TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,080 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

CM Storm Havoc Professional Gaming Laser Mouse Review - Inside the Havoc

CM Storm Havoc Professional Gaming Laser Mouse Review

Today we review one of the newest gaming mice to come out from Cooler Master's CM Storm gaming division. Let's check out the Havoc.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 30, 2013 4:59 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: CM Storm

Inside the Havoc

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_20_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the top there is a PCB with pad type switches for the DPI adjustment buttons, and that signal is sent through the ribbon cable to the lower PCB. As for the profile, forward page, and the back page buttons, they are on another PCB to the right and use a 4-wire cable to communicate with the micro processor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_21_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is the lower section of the mouse with the main PCB now exposed. I had to remove both cables to allow me to get this far, as with then connected, it makes things rather tough to get to.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_22_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the left click button there is an Omron D2FC-F-7N. This specific version of the switch is rated at five million clicks before failure. This helps pricing too, but keep in mind, there are 10 and 20 million click offerings in other mice, and helps explain why this isn't an $80+ offering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_23_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right click button also uses the same Omron switch, but for the click of the scroll wheel, it is backed with a red ZHIJ switch. Nothing wrong with this choice as the scroll wheel gets used much less than the other two.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_24_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

In this image you will see the 128KB memory IC on the left with the red and yellow paint dobs on it. Then there is the Sonin 32-bit microprocessor that is in control of making sense of all the signals and information to and from the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_25_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

Just behind the scroll wheel is where you will find the Avago ADNS9800 laser sensor. It is directly soldered to the underside of this PCB, but for added stability, CM Storm also glue the pegs it set on to the PCB to make sure it doesn't vibrate inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_26_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

After some reassembly, and of course plugging the mouse into a PC, it fully illuminates and is ready to go. The center of the scroll wheel and the DPI lights are changeable, but the DPI lights closest to us are always red, no matter the color setting in the software.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_27_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

The heel of the mouse is now illuminated. I bet if you go back and look at the first image like this you can more easily make out that logo, but once illuminated, there is no doubt of the maker of the mouse on your desk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5623_28_cm_storm_havoc_professional_gaming_laser_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is one last glamour shot, with the LEDs active, but I wanted to get a better angle to show off the matte finish of the majority of the mouse as it plays against the shiny section that runs down the right side.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below