TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,919 Reviews & Articles | 38,140 News Posts

Mionix Avior 7000 Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Avior 7000

Mionix Avior 7000 Optical Gaming Mouse Review

In search for an ambidextrous mouse with an optical sensor? The new Avior 7000 from Mionix may fit your needs. Let's take a look.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 15, 2014 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%      Manufacturer: Mionix

Inside the Avior 7000

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_16_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The majority of the components are slightly out of focus, but that is done on purpose. If you do plan to tear apart the Avior, be very careful of the short ribbon cable connecting the top and bottom PCBs together for communication purposes.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_17_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the PCB from the top half of the mouse, we find four TTC red switches for the side buttons. They require a bit of pressure to use, and are audible when clicked. In the center is a pair of Pi switches, which are softer, but still audible, and are used for the DPI selection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_18_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Back to the lower section of the mouse, we see that under the left click button there is an Omron D2FC-F-7N, followed by the (20M) that denotes the twenty million click lifespan that this switch offers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_19_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The 32-bit ARM STM32F103 MCU that we see here takes care of the USB 2.0 communications, offers the 128kb of onboard memory, and operates at 32MHz.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_20_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Flipping the mouse one hundred and eighty degrees, we can now see the Avago ADNS3310 optical sensor used in the Avior 7000. This sensor has the model number of PMW3310DH-AW0T, for those who want to look for the white papers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_21_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

That leaves us with the second twenty million click lifespan Omron switch, used under the right click button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6006_22_mionix_avior_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After reassembling the Avior 7000, we went ahead and connected it to a PC. When the mouse first powers on, you are greeted with this light blue color. As with all the other Mionix mice, you do still have plenty of options for colors, with the ability to use the RGB scale for a total of 16.8 million choices.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases