TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS USB-N13 802.11n Adapter - Setup

ASUS is following up their habit of making multi-function equipment with their USB-N13 wireless adapter.

| Wireless Adapters in Networking | Posted: Aug 9, 2010 2:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ASUS

Setup

 

We have already told you that the shipping drivers did not work with our version of Windows (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) but that does not mean that they do not work. Once we downloaded the latest driver and utility from ASUS' website we were in business.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_10.png

 

Once things are installed you are able to access the menu from the system tray icon.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_11.png

 

Once you are in the Configuration Utility things get more interesting. The first page looks just like any other wireless utility with information about your current connection.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_12.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_13.png

 

Things get really interesting when we hit the Config page. Here is where you can change the mode of the USB-N13. You can have it run as a client station or as a software based Access Point and a Client Station.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_14.png

 

When you turn on the Soft AP you have to tell the USB-N13 which connection you are going to share with members of the wireless group. This can be an internal adapter or even a Cellular Wireless card.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_15.png

 

Once you decide to enable the Soft AP, you have to give it an SSID as well as establish an encryption key. You will not get the chance to change the encryption. You are getting WPA2 Pre Shared Key using AES (not that I mind at all).

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3441_16.png

 

There are a couple of advanced items that you can run as well. The one that I find the most interesting is the Multimedia/Gaming Environment option. Interestingly enough, there is no Xlink mode to be found on the Windows 7 version of the drivers.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases