TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,207 Reviews & Articles | 40,156 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Netis WF2505 High-Power 150Mbps Wireless N USB Adapter Review

Netis WF2505 High-Power 150Mbps Wireless N USB Adapter Review
Today we test the WF2505, a high power wireless N adapter from Netis. It connects to your computer via USB to add Wi-Fi at an affordable price.
| Network Adapters in Networking | Posted: Jun 24, 2014 2:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Netis

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_99_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Even with 802.11ac now showing its presence in the market, 802.11n still holds a large majority of the home network market share. As such, vendors are still tweaking the existing 802.11n design, and coming up with better high power solutions to offer increased range.

 

In the lab today, we have one of the latest products from Netis, the WF2505. This adapter utilizes a USB 2.0 interface, and offers 150Mbps on the 2.4GHz band. Compatibility of the WF2505 extends to Windows XP, Vista, 7, and 8, along with OS X 10.4+.

 

MSRP for the Netis WF2505 is set at $49.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_02_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the Netis WF2505 has marketing information listed in the center of the box. Below we find compatibility information.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_03_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes the adapter, high gain antenna, USB cable, and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_04_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Looking at the adapter, we see that we have a mini USB port on the front edge. Above the USB port, there is a LED for activity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_05_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Flipping to the other side of the adapter, we find the SM8 antenna connector.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_06_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Here we have the driver install.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_07_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.png

 

The utility included with the Netis WF2505 gives a good amount of information about surrounding networks. Here you can see we connected to our Linksys WRT router with 100% signal strength.

 

The Netis Systems WF2505 is an excellent adapter for those wanting high power 802.11n capabilities. The build quality of the WF2505 was pretty good; I found no glaring issues with any of the materials used. One great feature of this adapter is the USB connection is done through a standard cable, so this adapter shouldn't interfere with adjacent ports.

 

Performance of the WF2505 was quite good. While the adapter is only 2.4GHz capable, the device was able to connect at 150Mbps in my garage, and if you follow my reviews, you know that I have a hard time getting many devices to connect out there at all.

 

MSRP for the Netis WF2505 is set at $49.99, with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the NETIS WF2505 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The NETIS WF2505 retails for $44.99 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6452_1234_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6452_100_netis_wf2505_high_power_150mbps_wireless_n_usb_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases