TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,918 Reviews & Articles | 38,135 News Posts

Synology DS212 2-Bay NAS Review - The Synology DS212

Synology is gaining our attention with their easy to use NAS products and quality builds. Today we look at the DS212, a true value offering.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2012 2:20 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Synology

The Synology DS212

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_10_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Synology DS212 NAS appliance. The piano black cover hides the two 3.5" hard drives that shipped with our system. On the right side a set of four LEDs light up and give the user a quick glance status update on the system. Further down we see the front USB 2.0 port and the SD card reader as well as the green icon button that allows you to copy the data from the two front ports easily. A power button is at the very bottom and is also lit by an LED.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_11_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The DS212 is as attractive as it us functional. On the sides Synology has their company logo.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_12_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The unit is cooled by one large fan to keep the audible noise down. The power supply is outside of the main box and comes in the form of a power brick. Dual USB 3.0 ports are on the back side as is the gigabit Ethernet port.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_13_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we see the front without the cover on it. The cover allows air to flow over the drives and acts as a sound diffuser as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_14_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Included in the package is the power brick, power cable and a decent length Ethernet cable.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_15_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

After pulling the drives I was very excited to see SAS connectors in the DS212 since I have several 3TB SAS drives. The DS212 does not support SAS though, so my drives are back on the shelf.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4532_16_synology_ds212_2_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

One of the most overlooked areas on NAS servers is the drive sleds. Here you want plastic instead of aluminum or steel because the plastic absorbs vibration and doesn't transfer it to the drive like the metal sleds. Synology also uses rubber grommets between the drive and the sled, another vibration arrestor.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases