TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,437 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition (Intel Z97) Review

GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition (Intel Z97) Review
We take a look at the GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition motherboard. It looks great at first glance, we can't wait to see just what it can do. (TPE:2376, NASDAQ:INTC)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 30, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction of the GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition

 

During Computex, we had a chance to check out what GIGABYTE was doing over at Taipei's famous 101 building. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw some of the new Black Edition motherboards that GIGABYTE was promoting. While I actually had the board on hand before Computex, it found itself sitting in a pile of other Z97 motherboards, and I simply hadn't had the chance to get to it yet.

 

After getting a chance to look at the board during Computex, I knew that I had to put it at the top of the to-do list and see just what it was all about. At first glance, the board looks awesome. While we would have tested it right after Computex, the fact that the Devils Canyon i7-4790K processor was on the way meant that I thought we might hold off from testing it for a week or two.

 

With our processor having finally arrived, it was time to pull the GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition out of the box to find out just what it was all about. This board left us with a great first impression when we first got to look at it just a few weeks ago.

 

We're hoping that we weren't just caught up in the limelight of Computex. So, let's leave it at that and move forward to see just what's on offer from GIGABYTE with one of its most recent motherboards.

 

 

Package - What comes inside the box

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_03_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_04_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the front of the box, we don't have a whole lot going on aside from a giant mention of the fact it's a Black Edition board in the middle. Across the top, we have the GIGABYTE logo, and across the bottom, we have the model with a pair of Intel logos. Moving inside the flap, you can see we have mention of the different G1 segments, including Performance, Audio, Networking, and Looks.

 

Performance brings 4-way Graphics Support, Long Lifespan Solid Capacitors, Precise Digital CPU Power Design, and SATA Express. Audio brings with it Creative Sound Core3D with Gold Plated Shielding, separate OP-AMP Technology with Gain Boost, Audio Noise Guard with Trace Path Lightning, Nichicon High-End Audio Capacitors, Gold Plated Audio Ports, and Dual DAC-UP USB ports.

 

Networking sees Bluetooth 4.0 and 802.11ac Dual Band Wi-Fi alongside dual Gigabit networking via both the Killer e2200 chip and native Intel networking. Finally, we finish off with Looks, which sees a locked and loaded extreme water block thermal design.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_05_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_06_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

Moving on to the other side, you can see our first look at the GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition. Turning the box over gives us another look at the motherboard with the main features pointed out on the board and in the I/O area. The left side also give us a rundown of all those G1 features that we just mentioned above.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_07_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

Moving inside the box, you can see we have a bunch of paperwork along with two CDs, including drivers for the wireless card and the standard driver disc for our board. Across the bottom, you can see we have a certificate to let us know that the board has completed a seven day validation testing the quality, stability, and reliability of the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_08_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_09_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

Moving deeper inside the box, we find six SATA cables included. These aren't your normal SATA cables as GIGABYTE has chosen to braid them, giving them an awesome look and feel. Along with that, we have our rear I/O panel, single CrossFire connector, and a total of three SLI connectors, supporting video card setups for two, three, or four NVIDIA video cards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_10_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6477_11_gigabyte_z97x_gaming_g1_wifi_bk_black_edition_intel_z97_review.jpg

 

Finishing up the strong bundle from GIGABYTE, we have a front panel plate, which includes two USB 3.0 ports, alongside our 802.11ac wireless networking card that also offers Bluetooth 4.0 support, which we mentioned previously under the G1 Networking features.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition retails for $349.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition retails for CDN$408.94 at Amazon Canada.

 

Australia: The GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition retails for $546.99 AUD at Mighty Ape Australia.

 

New Zealand: The GIGABYTE Z97X GAMING G1 WIFI-BK Black Edition retails for $579.99 NZD at Mighty Ape NZ.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases