TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,777 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

GIGABYTE Z87X-OC Force (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - BIOS

GIGABYTE Z87X-OC Force (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
We check out the very mean, very orange and very OC looking Z87X-OC Force motherboard from GIGABYTE. Let's see how it performs. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 16, 2014 10:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_18_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Recent BIOS updates brought support for High Resolution BIOS support via Dual Link DVI. Before we had a monitor that was capable of more than 1920 x 1080, the High Resolution feature didn't work over the Dual Link cable. Looking above though, you can see that it is indeed working, and the high resolution mode brings with it a sharper look, and more information, thanks to the higher resolution. You can see the status of the CPU, Memory and System on the sides, along with information regarding the voltage, fan speed, and temperature across the top.

 

Let's move away from the high resolution feature though, and cover what we're dealing with when we first enter the BIOS. You can see above, the "home" area offers all of the main performance options related to the CPU and Memory. We've also got basic voltage options here. Really everything you need for most people is right here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_19_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

However, if you want to go into a bit more detail on the overclocking side of things, you can head over to the next tab, which is the Performance tab. Here, you've got a more vast array of options for the CPU, as well as the memory. Voltage options are also expanded.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_20_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_21_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_22_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_23_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_24_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving through the rest of the BIOS, you can see all of the standard features. There's not a huge need to go into too much detail, as everything is really self-explanatory thanks to the images above; even more so now that the images are at a higher resolution.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6014_25_gigabyte_z87x_oc_force_intel_z87_motherboard_review.png

 

Finally, we finish up our look at the BIOS in the other mode. Normally, when we have the option, we'd always move straight over to this one to overclock; especially when GIGABYTE had the 3D BIOS, which was just a pain in the butt to navigate. The new BIOS though, are really fantastic, and we find our desire to move to this one is simply not as great as before; especially when we can have the High Resolution option in the other mode, which gives us an absolute wealth of information.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases