ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review

We take the ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC graphics card for a spin, packing Navi and 8GB of GDDR6.

@anthony256
Published Wed, Mar 25 2020 11:36 PM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 94%Manufacturer: ASUS (B082G4J2WG)

Introduction, Pricing & Detailed Look

The launch of the Radeon RX 5500 XT graphics card by AMD back in December 2019 saw the mid-range market open up in a big way. AMD is offering the 4GB variant of the Radeon RX 5500 XT for around $180, while the 8GB version costs upwards of $200.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 503 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 43 IMAGES

Today we have the ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC graphics card, which sells for $210 on Amazon. This ain't a bad deal at all, as MSI offers its Radeon RX 5500 XT GAMING X -- my review here -- for $225. The custom MSI card has a better cooler, but we'll have to see if the cooler on the ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC is up for the job.

Detailed Look

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 501 | TweakTown.comASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 502 | TweakTown.com

ASUS has a slick box for its Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC graphics card, where ASUS is really pushing its AUTO-EXTREME 'perfected automated manufacturing' on the box -- because you kinda can't not notice it, right?!

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 503 | TweakTown.com

ASUS is using an 'Axial-tech fan design' for its cooler, with the two fans in question here not spinning up until the card is put under pressure. This means it's silent right up until you've jumped into a game.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 505 | TweakTown.com

We have a backplate on offer here, which protects the card from any damages that might occur going in, or out of your gaming PC.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 504 | TweakTown.com

From the top of the card, I don't understand why ASUS couldn't keep to a dual-slot design -- while there is a single 8-pin PCIe power connector at the end.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 506 | TweakTown.com

From the bottom, we can see the heat sink array and 2.5-slot design of the card.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 507 | TweakTown.com

As for display connectivity, ASUS includes 3 x DisplayPort and 1 x HDMI output.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 508 | TweakTown.com

A closer look at the 8-pin PCIe power connector.

Buy at Amazon

ASUS AMD Radeon RX 5500XT Overclocked O8G

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$209.99$209.99$209.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/25/2020 at 2:14 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Test System Specs & Synthetic Benchmarks

GPU Test Rig Specs

Welcome to the latest revision of our GPU test bed, with our system being upgraded from the Intel Core i7-7700K to the Core i7-8700K. The CPU is cooled by the Corsair H115i PRO cooler, with the 8700K overclocked to 5GHz. We've stayed with GIGABYTE for our motherboard with their awesome Z370 AORUS Gaming 7.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1060 | TweakTown.com

We approached our friends at HyperX for a kit of their kick ass HyperX Predator DDR4-2933MHz RAM (HX429C15PB3AK4/32), with 2 x 8GB sticks for a total of 16GB DDR4-2933. The RAM stands out through every minute of our testing as it has beautiful RGB lights giving the system a slick look while benchmarking our lives away, while the Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 motherboard joins in with its own array of RGB lighting.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1061 | TweakTown.com

Anthony's Test System Specifications

Additional Images

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1063 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1064 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1065 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 1066 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 1080p

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4000 | TweakTown.com

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 01 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 1440p

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 02 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Fire Strike - 4K

3DMark has been a staple benchmark for years now, all the way back to when The Matrix was released and Futuremark had bullet time inspired benchmarks. 3DMark is the perfect tool to see if your system - most important, your CPU and GPU - is performing as it should. You can search results for your GPU, to see if it falls in line with other systems based on similar hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 03 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 04 | TweakTown.com

3DMark TimeSpy Extreme

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1080p

Heaven is an intensive GPU benchmark that really pushes your silicon to its limits. It's another favorite of ours as it has some great scaling for multi-GPU testing, and it's great for getting your GPU to 100% for power and noise testing.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 07 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 1440p

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 08 | TweakTown.com

Heaven - 4K

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 09 | TweakTown.com

Game Benchmarks - 1080p

1080p Benchmarks

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 32 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 37 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 47 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 42 | TweakTown.com

1080p Benchmark Performance Thoughts

We have identical performance to the competing Radeon RX 5500 XT graphics cards from the ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC, where at 1080p you won't tell the difference between them.

AAA games like Shadow of the Tomb Raider buzz along at 83FPS average, while Shadow of the Tomb Raider pulls 92FPS average at 1080p. If you're into esports games like Overwatch, League of Legends, Apex Legends or others -- then you'll have an easy 100FPS+ average from games like that on the ASUS RX 5500 XT DUAL OC.

Game Benchmarks - 1440p

1440p Benchmarks

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 31 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 36 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 46 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 41 | TweakTown.com

1440p Benchmark Performance Thoughts

We have near identical performance to the rest of the custom Radeon RX 5500 XT graphics cards from the ASUS RX 5500 XT DUAL OC, where 1440p performance might drop but it's still great. We're still talking about 63FPS average in Shadow of War, and just over 60FPS average in Far Cry New Dawn, and just under 60FPS average in Shadow of the Tomb Raider.

The 8GB of RAM will give it some of that magical "future-proofing" that I hate to even refer to, but 8GB of framebuffer is definitely better than 4GB. Would you pay more for it? For esports games no, for AAA games -- maybe. That comes down to the games you're playing, and how much VRAM they consume (and of course, how much you want to spend on a graphics card).

Game Benchmarks - 4K

4K Benchmarks

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4006 | TweakTown.com

Middle-earth: Shadow of War is a sequel to the popular Shadow of Mordor, which was powered by the Lithtech engine. When cranked up to maximum detail, it will chew through your GPU and its VRAM like it's nothing.

You can buy Middle-earth: Shadow of War at Amazon.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 30 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4013 | TweakTown.com

Metro Exodus is one of the hardest tests that our graphics cards have to go through, with 4A Games' latest creation being one of the best looking games on the market. It is a serious test that pushes GPUs to their limits, and also features RTX technologies like DLSS.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 35 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4015 | TweakTown.com

Far Cry New Dawn was developed by Ubisoft, and is powered the Dunia Engine, an engine that has been modified over the years for Far Cry and last used in Far Cry 5. Dunia Engine itself was a modified version of CRYENGINE, scaling incredibly well on all sorts of hardware.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 45 | TweakTown.com
ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 4002 | TweakTown.com

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is one of the latest games to join our graphics card benchmark lineup, with the game built using the Foundation engine as a base, the same engine in Rise of the Tomb Raider. Eidos Montreal R&D department made lots of changes to the engine during the development of Shadow of the Tomb Raider to make it one of the best-looking games out right now.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 40 | TweakTown.com

4K Benchmark Performance Thoughts

Please don't buy this graphics card for 4K gaming -- but if you do, you'll enjoy around 30FPS with some tweaked settings in some AAA games. In esports games, 4K shouldn't be a problem at all if you are wanting to hit up to around 60FPS average with low in-game visual settings in something like Apex Legends or Overwatch.

Temp, Power & Final Thoughts

Temperatures

The ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC hits 60C max under full loads, the same as the ASRock RX 5500 XT Phantom Gaming graphics card. So it joins the club of one of the coolest-operating cards we've tested, while the fans don't make anywhere near as much noise as the custom ASRock offering.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 112 | TweakTown.com

When you're not gaming, ASUS doesn't have the fans spinning up so the card is completely silent.

Power Consumption

Another nice touch is that ASUS has the lowest power consumption of all of the custom Radeon RX 5500 XT graphics cards that I've tested so far: 170W for my entire Core i7-8700K test rig.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 111 | TweakTown.com

Final Thoughts

ASUS has a much cheaper Radeon RX 5500 XT on offer with its DUAL OC variant costing just $210, versus the $245 for the ASRock Radeon RX 5500 XT Phantom Gaming graphics card. The ASUS performs virtually identically, and in a blind test no one would be able to pick the two apart.

ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC Graphics Card Review 503 | TweakTown.com

If you're in the market to buy a new Navi-powered AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT then ASUS has quite the appealing card here -- and from my review, you can see it is actually the best offering among all the Radeon RX 5500 XT graphics cards. It's $10 cheaper than the MSI Radeon RX 5500 XT GAMING X, $20 cheaper than the SAPPHIRE Radeon RX 5500 XT PULSE OC, and $40 cheaper than the ASRock Radeon RX 5500 XT Phantom Gaming -- but with identical gaming performance.

It has 8GB of VRAM so you're "future proof" with games that are starting to push higher VRAM requirements, like DOOM Eternal for example.

All-in-all ASUS has the best Radeon RX 5500 XT that I've reviewed so far, based on performance being identical to its competitors, thermals are equally as impressive, but ASUS wins on price. At just $210, it's the cheapest Radeon RX 5500 XT of the 4 that I've tested so far.

If you're gaming at 1080p or 1440p and don't want to spend over $250 on a graphics card, then you should definitely take a look at the ASUS Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC. If you were in the market for a Radeon RX 5500 XT specifically, then you should stop what you're doing and grab one. Sure, you can't run to a store and buy one because of coronavirus COVID-19, but you can order it online.

To finish: nice work, ASUS -- this is a mid-range card and not a ROG Strix enthusiast card, and yet it still kicks ass. It's good to see. Not everyone can afford higher-end graphics cards, so offering the same performance as a competitors card at $250, but for $210 is a great deal.

Performance

92%

Quality

95%

Features

90%

Value

98%

Overall

94%

The Bottom Line

The best Radeon RX 5500 XT that I've tested so far, as it is cheaper than the competitors but offers the same performance. Impressive stuff from ASUS once again with the Radeon RX 5500 XT DUAL OC.

TweakTown award
94%

ASUS AMD Radeon RX 5500XT Overclocked O8G

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$209.99$209.99$209.99
* Prices last scanned on 9/25/2020 at 2:14 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Anthony is a long time PC enthusiast with a passion of hate for games built around consoles. FPS gaming since the pre-Quake days, where you were insulted if you used a mouse to aim, he has been addicted to gaming and hardware ever since. Working in IT retail for 10 years gave him great experience with custom-built PCs. His addiction to GPU tech is unwavering.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles