TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,094 Reviews & Articles | 39,124 News Posts

Netis Systems WF2190 AC1200 Wireless USB Adapter Review

Netis Systems WF2190 AC1200 Wireless USB Adapter Review
Netis sent over its latest 802.11ac solution for those wanting to add the new AC1200 Wi-Fi standard to their system via USB. Enter the WF2190.
| Wireless Adapters in Networking | Posted: Jun 16, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Netis

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_99_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Now that 802.11ac is starting to take off, many vendors are unloading their portfolios. From wireless routers to extenders and even adapters, all of the parts of the networking pyramid are now available at very reasonable prices.

 

We looked at our first Netis product just a few months ago. While we enjoyed the build quality of their product, we did have a few issues when testing, so today we are going to take a look at a new release, the WF2190. The WF2190 is a dual-band AC capable adapter with 300Mbps available on the 2.4GHz band and 867Mbps available on the 5GHz band. Compatibility of the WF2190 extends to modern Windows operating systems along with OS X 10.4+ and Linux.

 

MSRP for the Netis WF2190 Wireless Adapter is set at $39.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_03_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the WF2190 includes the adapter, two antennas, reading material, and an extension cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_04_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the adapter, we have the WPS button on top with two SMD connectors on the sides for connecting the antennas. The WF2190 connects via a USB 3.0 connection that is capped to protect it when not in use.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_10_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

 

We started off installing the WF2190 on our Windows test machine, but we had to switch over to OS X as the adapter wasn't being recognized by our system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_13_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Here you can see the utility that is included with the adapter software.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_12_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Here we have the connection details of the adapter connecting to our 2.4GHz network. As you can see, we connected at a full speed of 400Mbps.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_11_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

 

Switching to the 5GHz network, we connected at 867Mbps at roughly 60% signal rate.

 

The Netis WF2190 is a great solution for anyone moving their network over to 802.11ac and wanting a low-cost solution for adding the technology to notebooks and desktops. The build quality of the adapter is quite good, but I did have issues with the antennas wanting to spin off constantly. Of course, that could probably be avoidable if I wrenched them down tightly.

 

Performance of the WF2190 was quite good. As you seen in our review, we were able to connect at full speed on the 2.4GHz band, and the 5GHZ band yielded an 867Mbps connection rate, but the signal quality was sitting around 60%.

 

MSRP of the Netis WF2190 is set at $39.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Netis WF2190 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Netis WF2190 retails for $39.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Netis WF2190 retails for CDN$102.54 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6426_1234_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6426_100_netis_systems_wf2190_ac1200_wireless_usb_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases