TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,095 News Posts

ASRock Z68 Extreme4 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We already had a good look over the ASRock Z68 Extreme4, but now the NDAs lifted we start to look at performance.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 11, 2011 6:52 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

ASRock have opted for the UEFI BIOS which doesn't come as a surprise since they used it on their P67 motherboards. That means you can of course use the mouse, but most will probably find it easier and faster to use the keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_03_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The first screen you're greeted with just gives us a quick rundown of what we're dealing with. As you can see, these pictures were taken when our CPU was overclocked.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_04_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_05_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_06_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The OC Tweaker section gives you really everything to do with overclocking. Unlike the P67 Extreme6, though, DRAM settings have been thrown into a separate menu.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_07_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Advanced lets you dive deeper into the configuration of the board. Most won't have a need to go into this area; some may venture into the CPU area, though, to disable some of the tech that can limit overclocking potential.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_08_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_09_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_10_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4074_11_asrock_z68_extreme4_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Scrolling through the rest of the screens doesn't hold any surprises with H/W Monitor, Boot, Security and Exit all being quite self-explanatory.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases