TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,929 Reviews & Articles | 38,198 News Posts

Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the G700s

Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse Review

The Logitech G700s may just change your outlook on wireless rechargeable mice, especially for gaming. You need to see this. (NASDAQ:LOGI)

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: May 29, 2013 9:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: Logitech

Inside the G700s

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_14_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There are four screws that hold all of this together, and since they are under the only set of feet you get, I wouldn't suggest opening it. Inside you can see that the top half has some of the buttons controlled with a PCB built-in while others need to press buttons on the top PCB on the right section of the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_15_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There are in fact a pair of Omron switches used for the right click and left click buttons only. This will give you up to 10 million keystrokes worth of life out of these two buttons and should ensure the G700s can spend a long time working on your desk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_16_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Next to the Omron switches you can see a trio of the pad style switches used for the G button functionality. These are also used to record the tile movements of the scroll wheel assembly at the front of the G700s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_17_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After pulling a pin and sliding the bar out of the way, I noticed that the entire scroll wheel assembly pops right out. It does make cleaning debris from it after a lot of use easier, but I think this design was used since the tactile scroll switch has now been moved to the top of the mouse, whereas before you had to flip the mouse to get that switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_18_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the scroll wheel assembly did give me access to look at the laser sensor in the mouse, and here I found the Avago ADNS A9808 sitting on the lower PCB. I would have loved to look at the 16-bit processor and other bits, but the dual layer PCB construction wouldn't allow me to remove just one PCB out of the way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_19_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Also, with the wheel out of the way, you can see the exact type of Omron switches used in the G700s, and as you can see they are the D2FC-F-7M with (20M) at the end denoting lifespan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_20_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Due to not wanting to break anything, I did not remove the brown PCB from the top half of the mouse. With a flashlight I was able to see that the four left side buttons use similar pad type switches we saw in the lower half, just these switches have signal sent to the lower section via the 4-pin cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5512_21_logitech_g700s_rechargeable_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Now with the G700s all back together and fired up, you can definitely see the greenish lights on the side denoting a full charge. When it loses charge, you will get only two lights of amber for quite a while and at 25% charge one light will illuminate, but this time in red.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases