TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,178 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

SteelSeries Rival Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Rival

SteelSeries Rival Optical Gaming Mouse Review
SteelSeries goes back to the design room for a right handed mouse with plenty of new features. It's time to see if the Rival can stand its ground.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 17, 2013 10:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SteelSeries

Inside the Rival

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_18_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Inside of the Rival we find that the top half houses a PCB that is connected via thin wires, and at the back is a large cut-away to allow the LED to shine through to the logo. On the right is the main PCB and components that we are about to show in detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_19_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing and flipping over the PCB from the top half shows that the CPI button just behind the scroll wheel uses a white TTC switch. It has a medium actuation pressure and makes an audible click when pressed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_20_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As for the pair of side buttons on the left side of the Rival, they are backed with white HC switches. Here there is a heavy actuation force required, and there is also an audible click when it is pressed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_21_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the left click button is a white switch, much like those we just looked at, but here they are designed by SteelSeries. These switches are light on the force needed, are near dead silent, and have a thirty million click lifespan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_22_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Taking on the task of both controlling the Rival as well as communications is the 48MHz Freescale MC9S08JM16 MCU. It is a selectable 8-bit or 16-bit processor, and should be plenty to keep the Rival functioning well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_23_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is also the first time we are seeing this Pixart Imaging PAW33100H optical sensor. You can take it as far as PAW33 before Google stops providing information. We can only go from the packaging, specs, and what the software will show us.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_24_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The scroll wheel click function is backed with another white TTC switch with the same feel as the one for the CPI button. The right click button is also backed with the same SteelSeries switch that we found on the other side of the Rival.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_25_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After a bit of assembly, the Rival is all back in one piece, and we went ahead and added the power. While you do have full color options for the illumination of the scroll wheel individually from the heel of the mouse, it comes set to SteelSeries orange out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_26_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Spinning the Rival around, the heel of the mouse is also glowing orange now, and the LED lighting is also set to "breathe" mode without any fiddling in the software first.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases