Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,420 Reviews & Articles | 64,473 News Posts

Thermaltake Element Q Mini-ITX Chassis w/ 220W Power Supply (Page 7)

By Chad Sebring from Dec 12, 2010 @ 20:14 CST
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

content/3/7/3726_21.jpg

I grabbed my ZOTAC Atom/Ion motherboard and installed the m-ITX board into the chassis. All of the front panel wiring is a breeze to install, and I could route it and actually had to tie some of the wires together to shorten them.

content/3/7/3726_22.jpg

I chose to install a 3.5" hard drive in the Q just to show you that you can. Since there is a top on the chassis and you can't see the inside, I didn't care if it hung over my RAM sticks. There is also room enough to use the normal SATA cables as well; no need for 90┬░ ends.

content/3/7/3726_23.jpg

Something else I like about this design is that it allows for a full sized optical drive. This will make installing any optical drive you have handy, or a good reason to buy a Blu-ray drive. I folded the ends of the cables just to make things look neat for the images. There is plenty of room for these as you are about to see.

content/3/7/3726_24.jpg

With the SFX 220W power supply in place you can see there is plenty of room to get things installed and even have a bit of room left to tidy up the wiring.

content/3/7/3726_25.jpg

Looking in from the side with all the components in place, you can see Thermaltake leaves enough room to get air flowing inside the chassis. Even though it is only one fan doing all the work, there is sufficient room for it to draw all the air it needs.

content/3/7/3726_26.jpg

Putting the top and sides back on, the chassis looks much the same as it did when we first saw it. The only thing that has changed from the outside is the optical drive, which does sit flush with the front and leaves a nice look.

content/3/7/3726_27.jpg

The rear of the chassis fills up fast, but there is room for everything I needed. I didn't have a spare TV tuner to install or this system would be getting hooked up in my living room immediately. All we need to do now is add the power cord and get to the testing.

content/3/7/3726_28.jpg

When under power the only thing you may need to contend with is the bright glare of the red HDD activity light and the blue power lights. There is a benefit to that brightness; if you just want to glance to see if it is on, it will for sure let you know, as they are easy to see.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags