Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,680 Reviews & Articles | 45,659 News Posts

G.Skill Flare Series PC3-16000 (2000MHz) 4GB Kit

Designed for the X6 AMD platform, we see if G.Skill can light a flare that's nice and bright for AMD users.

By: | DDR-3 Memory in RAM | Posted: Aug 18, 2010 7:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: G.Skill

Introduction

 

content/3/4/3462_02.jpg

 

I've had the Flare kit from G.Skill for what feels like forever now. It has been sitting on the top of the to-do pile, but delays with getting an AMD X6 processor and a motherboard capable of achieving the rated speeds meant that the kit kept getting pushed back further and further.

 

Everything has finally come together and it's time to see what the new Flare series is capable of. PC3-16000, or 2000MHz DDR, might not sound all that impressive in a time which we see kits exceeding 2500MHz DDR. What's different about the kit we're looking at today is the fact that it's designed for AMD systems as opposed to Intel. We've been told that it's a lot harder to get faster kits up and running on AMD systems, but it seems that the new X6 processors have brought new possibilities.

 

Before we get into the performance side of things, we'll first cover the package and take a closer look at the modules themselves. Once that's done, we'll have a closer look at the specifications and also cover how overclocking went with the kit. Finally, we'll get into the performance itself and then wrap everything up. So without delay, let's take a look at what G.Skill is offering.

 

The Package

 

content/3/4/3462_03.jpg

 

content/3/4/3462_04.jpg

 

content/3/4/3462_05.jpg

 

content/3/4/3462_06.jpg

 

The package itself doesn't have much going for it. We don't mind this all that much as long as all of the important information is present. Along with the modules themselves, a fan is also included that is used to help keep the modules nice and cool.

 

The Modules

 

content/3/4/3462_07.jpg

 

content/3/4/3462_08.jpg

 

The actual modules aren't anything too fancy. The heatsink design, while slightly different in design to what we've seen in the past, isn't anything too outrageous. We've got the Flare logo on both sides, the G.Skill logo on one side and a sticker giving us the module information on the other side.

 

The kit as a whole looks and feels good and we like the black and red design. It's a pity that the green PCB looks a little out of place against the rest of the color scheme, though.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down