TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,016 News Posts

ROCCAT LUA Tri-Button Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the ROCCAT LUA

ROCCAT takes a step back in time to deliver us a classic design in this ambidextrous three-button mouse, the LUA.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Oct 31, 2012 10:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ROCCAT

Inside the ROCCAT LUA

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_17_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Once I removed the feet and pulled four screws I was able to remove the top of the LUA without any issue. The upper shell is a two piece design that uses the black plastic on the inside and the soft-touch coated plastic is clipped to it. ROCCAT also left a hole at the back for the LED lighting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_18_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the top out of the way you can see the majority of the components used in the LUA. The Avago sensor has a layer of foam on it, and I think it is due to the low height of the mouse, and this should absorb any contact the top half could make with the sensor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_19_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left click and right click buttons both use the Omron switches seen here. I took the image from this angle to allow you to see the specific version used.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_20_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

For the scroll wheel click and the DPI selector button, less expensive TTC switches are used for those.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_22_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the foam you can now see the Avago ADNS A3050 Pro 2 optical sensor used on the LUA. You can now also see the 16-bit chip above it that will be communicating with the PC during use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_23_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

To give the logo the pop ROCCAT was looking for, this large LED will glow with arctic blue light to give the ROCCAT logo on to plenty of light to make it clearly visible when powered.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5024_24_roccat_lua_tri_button_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the LUA reassembled and now plugged in, you can see that the logo surely is bright and blue just as described.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases