TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,213 Reviews & Articles | 40,215 News Posts

Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Theron Infrared Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Theron Infrared

Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Theron Infrared Gaming Mouse Review
The Theron makes a return for Thermaltake and Tt eSPORTS, just this time it is sporting a new infrared optical sensor. Let's take a look.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 31, 2013 2:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Tt eSPORTS

Inside the Theron Infrared

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_20_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After removing four screws and being very gentle getting it down to these five sub sections, we can now get a look at what sort of tech is being used inside the Theron IR.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_21_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The on-the-fly DPI buttons use ZHIJ switches, but as you look closer to you, you can see the page forward and page back buttons use HC switches, as does the Macro button on the other side. If you do plan to dig any deeper, you also need to disconnect the ribbon cable that transmits the signals from the sensor to the micro processor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_23_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left click button is backed with the Omron D2FC-F-7N switches and is rated to take on five million clicks with softer activation until it starts to fail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_24_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right click button uses the same Omron switch with five million click capability as well. Inside of the Omron switch you will see the ZHIJ switch used to record the scroll wheel being pressed down.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_22_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

On the top PCB you will find the Sonin micro processor that uses the six megahertz oscillator and the 128KB of onboard memory with the red and blue paint dobs on it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_25_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I am still waiting on the final word from Thermaltake on the make and model of this infrared optical sensor, because Google turned up nothing searching the numbers on the back of it. I still would hazard to guess that this is an Avago optical sensor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_26_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the mouse now reassembled, I plugged in the USB cable and the lighting comes to life. As you can see, the left side of the mouse now has that slit illuminated and it will add a small flood of light to the mouse pad, too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_27_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

From the back, I had to wait for the timing to be right with the battle dragon always being set to "breathe" mode, I was able to capture it and the lower section of lighting to give you an idea of what to expect.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_28_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

These two lights signify the DPI setting. With both lights on I am in the highest setting, and with no lights I am in the lowest. For setting two and three, the light swaps from bottom to the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_29_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Just like the other two do, the strip of red LED lighting is now illuminated on the right side as well. This leaves the Theron IR surrounded on three sides with light, and also surrounds it on the desk, giving it a very cool appearance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_30_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The last bit that I want to show off is the scroll wheel. The entire wheel used to be clear in the older version Theron, but is now glowing red. There is the ability to turn these lights off completely, but the DPI lights will always be active, unless on the lowest setting, where no lights are used.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases