TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,183 News Posts

D-Link DCH-M225 DLNA and AirPlay Wireless Audio Extender Review

D-Link DCH-M225 DLNA and AirPlay Wireless Audio Extender Review

Today Tyler checks out D-Link's DCH-M225, a great device for those wanting to stream music to their receiver wirelessly around your home or office. (TPE:2332)

| Wireless Adapters in Networking | Posted: Jul 9, 2014 10:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: D-Link

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_99_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

 

The ability to enjoy music in our homes is a luxury we all enjoy in some fashion. For those of us that have home theater setups, it's not always convenient to plug our portable media players into the receiver to stream music.

 

To aid in this situation, D-Link has recently launched its DCH-M225 Wireless Audio Extender that can turn any portable speaker or home receiver into an Airplay device, allowing you to stream audio from your smartphone. In addition to this, the Wireless Audio Extender has the ability to extend your wireless network via the built-in 802.11n functionality.

 

MSRP of the D-Link DCH-M225 is listed at $49.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_03_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.jpg

 

To test the functionality of the M225, D-Link sent along a separate portable speaker from Monoprice.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_04_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the M225 includes the extender along with reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_05_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.jpg

 

The front of the extender houses a single LED.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_06_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.jpg

 

Here we have the side of the unit, which is where we find the WPS button for quick connection to your network.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_07_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the unit houses the 3.5mm audio output.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_08_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

 

Setup of the unit is pretty straightforward, with the included wizard available from the web GUI.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_09_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

 

The second screen in the setup menu allows you to use WPS or configure the device manually.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_13_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

 

After setup has been completed, you can browse through the options of the device. Within here, as you can see, you can enable and disable Airplay and the DLNA service.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_14_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

 

As soon as setup was complete, I was able to switch right over to my iPhone 5s and open up the Airplay menu to see the M225 was now available for use.

 

In my short time using this Wireless Audio Extender, I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the audio output. In addition to this, the setup is nearly instantaneous; you just plug in your portable speaker or receiver to the M225, plug it into the wall, and then the setup menu guides you through in less than 5 minutes.

 

Build quality of the unit is great and is also very compact. Performance, as I mentioned briefly above, is superb and allows you to move around freely with your device at your side. Even more, with this unit also doubling as a network extender, you can gain a little more signal for your devices that may be nearby.

 

The MSRP for the D-Link DCH-M225 is set at $49.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the D-Link DCH-M225 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The D-Link DCH-M225 retails for $56.46 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The D-Link DCH-M225 retails for CDN$68.55 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6502_1234_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6502_100_d_link_dch_m225_dlna_and_airplay_wireless_audio_extender_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases