TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,766 News Posts

NZXT Switch 810 Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

NZXT threw all their cards into one hat and came out with a chassis for everyone. Get a look at the NZXT Switch 810!

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 23, 2012 1:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_35_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Putting the DVD drive in was simple enough and the stealth cover went right on and functioned perfectly. To install my SSD I pulled this tray out and screwed down the drive. Then I just slid it in and allowed the connections to be made here for me.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_36_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The means to get started all I needed to do was pull off two of these covers, work a tool-less latch and use a couple thumbscrews and the front is done and the drives are in place. It looks exactly like when we started this review and I love that my drive doesn't break up all of the shiny!

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_37_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since the case was so large it swallows my build for breakfast and demands more. Look above the board at all of that room to house a radiator and fans. Since they provided the black adapter, I figured I would use my red 24-pin connection to match the RAM and CPU fan color.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_38_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Nothing to complain about back here either! The cards went in smooth and lined up well and the rear I/O plate went right in as well. The PSU is a bit tricky to get on that back corner support post, but once there, it also aligned perfectly.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_39_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I can't really believe the thickness of wiring I am going to try to close the door over in this build. I have the 24-pin lying on top of the I/O wiring and then I have the GPU leads over the top of both of those. This will be a real good test for this case, or any case for that matter.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_40_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I added the panels with ease since they clip in a rail at the front and then you just gently press them into place and add the screws. Here is the Switch 810 in its last image before we add some power to it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_41_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the chassis powered up, there is a white glow around the front of the top cover and the slightest flicker of white LED just behind the power button located at the top, the dull piece in the shiny rolled over edge. Other than that there is no LED lighting unless you add it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4552_42_nzxt_switch_810_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

A case with a window, in my opinion should really highlight the hardware behind it. Although the plastic used is sort of distorted to the view, you can see your entire motherboard and everything added to it pretty nicely and makes hiding all of those wires well worth the effort.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases