TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,908 Reviews & Articles | 38,049 News Posts

PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 1200-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

PC Power & Cooling does a great job of providing great performance without emptying the wallet with the new Silencer Mk III 1200W power supply.

| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 12, 2012 7:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: PC Power & Cooling

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_10_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Opening the box we find things seem to be well packed. Thick foam surrounds the power supply on all sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_11_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top features the I/O specification label as well as the serial number. The unit is pure white so make sure your hands are clean when handling the unit or fingerprints are sure to show up after installing it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_12_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides feature the same logo, just inverted on the opposite side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_14_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The back is standard with the honeycomb venting as well as the AC input and on/off rocker switch. The switch below is for selecting the fan mode that we spoke about earlier. The only complaint we have about it is that it isn't labeled in any way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_15_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the front of the Silencer Mk III 1200W, we find the modular connectors with covers on them. There are four for peripheral cables and four for PCI-E cables. Rather than snapping in place with plastic connectors, PC Power & Cooling chose metal connectors that screw on tightly. It is said that is said to provide better and more stable electrical connectivity than regular plastic modular plugs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_17_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All modular cables are flat which should provide for easier routing and increased airflow within the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4978_18_pc_power_cooling_silencer_mk_iii_1200_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the power supply is the user manual, warranty card, mounting screws, zip ties, and AC input cord.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases