TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,085 News Posts

Thecus N4800 4-Bay Battery Backup NAS Review - Thecus N4800 NAS

Chris' favorite SOHO NAS is back, this time with an upgraded processor and more RAM.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Jul 1, 2012 4:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Thecus

Thecus N4800 NAS

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_11_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

We've seen several NAS makers try to tone down the appearance on the front of their NAS products, but we feel that is the wrong direction. Thecus has actually designed a very useful system that displays relevant information without the need of a PC. You can even use the menu / button system to setup your NAS and configure the RAID arrays.

 

USB 3.0 ports are now on the front of the NAS and provide much more bandwidth than the previous USB 2.0 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_12_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

Tucked away behind the front door is where you'll find the four HDD bays. The bays provide ventilation for the drives. A small vent to the left of the drives keeps the system components cool.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_13_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the N4800 are the same. The solid construction adds strength to the NAS, a statement we can't claim with NAS products in this class made of plastic construction.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_14_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

You'll notice there aren't any vents on either side. This keeps the noise level down and promotes better cooling for the disks.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_15_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we see the battery installed and the power brick connected. The cord has a special clip that keeps the cord from getting in the way of your other connectors. It is details like this that make Thecus one of the world's premier NAS builders.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_16_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

Connectors ""o-plenty on the back. The new HDMI and audio line out increase functionality, but all of the normal ethernet, eSATA and USB ports are there as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4800_17_thecus_n4800_4_bay_battery_backup_nas_review.jpg

 

When we talk about the current flagship SMB product from Thecus we can't walk away without mentioning the dual displays. The OLED is on the top and the standard LED is on the left side.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases