TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,114 News Posts

D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Motion Sensor Review

D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Motion Sensor Review
We add motion-sensing capabilities to the lab with the D-Link DCH-S150. Tyler tells us all about it and his experiences with the product and app. (TPE:2332)
| Security & Automation in Networking | Posted: Aug 9, 2014 6:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: D-Link

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_99_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

D-Link over the past few months has emerged as a leader in providing home users with the means to setup and maintain their own connected home.

 

Adding to this portfolio, D-Link has recently launched the Wi-Fi Motion Sensor DCH-S150. This motion sensor allows the average consumer a viable option to monitor motion in their home with its 26-foot PIR sensor. You can also pair the sensor with a Smart Plug to turn on lights when motion is sensed.

 

myDLink Home, an app available for both android and iOS devices, allows you to quickly setup your device and create events for it, so that you can be notified.

 

MSRP of the D-Link Wi-Fi Motion Sensor is set at $39.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_02_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.jpg

 

The motion sensor carries a rather small footprint with the PIR sensor visible on the front of the device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_03_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.jpg

 

The side of the unit houses the reset button tucked away in the pinhole and WPS button for quick setup.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_04_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.jpg

 

The plug side of the device just houses model and regulatory information.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_06_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

After installing and launching the app for iOS, we were greeted with a splash screen.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_07_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

Next up we started setup by selecting add new device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_08_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

The following few menus guide you through selecting a network and getting the device setup for use.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_09_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

During setup, there are a few times you have to switch back and forth between networks to complete configuration.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_10_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

You've made it about halfway through when you see this screen for the first time.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_11_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

Next up we have to enter the pincode for the device, as it is secured.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_13_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

Finally, the app has found the motion sensor on our network and we are ready to finish.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_14_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

In the next few steps, you just name your motion sensor however you would like.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_15_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

 

Lastly, we have our motion sensor as part of our home group. From here, as you add devices, you can build events for each device. For instance, motion can turn on a light connected to a smart plug (review coming soon).

 

The DCH-S150 is a device I welcome in my personal home. I like the idea of setting up and managing my own surveillance and now the ability to add separate motion sensing capabilities is great.

 

Setup of the device was simple and painless, and while it was a decently long process with the app, in the end we had a garage motion sensor setup and working well.

 

One downfall I did find via the app on iOS was it became quite buggy when trying to sign up for a myDlink account. For those that already have an account, you shouldn't have any issue, but for those that don't, I would explore signing up for an account via the website before setting up your motion sensor.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Motion Sensor for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Motion Sensor retails for $39.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The D-Link DCH-S150 Wi-Fi Motion Sensor retails for CDN$56.60 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6571_1234_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6571_100_d_link_dch_s150_wi_fi_motion_sensor_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases