TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,408 News Posts

ioSafe Rugged Portable External Hard Drive Review - The ioSafe Rugged Portable

Maker of tough stuff, ioSafe now protects your data on the go with the new Rugged Portable.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Sep 13, 2011 10:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ioSafe

The ioSafe Rugged Portable

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_06_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

There really isn't a lot that can be said for a rectangle bock of aluminum. It is aluminum, but if you want something even stronger, call ioSafe and asked about the titanium model that is available by special request.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_07_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

On the bottom ioSafe installed four rubber pads so the Rugged Portable won't slide across your desk easily. I don't think it would move around much on your tank dashboard either.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_08_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

There aren't many extras to mess with on the data connector side either. There is a Kensington lock system and a USB 3.0 mini port.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_09_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

To achieve this level of protection the Rugged Portable isn't small. It isn't light nor wimpy. There is some heft here, but not enough to keep it planted on your desk. You can stuff it in a backpack or purse quite easily.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_10_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

The overall size isn't much larger than a traditional 3.5" HDD.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_11_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

Given that the outside is as bland as you can get, we'll have to take a closer look at the little bits and pieces that make the Rugged Portable more utilitarian. Here we see one of the screws that holds the cover on. It has a rubber O-ring to keep dust and dirt out of the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_12_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

In its most basic form we see the thick rubber surround that covers the HDD on the right side. All of the electronics are compacted on one side and even the HDD surround has a rubber surround for added shock protection.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4291_13_iosafe_rugged_portable_external_hard_drive.jpg

 

With the drive in place we can start to see just how protected the 2.5" notebook drive really is.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases