TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,037 News Posts

Quick Review: OCZ Gold XTE Series PC3-17000 4GB Kit

We check out a more P67 friendly Gold series kit from OCZ which carries a default 2133MHz DDR clock.

| DDR-3 Memory in RAM | Posted: Feb 14, 2011 2:53 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: OCZ Technology

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_01_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.png

 

While on the P55 platform 2000MHz DDR memory worked great due to our divider choices, and 2133MHz was a bit of a pain due to having to tweak extra settings, the tables have really turned on the latest Intel chipset.

 

We've mentioned already a number of times, including in our OCZ Platinum XTE review of the 2000MHz DDR kit, because of there being no divider for 2000MHz DDR you have to adjust the very limited BCLK. What it ultimately means is a bit of a hit and miss experience with 2000MHz DDR memory. If it's good overclocking RAM, you'll be ok. If not, you could struggle to hit the default clocks due to the limited option in the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_04_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.jpg

 

Today, though, we hope to completely miss that issue with the Gold XTE series which while lower on the food chain in the OCZ line up; does carry with it a higher clock speed; in this case 2133MHz DDR.

 

Like the Platinum series there's not much going on in the package with the two modules being the main highlight. The two 2GB modules come in at 2133MHz DDR as we have already mentioned, and on the timings front we're seeing a 10-10-10-30-1T @ 1.65v setup.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_05_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.jpg

 

Setting our motherboard to run at 2133MHz DDR and manually setting the timings and voltage to as above result in a boot up straight away. You can see that CPU-Z validation here. Now in Windows at the default speeds, it was time to see what performance was like.

 

Under AIDA64 we ended up with Read / Write numbers of 21,260 MB/s / 18,148 MB/s, Copy speed of 22,248 MB/s and latency of 39.9ns. Looking at SiSoftware Sandra, our memory bandwidth numbers are 27,210 MB/s for Integer and 27,220 MB/s for Float.

 

For 2133MHz DDR memory these are some of the slower numbers we've seen and that's due to the more relaxed timings that are present on this kit. Since most kits we've looked at haven't had any problems dealing with a slight bump in the BCLK, we have done the same to the OCZ hoping that the looser timings that are present will mean it won't run into any problems.

 

With the BCLK set to 103 and no problem getting into Windows, we went back into the BIOS and set it to 104. What we ended up with was a memory clock of 2219MHz DDR which is the highest we've had on this machine so far. No doubt the looser timings helped. You can see that CPU-Z validation here. And now it's time to see what the increased speed does for performance.

 

Under AIDA64 we ended up with Read / Write numbers of 22,126 MB/s / 18,917 MB/s, Copy speed of 23,370 MB/s and latency of 38.7ns.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Looking at SiSoftware Sandra, our memory bandwidth numbers are 28,330 MB/s for Integer and 28,110 MB/s for Float.

 

Like our other kits that we've had joy overclocking with, we headed back to the BIOS and changed our CPU multiplier to 45. While we booted, we couldn't get in to Windows, so what we did was drop the BCLK from 104 to 103 like our other kits and we got into Windows with no dramas.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_06_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.png

 

Once in we went back too AIDA64 and ended up with Read / Write numbers of 24,681 MB/s / 23,934 MB/s. You can also see our improved copy and latency numbers in the screenshot above.

 

At default the OCZ performs a little slower than the other 2133MHz kits we've looked at due to those looser timings. Those same timings do two things for us, though. One, they give us the ability to overclock a little higher. Secondly, and probably more importantly, the looser timings help keep pricing down, making this the cheapest 2133MHz DDR kit we've tested.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_03_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.jpg

 

If you're after the MHz more than anything else, this is a great little kit as it carries with it a cheaper price tag. The more relaxed timings also give us a little more headroom when it comes to overclocking. Of course, you could relax the timings on other kits, but you're going to be paying more, so we're not sure why you would choose that option.

 

TweakTown image 3/8/3850_1234_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3850_99_quick_review_ocz_gold_xte_series_pc3_17000_4gb_kit.png

 

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more RAM content at our RAM reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below