TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,908 Reviews & Articles | 38,045 News Posts

ASUS RS300-E8-RS4 Intel Xeon 22nm Server Review

ASUS RS300-E8-RS4 Intel Xeon 22nm Server Review

ASUS offers a great line up of servers where performance and power savings are key. We look at the RS300-E8-RS4, follow on as William gives his thoughts. (TPE:2357, NASDAQ:INTC)

| Servers in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jun 24, 2014 2:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_01_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Compact 1U servers are commonplace in the data centers these days, ranging from single socket all the way to quad socket machines.

 

ASUS has a strong offering in the desktop and enthusiast area but they also have a string line up of servers to meet data center needs. ASUS makes servers that offer superior performance with reduced power usage and able to run cooler.

 

The server we are going to look at today is the ASUS RS300-E8-RS4 1U single socket server. Let us look at some of the key features that this server offers.

 

The RS300-E8-RS4 offers enhanced I/O expandability with 2+1 expansion slots. One PCI express 3.0 x16 slot and one PCI express 3.0 x8 slot which can power two dual full-height add-on cards. The RS300-E8-RS4 includes a PIKE expansion slot for optional upgrades to SATA/SAS storage and RAID systems.

 

ASUS has included exclusive Beat Thermal Chokes, used on their ROG line up of motherboards to improve power efficiency. With the unique fin designs of these chokes gives them the ability to handle greater stress and operate around 4C cooler for added stability. These chokes have increased stability by the use of highly conductive and efficient gold-treated coatings. These designs significantly increase power efficiency up to 91%.

 

ASUS also offers an exclusive air cooler, developed for HTA (High Ambient Temperature) environments to maintain stability in sustainable 40 degrees centigrade stress while reducing power loss.

 

It also includes an inside bay that can house up to two SSD's to increase performance. This server also offers tool-less rail assemblies, which snap into place. Let us get started on getting this server setup and running.

 

 

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_02_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Opening the shipping box, we find the contents layout, the server comes packed with foam inserts on each end that come split into two pieces. The accessory box comes placed in the middle for easy removal.

 

The top center of the box took a hit by the shipping company. There is plenty of space in the shipping package to absorb this kind of damage and no harm done to any of the components inside.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_03_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

After removal of the accessory box and the top foam inserts we can see the server wrapped in plastic for protection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_04_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Now with the server removed we find the rail kit box located in the bottom of the shipping box.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_05_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Here we have the accessory box and the rail kit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_06_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

The contents inside the accessory box are as follows:

 

1 x RS300-E8 User's Guide

2 x Bag of Screws

2 x AC Power Cable

1 x RS300-E8 Support DVD

1 x ASWM ENTERPRISE DVD

1x Box with CPU cooler

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_07_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

In the white box, we find the CPU cooler. It comes in one piece and uses six screws to mount inside the server.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_08_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Here is another look at the CPU cooler. The design is passive and uses heat pipes to channel the heat from the CPU to a radiator that sits up next to the main server cooling fans.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6453_09_asus_rs300_e8_rs4_intel_xeon_22nm_server_review.jpg

 

Here are the contents of the included rail kit. Two tool-less rails and a package with mounting screws and side locking spring.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases