 comes in the form of the GTX 770 branding.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 04 | TweakTown.com
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 05 | TweakTown.com

You can see across the top and towards the back we have a single 6-pin and 8-pin PCIe power connector. Staying at the top and moving to the front, you can see a pair of SLI connectors, giving us the chance to run up to three of these video cards together in SLI.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The I/O side of things is fairly standard with two Dual-Link DVI adapters - one in the form of DVI-D and the other in the form of DVI-I. You can also wee we've got a HDMI and DisplayPort connector to round things off.

Specifications

Firing up GPU-Z and checking out some of the main specifications against the GTX 780 3GB, Stream Processors are down from 12 to 8, while CUDA Cores have also dropped from 2304 to 1536. Other main areas that are slightly down on the GTX 770 when compared to the GTX 780 include Texture Units and ROP units which move from 192 and 48 to 128 and 32, respectively.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 01 | TweakTown.com

As for the 2GB of GDDR5, the memory bus width is reduced from 384-bit to 256-bit. Saying that, though, NVIDIA are offering both a 2GB and 4GB version. The main one being pushed at the moment, though, is the 2GB version, which will of course come in a little cheaper.

Two areas we've seen the GTX 770 go up in, though, are clock speeds, which isn't a huge surprise considering the fact that a lot of other areas have taken a hit. The core comes in at 1046MHz which hits 1085MHz via Boost, compared to the 863MHz / 900MHz setup that the GTX 780 sees. The memory has also been moved from the standard 6008MHz QDR that we normally see to a very solid 7010MHz QDR.

Benchmarks - Test System Setup

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 99 | TweakTown.com

We would like to thank the following companies for supplying and supporting us with our test system hardware and equipment: Intel, ASUS and Corsair.

The video cards that you'll see in our graphs today are identical to that of what you saw in our original GTX 780 3GB coverage. That means from the NVIDIA side we've got two GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setups, one in the form of two reference cards and the other in the form of our two Gainward offerings overclocked.

Along with those two cards you'll will see the newly released GTX 780 3GB and the high-end GTX TITAN. As for the AMD side, we've got the overclocked HD 7950 PCS from PowerColor running at over 1100 MHz, while we've also got the reference version Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition from AMD.

The FPS Numbers Explained

When we benchmark our video cards and look at the graphs, we aim to get to a certain level of FPS which we consider playable. While many may argue that the human eye can't see over 24 FPS or 30 FPS, any true gamer will tell you that as we climb higher in Frames Per Seconds (FPS), the overall gameplay feels smoother. There are three numbers we're looking out for when it comes to our benchmarks.

30 FPS - It's the minimum number we aim for when it comes to games. If you're not dropping below 30 FPS during games, you're going to have a nice and smooth gaming experience. The ideal situation is that even in a heavy fire fight, the minimum stays above 30 FPS making sure that you can continue to aim easily or turn the corner with no dramas.

60 FPS - It's the average we look for when we don't have a minimum coming at us. If we're getting an average of 60 FPS, we should have a minimum of 30 FPS or better and as mentioned above, it means we've got some smooth game play happening.

120 FPS - The new number that we've been hunting down over recent months. If you're the owner of a 120 Hz monitor, to get the most out of it you want to get around the 120 FPS mark. Moving from 60 FPS / 60 Hz to 120 FPS / 120 Hz brings with it a certain fluidity that can't really be explained, but instead has to be experienced. Of course, if you're buying a 120 Hz monitor to take advantage of 3D, an average of 120 FPS in our benchmark means that in 3D you will have an average of 60 FPS, which again means you should expect some smooth gameplay.

Why are some graphs incomplete?

Adding new game benchmarks is a long, tedious and time consuming task as every video card has to be re-tested in those new benchmarks. Because of that reason we have always just evaluated our benchmark line up every six months. To stay up to date and current with the latest benchmarks and games available, we've changed our approach to adding new benchmarks.

Our benchmark line up will progress and be updated as newer more intensive games with benchmarks comes to light. While this will mean that initially you may only see a single video card in those particular graphs, as the weeks go on and we test more and more video cards, the results will grow quickly. This will help keep our benchmark line up as up to date as possible as we introduce and remove games on a constant basis.

Benchmarks - 3DMark 11

3DMark 11

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.1

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.3dmark.com/3dmark11/

Buy It Here

3DMark 11 is the latest version of the world's most popular benchmark. Designed to measure your PC's gaming performance 3DMark 11 makes extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11 including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading. Trusted by gamers worldwide to give accurate and unbiased results, 3DMark 11 is the best way to consistently and reliably test DirectX 11 under game-like loads.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Starting off with 3DMark 11 we can see that performance under the P preset is very similar to the reference GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setup and both AMD HD 7900 series offerings.

While moving to the X preset sees a score identical with the SLI setup, you can see compared to the AMD offerings, the new GTX 770 2GB manages to separate itself slightly.

This is good news for NVIDIA as recently the higher resolution area is where their GeForce video cards tend to fall back behind AMD cards.

Benchmarks - Unigine Heaven Benchmark

Unigine Heaven Benchmark

Version and / or Patch Used: 3

Developer Homepage: http://www.unigine.com

Product Homepage: http://unigine.com/press-releases/091022-heaven_benchmark//

New benchmark grants the power to unleash the DirectX 11 potential in the gift wrapping of impressively towering graphics capabilities. It reveals the enchanting magic of floating islands with a tiny village hidden in the cloudy skies. With the interactive mode emerging experience of exploring the intricate world is ensured within reach. Through its advanced renderer, Unigine is one of the first to set precedence in showcasing the art assets with tessellation, bringing compelling visual finesse, utilizing the technology to the full extend and exhibiting the possibilities of enriching 3D gaming.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 21 | TweakTown.com

While behind the GTX 650 Ti SLI Boost setup at both resolutions, we can see against the AMD offerings that our new GTX 770 2GB sits well ahead.

This is due to the superior Tessellation performance that NVIDIA offers and has offered for some time now.

Benchmarks - Phantasy Star Online 2

Phantasy Star Online 2

Version and / or Patch Used: Standalone Benchmark

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.sega.com/?t=EnglishUSA

Product Homepage: http://www.pso2.com/us/html/index.html

Play Phantasy Star Online 2 and experience revolutionary combat in an action-driven, free-to-play multiplayer online RPG from SEGA. Take a journey into an immersive sci-fi fantasy narrative and explore mysterious worlds to unravel their secrets. Join fellow adventurers and fight against the legions of darkness to banish them from the galaxy.

Score explanation: Less than 2000: Please adjust your game settings because the processing load is quite heavy.

2000 through 5000: The game runs fine at the setting, if you have room, you can adjust some settings.

5001+: The game works wonderfully at this setting.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 22 | TweakTown.com

PSO2 performance is strong. Not only are we ahead of the AMD offerings again, but you can see we manage to come out a decent chunk faster than the GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setups.

Benchmarks - Lost Planet 2

Lost Planet 2

Version and / or Patch Used: Standalone Benchmark

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark - Test A Scene 1

Developer Homepage: http://www.capcom.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.lostplanet2game.com/

Lost Planet 2 is a third-person shooter video game developed and published by Capcom. The game is the sequel to Lost Planet: Extreme Condition which is also made by Capcom, taking place ten years after the events of the first game, on the same fictional planet. The story takes place back on E.D.N. III 10 years after the events of the first game. The snow has melted to reveal jungles and more tropical areas that have taken the place of more frozen regions. The plot begins with Mercenaries fighting against Jungle Pirates. After destroying a mine, the Mercenaries continue on to evacuate the area, in which a Category-G Akrid appears and attacks them. After being rescued, they find out their evacuation point (Where the Category-G appeared) was a set-up and no pick up team awaited them. The last words imply possible DLC additions to the game, "There's nothing to be gained by wiping out snow pirates... unless you had some kind of grudge."

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 23 | TweakTown.com

While a little behind the GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setup here, you can see again against the AMD HD 7900 video cards that performance is a good way ahead for NVIDIA. Especially at the highest resolution which sees the AMD cards score in the 60 FPS realm, while the GTX 770 2GB scores a solid 80 FPS.

Benchmarks - Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Dark Tower

Developer Homepage: http://www.eidos.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.justcause.com/

Just Cause 2 employs the Avalanche Engine 2.0, an updated version of the engine used in Just Cause. The game is set on the other side of the world from the original Just Cause, on the fictional island of Panau in Southeast Asia. Panau has varied terrain, from desert to alpine to rainforest. Rico Rodriguez returns as the protagonist, aiming to overthrow the evil dictator Pandak "Baby" Panay and confront his former mentor, Tom Sheldon.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 24 | TweakTown.com

For the first time we see the GTX 770 2GB finally fall back slightly against the AMD offerings, especially at the higher resolutions.

Against the GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setup, you can see at the highest resolution, the numbers are similar, but as we move down the resolution table, the SLI comes out a little in front.

Most importantly, though, we've got playable numbers at all resolutions.

Benchmarks - F1 2012

F1 2012

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.codemasters.com/uk/

Product Homepage: http://www.codemasters.com

In F1 2012 players will feel the unparalleled thrill of becoming a FORMULA ONE driver with a host of new features, wide-ranging technical and gameplay advancements and extensive competitive and co-operative multiplayer components. F1 2012 will feature all of the official teams, drivers and circuits from the 2012 FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, including the debut of the 2012 FORMULA 1 UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX at Austin, Texas and the return of Germany's famous Hockenheim circuit to the calendar.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 25 | TweakTown.com

Across the board you can see the GTX 770 2GB comes out ahead of both the GTX 650 Ti SLI setups and also ahead of the AMD offerings. At the lower resolutions, you can see we're floating around the FPS wall which puts all our high-end NVIDIA offerings quite close together.

When we move to 2560 x 1600, though, you can see the top three cards start to separate a bit. The most important thing, though, is that we've got strong FPS across the board.

Benchmarks - Metro 2033

Metro 2033

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.4a-games.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.thqnordic.com/

Metro 2033 is an action-oriented video game with a combination of survival horror and first-person shooter elements. The game is based on the novel Metro 2033 by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky. It was developed by 4A Games in Ukraine and released in March 2010 for Microsoft Windows and Xbox 360.[3] In March 2006, 4A Games announced a partnership with Glukhovsky to collaborate on the game.[4] The game was announced at the 2009 Games Convention in Leipzig,[5] a first trailer came along with the announcement.[6] A sequel was announced, currently titled Metro: Last Light.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 26 | TweakTown.com

Metro 2033 performance is pretty much in line with the HD 7970 GHz Edition across the board. The good news is we also manage to break the 60 FPS barrier at all resolutions, sneaking in a playable 62 FPS average at 2560 x 1600.

Benchmarks - Dirt Showdown

Dirt Showdown

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.codemasters.com/uk/

Product Homepage: http://www.codemasters.com/uk/dirtshowdown/360/

DiRT Showdown is the new arcade racing game from the team that brought you the award-winning DiRT series, uncaged in 2012. Pick up and play controls combine with electrifying events, frenzied crowds and stunning graphics to deliver high octane, dive in and drive thrills from event one.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 27 | TweakTown.com

Dirt Showdown performance looks good, but you can see at the highest resolution, we fall below the 60 FPS number we're always on the hunt for to provide a solid gaming experience.

You can see we're ahead of the GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setups across the board, but fall behind the overclocked HD 7950, which manages to pull in playable numbers, at the highest resolution.

Benchmarks - Nexuiz

Nexuiz

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.alientrap.org/

Product Homepage: http://www.nexuiz.com/

Nexuiz is an Arena First Person shooter coming soon to consoles. Nexuiz is fast paced with extremely competitive game play. IllFonic brings Alientrap Software's Nexuiz to next-gen gaming consoles around the world while staying true to the game play refined over the years through development. IllFonic introduces a new Victorian influenced art style that is simultaneously futuristic and sophisticated. Nexuiz for consoles is powered by CryENGINE 3.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 28 | TweakTown.com

Both below the AMD offerings and a decent chunk below the GTX 650 Ti Boost SLI setups, you can see we're not able to get playable FPS at any resolution here from the new GTX 770.

Benchmarks - Sniper Elite V2

Sniper Elite V2

Version and / or Patch Used: Standalone Benchmark

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.rebellion.co.uk/

Product Homepage: http://sniperelitev2.com/us/age.html

Sniper Elite V2 features detailed sniping simulation with advanced ballistics, taking into account gravity, wind, velocity, bullet penetration, aim stability and more. Guaranteed to provide players with the most realistic simulation of military sharpshooting yet available.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 29 | TweakTown.com

Sniper Elite V2 looks good across the board and you can see we're ahead of both the AMD and SLI setups here. More importantly, the GTX 770 2GB sits in the 70 FPS realm, while the AMD HD 7970 GHz Edition sits in the mid-60s, and the HD 7950 falls short of 60 FPS.

Benchmarks - Sleeping Dogs

Sleeping Dogs

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://eu.square-enix.com/en

Product Homepage: http://www.sleepingdogs.net/

The core gameplay of Sleeping Dogs consists of giving the player an open world environment in which to move around freely. Sleeping Dogs is played as an over-the-shoulder, third-person perspective action-adventure game with role-playing elements. The player controls Wei Shen, a Chinese-American police officer, as he goes undercover to infiltrate the Sun On Yee Triad organization. On foot, the player character has the ability to walk, run, jump, climb over obstacles and swim, as well as use weapons and martial arts in combat. Players also drive a variety of vehicles including cars, boats, and motorcycles.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Sleeping Dogs performance is between both the AMD setups with some solid numbers across the board that translate to playable FPS at all resolutions.

Benchmarks - Far Cry 2

Far Cry 2

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.01

Timedemo or Level Used: Ranch Long

Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.farcry2.com/

Buy It Here

The Dunia Engine was built specifically for Far Cry 2 by the award-winning Ubisoft Montreal development team. It delivers the most realistic destructible environments, amazing special effects such as dynamic fire propagation and storm effects, real-time night-and-day cycle, dynamic music system, non-scripted enemy A.I. and so much more.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 31 | TweakTown.com

As you'd expect, on any high-end card these days, Far Cry 2 performance across the board is strong, with some great minimums and averages being seen.

Benchmarks - Hitman Absolution

Hitman Absolution

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.ioi.dk/

Product Homepage: http://hitman.com/

Hitman: Absolution is an action-adventure stealth game developed by I/O Interactive and published by Square Enix. It is the fifth entry in the Hitman game series, and runs on I/O Interactive's proprietary Glacier 2 game engine. Before release, the developers stated that Absolution would be easier to play and more accessible, while still retaining hardcore aspects of the franchise. The game was released on 20 November 2012, which is in the 47th week of the year (in reference to the protagonist, Agent 47).

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 32 | TweakTown.com

At the lower resolution you can see we hit that low, but still playable FPS wall on the GTX 770. At the highest resolution you can see we don't hit that wall, but manage to continue with a strong minimum FPS.

We'd prefer an extra couple of FPS in the average, though.

Benchmarks - Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://www.nixxes.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.tombraider.com/us/base/agegate?refer=184&

Tomb Raider is an action-adventure platform video game. Published by Square Enix, Tomb Raider is the fifth title developed by Crystal Dynamics in the Tomb Raider franchise. As the first entry in a new Tomb Raider continuity, the game is a reboot that emphasizes the reconstructed origins of the culturally influential lead character Lara Croft. Tomb Raider was released on 5 March 2013 for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and Microsoft Windows to universal critical acclaim.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 33 | TweakTown.com

Tomb Raider looks good at 1680 x 1050, and while 1920 x 1200 sees a good minimum, we'd prefer to get an extra couple of FPS and hit the 60 number in the average, for more solid gameplay.

At the highest resolution you can see our numbers are a bit too low.

Benchmarks - BioShock Infinite

BioShock Infinite

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update

Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Benchmark

Developer Homepage: http://irrationalgames.com/

Product Homepage: http://www.bioshockinfinite.com

BioShock Infinite is a first-person shooter video game and the third installment in the BioShock series. Previously known as "Project Icarus", it is being developed by Irrational Games and was released worldwide on the Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360 platforms on March 26, 2013. BioShock Infinite is not part of the storyline of previous BioShock games but features similar gameplay concepts and themes.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 34 | TweakTown.com

BioShock Infinite numbers come out ahead of what's being offered by the SLI setups.

You can see at the highest resolution we fall short of the 60 FPS average. 1920 x 1200 looks good, though, as our SLI setups score in the 60 FPS range, but the GTX 770 2GB manages to break into the higher 70 FPS range.

Benchmarks - High Quality AA and AF

High Quality AA and AF

While we test all our games with maximum in-game settings, turning on Anti-Aliasing (AA) and Antistrophic Filtering (AF) helps take the intensity of our testing to another level.

Here we see video cards go from playable FPS to an unplayable FPS and the real power houses continue to help break that 60 FPS mark we always aim for to provide a smooth gaming experience.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Checking out Far Cry 2 performance, you can see even with AA and AF enabled, we continue to get very strong performance at both resolutions.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Metro manages to pull out a playable number at 1920 x 1200, but you can see when we move to 2560 x 1600, we do fall short. Against the competition you can see in this instance that the GTX 770 2GB is lagging behind the other setups.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 37 | TweakTown.com

Just Cause 2 puts out some great performance at 1920 x 1200, but just like Metro 2033, you can see we fall shy of the 60 FPS number we want for solid gameplay at the highest resolution.

Like under Metro 2033 again, you can see the GTX 770 falls a little behind the pack for the most part, with only the HD 7950 offering slightly less FPS at 2560 x 1600.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 38 | TweakTown.com

Across the board you can see none of our setups manage to bring in the 60 FPS number we want at either resolution here.

Temperature Test

The temperature of the core is pulled from MSI Afterburner with the max reading used after a completed run off 3DMark Vantage and the Performance preset.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 40 | TweakTown.com

Just like the reference GTX 780 3GB, we can see that the maximum load temperature at an even 80c. The difference here is that the GTX 770 2GB at idle is running a little warmer.

Sound Test

Pulling out the TES 1350A Sound Level Meter we find ourselves quickly yelling into the top of it to see how loud we can be.

After five minutes of that we get a bit more serious and place the device two CM away from the fan on the card to find the maximum noise level of the card when idle (2D mode) and in load (3D mode).

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 41 | TweakTown.com

Noise levels look good sitting into the middle of the pack with some fairly decent numbers at both idle and load.

Power Consumption Test

Using our PROVA Power Analyzer WM-01 or "Power Thingy" as it has become quickly known as to our readers, we are now able to find out what kind of power is being used by our test system and the associated graphics cards installed. Keep in mind, it tests the complete system (minus LCD monitor, which is plugged directly into AC wall socket).

There are a few important notes to remember though, while our maximum power is taken in 3DMark06 at the same exact point, we have seen in particular tests the power being drawn as much as 10% more. We test at the exact same stage every time, therefore tests should be very consistent and accurate.

The other thing to remember is that our test system is bare minimum - only a SSD hard drive is used with a single CD ROM and minimal cooling fans.

So while the system might draw 400 watts in our test system, placing it into your own PC with a number of other items, the draw is going to be higher.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card Review 42 | TweakTown.com

Looking at the power draw numbers, you can see we're again sitting in towards the middle of the pack. Compared to the GTX 780, we're about 35 watts lower on the new GTX 770 2GB.

Pricing, Availability and Final Thoughts

Launching at $399, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB manages to really hit at a good price point. It is $250 cheaper than the GTX 780 3GB and also comes in at a similar price point to the HD 7970 GHz Edition.

I think at the end of the day we'd prefer the newer GTX 770 2GB over the AMD offering due to the simple fact it's a newer model. We can't deny the fact, though, that we'd love to see NVIDIA embrace DisplayPort connectivity more, especially coming from someone who drives three monitors all by DisplayPort.

Performance on the GTX 770 is strong as you'd expect with some decent specifications behind it. The clocks out of the box are extremely strong, but it will be interesting to see what kind of headroom we have with it, especially the GDDR5, which is already coming in at over 7000MHz QDR out of the box.

Like the reference GTX 780 3GB, we'd prefer that the GTX 770 operated a little cooler out of the box. While 80c is not a problem, and the noise levels are based on making sure the card runs no warmer than that, we wouldn't complain if it came in a little bit lower.

Saying that, though, it's honestly not something that we're too worried about. After taking a look at the new EVGA GTX 780 3GB SuperClocked and seeing what the new ACX cooler is capable of, we're sure that we'll see something similar from EVGA (and others) on the GTX 770 2GB, helping drop both idle and load temperatures down, with little issue to noise levels.

Outside of a $50 - $75 price drop on the HD 7970 GHz Edition from AMD and their partners, we must admit that we're a little worried about what AMD are going to do when it comes to the top end market. It's going to start getting extremely tough for them, so what happens now will be interesting.

We have to say we're excited about testing both the overclocking and the SLI potential of the new GTX 770. With two of these video cards coming in around $200 cheaper than the GTX TITAN 6GB, the difference between two of these cards and a single GTX TITAN is going to be interesting. So, make sure you keep an eye out for those articles in the coming weeks on TweakTown, it should be a good reason and interesting test.

What do TweakTown.com awards mean? Click for details!

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

Shawn takes care of all of our video card reviews. From 2009, Shawn is also taking care of our memory reviews, and from May 2011, Shawn also takes care of our CPU, chipset and motherboard reviews. As of December 2011, Shawn is based out of Taipei, Taiwan.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles