TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 38,997 News Posts

Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual Ultimate Liquid CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual Ultimate Liquid CPU Cooler Review
If you thought the first Reserator was unique and different, just wait till you see what Zalman offers in the Reserator 3 Max Dual. Let's take a look.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 13, 2014 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Zalman

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_22_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

First, we should get back to more detail on the radiator mounting. Here we have set the stud into the clip, and it is adjustable to slide the radiator in and out. The hex shaped hole above is where the bracket mounts directly to the radiator.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_23_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

While this is only one of the four brackets, this image does explain better how this arrangement works. Just remember brackets built with A-clips go to the left fan, and ones built with clear B-clips go to the fan on the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_24_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

We also installed the Intel head unit bracket. There is some room for adjustment of the orientation of the logo on the front; just be aware, and do not put the mounting leg under the fittings.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_25_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get here we had to apply the sticker to the other side so that it sticks in place to the motherboard. We also had to put the studs in each end, and install the retainer clips to help keep them from pushing out of the back when mounting the head unit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_26_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Flipping the board over, we found the studs poked right through the board and stood a bit proud of the PCB. This will not affect mounting pressure in the slightest, as the mounting screws have sections of thread that vary in length to compensate for each socket type.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_27_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is the configuration in which we will be testing the Reserator 3 Max Dual. This was another issue we spotted here. Think about the motherboard being rotated to the left; the head unit is still correct, but the hoses will now run right across it and block it from view.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_28_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is the typical orientation in which users will install the head unit. There are no intrusions to the memory to speak of, and since the memory is now the tallest thing on the board, height of this is not an issue either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_29_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once things are powered up, there is a very visible blue glow from the head unit surrounding the Zalman name plate in the center. However, while the fans do have blue LED hubs, they are very dim, and in this lighting they are barely visible.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases