TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,062 Reviews & Articles | 38,961 News Posts

QNAP Turbo NAS TS-659 Pro II Review - The QNAP TS-659 Pro II

QNAP has updated many of its classic designs with new functions. Take a classic and improve it? - Sounds good to us!

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Oct 25, 2011 4:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: QNAP

The QNAP TS-659 Pro II

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_09_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

The 659 Pro II is an advanced unit with a lot of features. When the system is up and running your focus is quickly drawn to the LED display that's just behind the dark plastic cover. This display gives you information about your system in the form of status updates.

 

There are six drive sleds and each has its own locking mechanism. A power button is on the lower left side as is the first USB 3.0 port.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_10_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

Around the front USB port is a button labelled COPY. With this feature you simply plug in your storage drive, like a thumb drive and the NAS will copy the data to a designated folder.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_11_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

Vent holes are present on the side of the TS-659 Pro II. This is the motherboard side of the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_12_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

Nearly all of the connections are made on the back of the Turbo NAS. Another USB 3.0 port is located on this side as are four additional USB 2.0 ports. The NAS also has dual eSATA and dual Ethernet. Three fans keep the system cool; two larger fans for the HDDs and circuit board components and a smaller fan for the internal power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_13_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

All of the ports are a good distance apart so you can easily make connections while the system is up and running.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_14_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

It may seem a bit trivial, but one of my favorite features is that QNAP labels the drive sleds. I take my TS-809 apart every month to clean dust out of the NAS and with the drives being labeled I know where they go back in every time.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4378_15_qnap_turbo_nas_ts_659_pro_ii_review.jpg

 

Included with the QNAP TS-659 Pro II Turbo NAS are Ethernet cables, a power cable, quick start guide, software disk and screws for mounting both 2.5 and 3.5 form factor drives in the sleds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases